Bentley Bacalar: the resting tiger

A conventional washing plant was never an option. Far too exclusive is the Bentley Bacalar, limited to twelve units. So for the ramp CarWash with chief designer Stefan Sielaff only the fine hand wash was used.
Text Matthias Mederer
Photo Matthias Mederer & Maximilián Balázs · ramp.pictures

A good bit north of London. An industrial area. The culinary highlight is a steakhouse, which is actually highly recommendable. From a hotel point of view, it looks less exciting. But we aren’t here for a holiday. Instead, the most exclusive vehicle currently available from Bentley in collaboration with finisher Mulliner, the Bentley Bacalar, is waiting right here in an unadorned hall. A two-seater limited to twelve individual pieces, selling price: around 1.5 million

Stefan Sielaff, Head of Design at Bentley, appears relaxed, despite, or perhaps because of the exclusive car. The excitement around it is a little bigger. Whether the car is allowed to get wet at all - after all, water is not an insignificant component of a CarWash? Sielaff shrugs his shoulders. »I don't see why not.« You have to know that the yellow-glowing Bacalar is not one of the 12 customer vehicles, but a kind of a display object. »Nonetheless, it is fully roadworthy, not a so-called rolling chassis, but actually equipped with all the technology of Bacalar,« explains a Bentley man. Meaning: The massive W12 engine with 659 hp and 900 Newton meters of torque is also on board. But we are not allowed to start it.

And then we just get going; after all, we don't have too much time. To be on the safe side a Bentley employee gives us a spray can and a cloth from the in-house body department, not that we wouldn't be trusted. But safe is safe, we are told.

Stefan Sielaff doesn't even start off hesitantly. The Munich-born artist courageously sprays a few good salvos on the shiny paint. »Oops, that was a bit much.« He quickly wipes with the cloth and explains the design specific features of the Bacalar, which is roughly based on the EXP 100 GT study. »Every Bentley has typical proportions. Internally we speak of a “resting tiger”«, says Sielaff.

»Every Bentley has typical proportions. Internally we speak of a “resting tiger”«

The idea behind this vehicle: in future, customers should have the opportunity to design their vehicle together with a small team of designers. This applies all the more to the interior. This is where Bentley focuses on sustainability. Material such as 5,000 year-old wood from fallen trees, collected from lakes or rivers. »The main arguments for buying a Bentley are first the brand itself - and then the emotionality of the design,« says Sielaff.

After 20 minutes we're done. Stefan Sielaff is satisfied. »Completely clean. But that's what it was before.« Then he laughs and moves on to the next interview.

The whole story can be found in the latest ramp #49 - Higgledy Piggledy.

About the chief designer

STEFAN SIELAFF is one of the most influential car designers in the industry. Under his aegis, the Audi A1, the Audi A7 and Bentley's luxury Bentayga SUV were created alongside many other models. The now 58-year-old began his career at Audi in 1984 as a volunteer. After studying at London's renowned Royal College of Arts, he worked for Volkswagen and Audi, where he headed Audi Design from 1997. Five years ago, the Munich-born Bentayga took over as head of Bentley Design.


Latest articles

Kawasaki Z H2 and Corvette C7 ZR1: Why we love the supercharger

Let's forget all the hype about alternative drives for a moment and remember a technology that is now almost a hundred years old and once embodied reliability, freedom and masculinity: the supercharger. A Kawasaki Z H2 and a Corvette C7 ZR1 are good examples.

It’s in the Mix

In music, a mashup is a song created by blending together two or more previously recorded songs. In photography, you could explain the term using the works of Paul Fuentes. The artist is a master at rearranging the world.

Roadtrip with Niki

Niki Lauda is one of the most formative figures in motorsport. Three Formula 1 world championships, an incredible comeback and the special relationship with James Hunt shape his legacy. We remember a special visit to Vienna, in the middle of autumn 2008. We talk about life wisdom and other nonsense. And about women, in a way. A Mercedes SL 600 gives wings to the story.

15 ½ Rules for the future – and one ramp.special

"The future is really about self-transformation," says German trend researcher Matthias Horx. But the future can also be a new horizon, we say. And, matching the 15 and a half future tips from Horx, we transform the new ramp.special into an issue all about the "New Horizon" art car.

Bentley Bacalar: the resting tiger

Eine konventionelle Waschanlage stand nie zur Debatte. Viel zu exklusiv ist der auf zwölf Stück limitierte Bentley Bacalar. Für das ramp CarWash mit Chefdesigner Stefan Sielaff kam somit ausschließlich die feine Handwäsche zum Einsatz.
Text Matthias Mederer
Bild Matthias Mederer & Maximilián Balázs · ramp.pictures

Ein gutes Stück nördlich von London. Ein Industriegebiet. Kulinarisches Highlight ist ein Steakhouse, das tatsächlich sehr empfehlenswert ist. Hoteltechnisch sieht es schon weniger gut aus. Aber wir sind auch nicht hier, um Urlaub zu machen. Stattdessen wartet genau hier in einer schmucklosen Halle das Exklusivste, was es aus dem Hause Bentley in Zusammenarbeit mit Veredler Mulliner aktuell gibt: der Bentley Bacalar. Ein auf zwölf Einzelstücke limitierter Zweisitzer, Verkaufspreis: rund 1,5 Millionen Pfund.

Stefan Sielaff, Head of Design Bentley, wirkt gelassen, trotz, oder gerade wegen des exklusiven Autos. Die Aufregung drum herum ist schon etwas größer. Ob das Auto denn überhaupt nass werden darf – schließlich ist Wasser bei einem CarWash kein ganz unwesentlicher Bestandteil? Sielaff zuckt mit den Schultern. »Ich wüsste nicht, warum nicht.« Man muss dazu wissen, der gelb-leuchtende Bacalar ist keines der zwölf Kundenfahrzeuge, sondern eine Art Anschauungsobjekt. »Nichtsdestotrotz voll fahrfertig, also kein sogenanntes Rolling-Chassis, sondern tatsächlich mit all der Technik des Bacalar ausgestattet«, erklärt ein Bentley-Mann. Heißt: Auch der gewaltige W12-Motor mit 659 PS und 900 Newtonmeter Drehmoment ist an Bord. Starten dürfen wir ihn aber nicht.

Test 2

Und dann legen wir einfach los; haben schließlich auch nicht all zu viel Zeit. Sicherheitshalber gibt uns ein Bentley Mitarbeiter eine Sprühdose und ein Tuch aus der Hauseigenen Karosserie-Abteilung, nicht dass man uns nicht trauen würde. Aber sicher sei sicher, sagt man uns.

Stefan Sielaff beginnt auch gar nicht zögerlich. Der gebürtige Münchner sprüht beherzt mal ein paar ordentliche Salven auf den glänzenden Lack. »Huch, das war vielleicht ein bisschen viel.« Rasch wischt er mit dem Tuch nach, erklärt dabei sogleich designspezifische Merkmale des Bacalar, der sich grob an der Studie EXP 100 GT orientiert. »Jeder Bentley hat typische Proportionen. Intern sprechen wir von einem ‚resting tiger’«, sagt Sielaff.

»Jeder Bentley hat typische Proportionen. Intern sprechen wir von einem ‚resting tiger’«

Die Idee hinter diesem Fahrzeug: die Kunden sollen in Zukunft die Möglichkeit haben, ihr Fahrzeug gemeinsam mit einem kleinen Team aus Designern zu gestalten. Das gilt umso mehr für den Innenraum. Hier setzt Bentley auf Nachhaltigkeit. Material wie 5.000 Jahre altes Holz umgefallener Bäume, das aus Seen oder Flüssen gesammelt wird. »Die Hauptargumente für den Kauf eines Bentley sind einmal die Marke selbst – und dann kommt schon die Emotionalität des Designs,« sagt Sielaff.

Nach 20 Minuten sind wir fertig. Stefan Sielaff ist zufrieden. »Komplett sauber. Aber das war er ja schon davor.« Dann lacht er und geht über zum nächsten Interview.

Die ganze Geschichte gibt es in der aktuellen ramp #49 – Higgledy Piggledy zu lesen.

Matthias Mederer · ramp.pictures

Über den Chefdesigner

STEFAN SIELAFF zählt zu den einflussreichsten Autodesignern der Branche. Unter seiner Ägide entstanden neben vielen anderen Modellen der Audi A1, der Audi A7 und Bentleys Luxus-SUV Bentayga. Seine Karriere begann der heute 58-Jährige 1984 bei Audi als Volontär. Nach einem Studium am renommierten Londoner Royal College of Arts arbeitete er bei Volkswagen und Audi, wo er ab 1997 das Audi Design leitete. Vor fünf Jahren übernahm der geborene Münchner die Leitung von Bentley Design.


Letzte Beiträge

Kawasaki Z H2 und Corvette C7 ZR1: Warum wir den Kompressor lieben

Vergessen wir mal kurz den ganzen Hype um alternative Antriebe und erinnern uns an eine inzwischen fast hundert Jahre alte Technologie, die einst Zuverlässigkeit, Freiheit und Männlichkeit verkörperte: den Kompressor. Schön anschaulich am Beispiel einer Kawasaki Z H2 und einer Corvette C7 ZR1.

It’s in the Mix

In der Musik steht der Begriff »Mashup« für Songs, die aus mehreren zusammengemischt wurden. In der Fotografie könnte man den Begriff anhand der Bilder von Paul Fuentes erklären – der die Welt auch ein bisschen anders arrangiert.

Ausflug mit Niki

Niki Lauda gehört zu den prägendsten Figuren des Motorsports. Drei Formel-1-Weltmeisterschaften, ein unglaubliches Comeback und die besondere Beziehung zu James Hunt prägen seine Erbe. Wir erinnern uns an einen besonderen Besuch in Wien, mitten im Herbst 2008. Es geht um Lebensweisheiten und anderen Unfug. Und um Frauen, irgendwie. Ein Mercedes SL 600 beflügelt die Story.

15 ½ Regeln für die Zukunft – und ein ramp.special

»Zukunft ist in Wahrheit Selbstverwandlung«, sagt der deutsche Trendforscher Matthias Horx. Die Zukunft kann aber auch ein neuer Horizont sein, sagen wir. Und verwandeln passend zu den 15 ½ Zukunfts-Tipps von Horx das neue ramp.special in eine Ausgabe rund um das »New Horizon«-Artcar.