Color your life

Sean Wotherspoon’s star continues to rise. In 2013 the American fashion designer opened a small boutique selling vintage clothes in his hometown of Richmond, Virginia. Just four years later, he won a sneaker design competition from Nike. Today the thirty-two-year-old collaborates with all sorts of global brands, designing products that stand out for their unique color schemes – like the Taycan 4 Cross Turismo from Porsche. That made us curious.
Text Helmut Werb
Photo Porsche / Dominik Hildebrandt

How would you describe yourself?
I’m a designer, I work with colors, I like sneakers and cars – and I love music.

When you design, who do you have in mind? Who are you designing for?
If I were to design for the whole world, my design would be all over the place. So I design for myself. Things that make me happy. And I share this joy with other people.

You’ve said that nature is your shortcut. What do you mean by that?
Nature has already shown us everything we need. Let me give you an example: Most leaves naturally repel water, but people are still constantly inventing new materials and chemicals to do the same thing. If we simply reverse-engineer these processes, that’s a shorter way to go.

“Colors are my focus. I’m constantly looking for inspiration and I can find it anywhere.”

Sean Wotherspoon

How did you end up collaborating with Porsche?
I was at this Porsche event in Los Angeles, we got to talking, and that resulted in our working together. Over time, Porsche kept opening more and more doors for me, and more and more people came on board, including the Porsche design studio. The whole team then took my ideas and, with a tremendous amount of commitment, helped me to elevate them to the next level.

Porsche is a sports car manufacturer with a long history. What does that mean for a collaboration?
That’s actually a fantastic gift. I was fascinated to learn that the first Porsche was actually electric. That was more than a hundred years ago! And today, in 2022, I’m working on a new electric car – that is pretty special in itself. What’s more, I was given all the freedom I needed when I was working on the Taycan. That says a lot about Porsche.

Sean Wotherspoon × Porsche Taycan 4 Cross Turismo // The collaboration made use of virtual reality technology to run through the exterior color options on a model car. Wotherspoon then sent the corresponding Pantone codes to Porsche, where the shades were nuanced and recreated. The designer also traveled to Porsche’s design center in Weissach several times during the creative process. The lively color blocking continues in the interior of the art car with the same materials that he also uses for his streetwear: Cork on the dashboard, steering wheel and center console creates a visual contrast to the colors, with corduroy upholstery in Atacama Beige as another distinctive feature covering the roof lining, seat center panels and sun visors.

How did you incorporate the history of the brand into the design?
The circles on the sides of the car, which evoke the round race number holders, are my tribute to Porsche’s long and distinguished racing history. Our team worked day and night on it and working on such an extraordinary project was extremely inspiring. It was a great moment to finally see the car standing there finished in front of me.

"“Back in the day, all my friends used to work on old cars, but none of them had the money for a Porsche. That was always something that was totally out of reach for us. We were always saying, ‘Man, one day . . .’ And now? My dream has come true!”"

Sean Wotherspoon

You’re known for your color blocking style. How important are colors in Sean Wotherspoon’s value system?
Colors are my focus. I’m constantly looking for inspiration and I can find it anywhere, whether it’s a vintage garment or a tree glowing green in the sunlight to become something special. I can then capture this green with a photograph, match it with familiar nuances and discover a new green that hadn’t existed like that before. When we started color blocking on the Porsche, we could have used checkerboard patterns and squares. But we decided to work with whole body parts instead.

You named the colors on the Taycan after members of your family: Nash Blue, Loretta Purple, Ashley Green and Sean Peach? Where did that idea come from?
Porsche came to me and asked me to name the colors because clear designations are so important. So I named them after my kids, my fiancée and myself. When my son gets older, he can point to the car and say, “That’s me: Nash Blue.”


ramp shop


Latest articles

It's cool, men: Steiner Architecture f/f and the Ice Race Pavilion

The best way to counter the summer heat is like the two creators of Steiner Architecture f/f: with cool ideas that are well implemented. Like the Ice Race Pavilion, for example. But Flo Oberschneider and Ferdi Porsche also leave a lasting and sustainable impression with tother projects.

The last of its kind: Chevrolet Corvette C7

The great freedom? We enjoy it with the American sports car dream par excellence: the Corvette Stingray. A high-frequency road trip for Independence Day. Simply perfect.

Asket: A Lasting Classic

Actually, August Bard Bringéus and Jakob Dworsky were only dreaming of the perfect white T-shirt. Then the two Swedes, who met at Stockholm School of Economics, founded the fashion label Asket and began to radically rethink fashion.

Thank you very mud: Our Carwash with Daniele Calonaci, Head of Jeep Design

A heads-up on International Mud Day: it's going to get dirty. Very dirty. And Daniele Calonaci from Jeep shows what it means when a designer takes the ramp carwash literally.

Color your life

Sean Wotherspoon ist das, was man einen Senkrechtstarter nennt. Der 32-Jährige eröffnete vor knapp zehn Jahren einen VintageStore in seiner Heimatstadt Richmond, Virginia, gewann 2017 einen Sneaker- Design-Wettbewerb von Nike – und gestaltet heute für globale Marken Produkte, die vor allem durch ihre auffällige Farbgebung bestechen – wie den Taycan 4 Cross Turismo. Da haben wir doch gleich mal nachgefragt.
Text Helmut Werb
Bild Porsche / Dominik Hildebrandt

Mister Wotherspoon, wie würden Sie sich selbst beschreiben?
Ich bin Designer, arbeite mit Farben, mag Sneakers, Autos – und ich liebe Musik.

Was würden Sie sagen: Für wen entwerfen Sie?
Würde ich für die ganze Welt entwerfen, würde mein Design konfus. Daher designe ich für mich. Dinge, die mir Freude bereiten – und dieses Glück teile ich mit anderen Menschen.

Sie haben einmal gesagt, dass die Natur Ihre Abkürzung ist. Was meinen Sie damit?
Das bedeutet, dass die Natur uns alles schon vorgemacht hat. Ein Beispiel: Die meisten Blätter sind wasserabweisend, trotzdem erfindet der Mensch immer neue wasserabweisende Materialien und Chemikalien. Wenn wir also diese Prozesse einfach umdrehen, ist das der kürzere Weg.

»Farben sind mein Fokus. Ich suche laufend nach Inspirationen, und ich kann sie überall entdecken.«

Sean Wotherspoon

Wie kam das Projekt mit Porsche zustande?
Ich war auf einem Porsche Event in Los Angeles, wir kamen ins Gespräch, und daraus wurde eine Zusammenarbeit. Über die Zeit öffnete Porsche immer mehr Türen für mich, es kamen immer mehr Menschen mit an Bord, und auch das Design-Studio von Porsche. Das Team hob dann meine Ideen mit einer enormen Hingabe auf das nächste Level.

Porsche ist ein Sportwagenhersteller mit einer langen Geschichte, wie geht man damit um?
Das ist das größte Geschenk überhaupt. Mich fasziniert, dass das erste Modell von Porsche elektrisch angetrieben wurde. Das ist mehr als hundert Jahre her! Und heute, im Jahr 2022, arbeite ich an einem Elektrofahrzeug – und das ist schon etwas sehr Besonderes. Außerdem hatte ich bei der Arbeit am Taycan alle Freiheiten. Das sagt viel über Porsche aus.

Sean Wotherspoon x Porsche Taycan 4 Cross Turismo // Für die Kooperation wurden zunächst die Farbvarianten mit Virtual-Reality-Technik an einem Fahrzeugmodell durchgespielt. Die gewünschten Farben schickte Wotherspoon als entsprechende Pantone- Codes zu Porsche, wo die Töne nuanciert und nachgebildet wurden. Während der Entstehung reiste der Influencer mehrmals in das Design-Studio von Porsche in Weissach. Nicht nur das für Wotherspoon typische farbenfrohe Colorblocking findet sich im beim Interieur des Art Cars, sondern auch seine Vorliebe für ungewöhnliche Materialien, die er auch für seine Streetwear verwendet: So bilden Kork an Schalttafel, Lenkrad und Mittelkonsole einen optischen Kontrast zu den Farben. Ebenfalls prägnant ist der Kordsamt in Atacamabeige, mit dem Dachhimmel, Mittelbahnen der Sitze und Sonnenblenden bezogen sind.

Wie haben Sie die Historie ins Design einfließen lassen?
Die Kreise an den Wagenseiten, die an runde Startnummernhalter erinnern, sind meine Hommage an Porsches lange und bedeutende Renn-Geschichte. Unser Team arbeitete Tag und Nacht daran, und die Arbeit an einem so außergewöhnlichen Projekt war extrem inspirierend. Es war ein großartiger Moment, als das Auto schließlich fertig vor mir stand.

»Früher bastelten alle meine Freunde an alten Autos, aber keiner hatte das Geld für einen Porsche, das war für mich immer etwas Unerreichbares. Wir sagten damals immer: ›Mann, eines Tages…‹ Und heute? Ist mein Traum wahr geworden.«

Sean Wotherspoon

Sie sind für Ihren Color-Blocking-Stil bekannt, wie wichtig sind Farben in Sean Wotherspoons Wertesystem?
Farben sind mein Fokus. Ich suche laufend nach Inspirationen, und ich kann sie überall entdecken, sei es bei einem Vintage-Kleidungsstück oder bei einem Baum, dessen Grün im Sonnenlicht leuchtet und dadurch etwas ganz Besonderes wird. Ich kann dann dieses Grün mit einem Foto festhalten, mit bekannten Nuancen abgleichen und ein Grün entdecken, das so noch nicht existierte. Als wir mit dem Color-Blocking am Porsche begannen, hätten wir Schachbrettmuster und Vierecke verwenden können. Wir entschieden uns dann aber, mit ganzen Karosserie-Teilen zu arbeiten.

Sie haben die Farben am Taycan nach Ihrer Familie benannt: Nash Blue, Loretta Purple, Ashley Green und Sean Peach. Wie kam es dazu?
Porsche kam zu mir und bat mich, die Farben zu benennen, da eindeutige Bezeichnungen wichtig seien. Also taufte ich sie auf meinen Vornamen, und auf die meiner Kinder und meiner Verlobten. Nun kann mein Sohn, wenn er mal älter ist, auf das Auto zeigen und sagen: Ah, das bin ich, Nash Blue.


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Corvette Stingray: Abhängigkeitserklärung

Die große Freiheit? Genießt man nicht in vollen Zügen. Sondern im amerikanischen Sportwagentraum schlechthin: der Corvette Stingray. Ein hochfrequenter Roadtrip zum Unabhängigkeitstag. Einfach nur... perfekt!

Asket: Mode radikal neu gedacht

Eigentlich träumten August Bard Bringéus und Jakob Dworsky nur von dem perfekten weißen T-Shirt. Dann gründeten die beiden Schweden, die sich an der Stockholm School of Economics kennenlernten, das Fashionlabel Asket und begannen, das Thema Mode radikal neu zu denken.

Internationaler Matsch-Tag: ein Carwash mit dem Jeep Wrangler und Daniele Calonaci

Eine Vorwarnung am internationalen Matsch-Tag: Es wird schmutzig. Sehr schmutzig. Und Daniele Calonaci von Jeep zeigt, was es bedeutet, wenn ein Designer den ramp Carwash wörtlich nimmt.

Lamborghini Huracán STO: Konstruktiver Dialog

Was Sie hier lesen, könnte Sie verstört zurücklassen. Es könnte sein, dass Ihr Weltbild ins Wanken gerät und Sie sich professionelle Hilfe suchen müssen. Ihre Entscheidung.