The Armani Code

A few minutes ago, Giorgio Armani presented its spring-summer collection for 2023 - a great occasion to take a look at the beginnings of the luxury brand. And then there's Richard Gere. In his role as "American Gigolo" he was not uninvolved in the triumph of the Italian designer.
Text Alfred Rzyski
Photo Moviestills DB

The year is 1980: The Porsche 911 Turbo is still making headlines on the streets of the world, the USA is boycotting the Summer Olympics in Moscow - and Richard Gere plays Julian Kaye, the man for a certain hours, in "America Gigolo". With his role? It is also the time for those casually reduced garments from Italy, designed by Giorgio Armani. They are the only ones Richard Gere wears in his role. The secret of the casual yet elegant fashion seen there: Armani cuts the lining out of the suit in his creations. In doing so, he changes the silhouette of the man, thus also his gait, he frees him from ballast - so that a golfer, musician, banker can stroll as easily, as casually as the noble service provider Julian Kaye.

Looking back? It's exactly the campaign Armani needed and was practically given. Even years later, the designer confesses: "I was amazed when I understood that the film promoted my look worldwide - something I could never have afforded at the time." After the success of "American Gigolo", American journalists then logically turned up in Italy - and reported enthusiastically on the new fashion designers, whose names they had to form like arancini balls in their mouths. Gianfranco Ferré, Gianni Versace and of course Giorgio Armani.

"I was amazed when I understood that the film was promoting my look worldwide - something I could never have afforded at the time."

Giorgio Armani

Armani's fashion then became a trademark for sporty elegance, for modern anchoring in life. Whoever wore Armani danced on the right side. The Pet Shop Boys sang "Armani, Armani, A-A-Armani" on their Milan anthem "Paninaro" in 1986, Bret Easton Ellis explained on several pages in his bestseller "American Psycho" how an Armani suit is made. The Italian's name underwent a change of meaning: away from the doorbell of a northern Italian family to a synonym for fashionable know-it-alls. The rest? Is simply history.

The Italian's name underwent a change of meaning: away from the doorbell of a northern Italian family to a synonym for fashionable know-it-alls.

And today, even at the age of 87, Giorgio Armani still designs himself, faces the applause of the public after the fashion shows, although with an estimated fortune of 8.5 billion euros he could actually have long since enjoyed the Dolce Vita. Armani does not step down, he still controls his fashion house. Even after the stroke of fate through which he lost his life partner Sergio Galeotti. According to the old saying: what doesn't kill you only makes you stronger. And then there is one of his maxims, which the otherwise decidedly reserved Armani once shared: "My private life must be subordinate to my business life." And still has to, it has to be said.

Read the whole story about Giorgio Armani, his meteoric rise and the movie "American Gigolo" in rampstyle #24.

mehr aus dieser ausgabe


ramp shop


Latest articles

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp meets STARTCOLLECTIONS

On Saturday, December 3, 2022, STARTCOLLECTIONS' pop-up gallery will open for one day in Dorotheenquartier - ramp will be a guest and provide some photos. Read all information about the event here.

Future in Motion

A photographer. A designer. A car that connects the future with the past. Sounds like science fiction, but it’s not. A conversation with star fashion photographer Esther Haase and Eduardo Ramírez, Head of Exterior Design at Hyundai Design Center Europe, about sustainability, feeling at home and truly progressive technology.

Lamborghini Huracan Sterrato: the rock star at Art Basel Miami

At the renowned »Art Basel« art and design fair in Miami, Lamborghini unveiled the »Huracán Sterrato« off-road super sports car. With a proven V10 engine and familiar all-wheel drive, but above all more ground clearance - and yes, roof rails too. We take a look at the most important features.

Car Wash: Marc Lichte and Michael Köckritz talk design

The first time Marc Lichte laid eyes on the legendary Audi Sport quattro as a teenager, he was hooked. But the car we’re washing together today is the Audi e-tron GT that he designed himself. A main topic of our conversation is the Audi of the future. And how difficult it is to get the windows as clean as you’d like.

Armani-Code: Wie Richard Gere Armanis Mode weltweit bewarb

Heute präsentierte Giorgio Armani seine Frühjahr-Sommer-Kollektion für 2023. Ein prima Anlass, um sich einmal mit den Anfängen der Luxusmarke zu beschäftigen. Und mit Richard Gere. Mit seiner Hauptrolle in »American Gigolo« war er am Siegeszug des italienischen Designers nämlich nicht ganz unbeteiligt.
Text Alfred Rzyski
Bild Moviestills DB

Wir schreiben das Jahr 1980: Der Porsche 911 Turbo macht nach wie vor Schlagzeilen auf den Straßen der Welt, die USA boykottieren die olympischen Sommerspiele in Moskau – und Richard Gere spielt in »America Gigolo« diesen Julian Kaye, den Mann für gewisse Stunden. Mit seiner Rolle? Schlägt auch die Stunde dieser lässig-reduzierten Kleider aus Italien, entworfen von Giorgio Armani. Den nur diese trägt Richard Gere in seiner Rolle. Das Geheimnis der dort gesehenen, lockeren und gleichzeitig eleganten Mode: Armani schneidet bei seinen Kreationen das Innenfutter aus dem Anzug heraus. Er verändert dadurch die Silhouette des Mannes, damit auch seinen Gang, er befreit ihn vom Ballast – damit ein Golfer, Musiker, Banker so leicht schlendern kann, so leger wie der Edel-Dienstleister Julian Kaye.

Rückblickend? Ist das genau die Kampagne, die Armani brauchte und quasi geschenkt bekommt. Noch Jahre später bekennt der Designer: »Ich war erstaunt, als ich verstand, dass der Film meinen Look weltweit bewarb – was ich mir damals nie hätte leisten können.« Nach dem Erfolg von »American Gigolo« tauchen dann logischerweise amerikanische Journalisten in Italien auf – und berichten begeistert von den neuen Modeschöpfern, deren Namen sie wie Arancini-Bällchen im Mund formen müssen. Gianfranco Ferré, Gianni Versace und natürlich Giorgio Armani.

»Ich war erstaunt, als ich verstand, dass der Film meinen Look weltweit bewarb – was ich mir damals nie hätte leisten können.«

Giorgio Armani

Armanis Mode wird daraufhin zum Markenzeichen für sportliche Eleganz, für die moderne Verankerung im Leben. Wer Armani trägt, tanzt auf der richtigen Seite. Die Pet Shop Boys sangen 1986 »Armani, Armani, A-A-Armani« auf ihrer Mailand-Hymne »Paninaro«, Bret Easton Ellis erklärte in seinem Bestseller »American Psycho« auf mehreren Seiten, wie ein Anzug von Armani entsteht. Der Name des Italieners erlebte einen Bedeutungswandel: weg vom Klingelschild einer norditalienischen Familie, hin zum Synonym für modische Besserwisser. Der Rest? Ist schlicht und ergreifend Geschichte.

Der Name des Italieners erlebte einen Bedeutungswandel: weg vom Klingelschild einer norditalienischen Familie, hin zum Synonym für modische Besserwisser.

Und heute, selbst mit 87 Jahren, entwirft Giorgio Armani noch selbst, stellt sich nach den Modeschauen dem Applaus des Publikums, obwohl er mit einem geschätzten Vermögen von 8,5 Milliarden Euro eigentlich längst das Dolce Vita genießen könnte. Armani tritt nicht ab, er kontrolliert sein Modehaus nach wie vor. Auch nach dem Schicksalsschlag, durch den er seinen Lebenspartner Sergio Galeotti verlor. Frei nach der alten Weisheit: Was dich nicht umbringt, macht dich nur stärker. Und dann ist da noch eine der Maximen, die der sonst ausgesprochen zurückhaltende Armani irgendwann einmal teilt: »Mein Privatleben muss sich meinem Geschäftsleben unterordnen.« Und zwar nach wie vor, muss man sagen.

Die gesamte Geschichte rund um Giorgio Armani, seinen kometenhaften Aufstieg und den Kinofilm »American Gigolo« lesen sie in der rampstyle #24.


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Fortsetzung folgt: die Jaguar Continuation Cars

Am Weltkatzentag schauen wir standesgemäß nach England - wo Jaguar mit dem C-Type das nächste seiner Continuation Cars vor kurzem enthüllt hat. Sie zu fahren ist ein Abenteuer der unvergesslichen Art. Was unter anderem daran liegt, wie unfassbar unbequem man in so einem Jaguar C-Type oder E-Type Lightweight sitzt. Aber eben nicht nur. Es ist außerdem ein Riesenspaß.

Sonnenklar: Coole Produkte für heiße Tage

Der Sommer läuft derzeit zur Hochform auf - und wir tun es ihm gleich. Mit den besten Gadgets und Must-haves für die schönste Zeit des Jahres. Unser Guide für alle, denen noch die richtige Badehose fehlt - oder die auf der Suche nach der perfekten Sonnenbrille und dem idealen Transportmittel sind.

Art. Déco. Racer. Der Bugatti Type 59/50 BIII

Es gibt seltene und legendäre Autos. Und dann gibt es den Bugatti Type 59/50 BIII, der unter Kennern auch als »Cork-Rennwagen« bekannt ist. Und nein, nicht nur seine elegante Karosserie macht ihn besonders. Vielmehr seine gesamte Geschichte ist unglaublich – und unglaublich spannend. Auch für die Molsheimer Marke selbst.

Brad Pitt: »Ich trage mein Alter wie ein Ehrenabzeichen.«

In seinem neuesten Film »Bulett Train« spielt Brad Pitt einen Auftragskiller, der in eine ausgesprochen wilde Zugfahrt mit glücklichem Ende verwickelt wird. Was uns zur Frage brachte: Ist Brad Pitt glücklich? Im Gespräch mit dem 58-Jährigen klar, welche Erkenntnisprozesse der Schauspieler durchmachte – und welchem Prinzip er folgte, um zu diesem Gefühl zu finden.