The masterpiece: Bugatti W16 Mistral

He's like the wind: With the newly unveiled Mistral W16, legendary luxury brand Bugatti ends its internal combustion era in a more than befitting manner - and finally shows us an open-top version of its Chiron architecture. And before you flinch: Naturally, all 99 planned vehicles have already been sold. Of course.
Text Marko Knab
Photo Bugatti Automobiles S.A.S.

At Bugatti, they know how to build an artistic and equally potent automobile - a car like the Mistral W16, in fact, which was unveiled today as part of the »Monterrey Car Week.« The latest creation from Molsheim draws both its name and its inspiration from one of the most famous winds in France: powerful, straightforward, legendary - and sometimes permanently stormy. Which is only logical at this point, since we're talking about the only open-air offshoot of the Chiron era. And the very last vehicle designed around the iconic W16 engine. You could also say: Here is the masterpiece of the Alsatians before they set off for electric realms under the leadership of Mate Rimac. Here are the key facts and background.

His inspiration:

The central model for the W16 Mistral was the Bugatti Type 57 Grand Raid with special bodywork from Gangloff. Built in 1934, the sporty roadster bore flowing forms and aerodynamic lines, which were also evident in the headrests. Its elegant color combination is also legendary: Painted black and yellow, it used one of Ettore Bugatti's favorite color combinations. In other words: the perfect inspiration for the »W16 Mistral«. The roadster concept was also fitting, since a good 40 percent of all Bugattis were designed and delivered as open-top cars anyway.

His uniqueness:

At this point, one has to admit: 99 examples of the 5-million-euro car will be built. So to speak of »unique« here is bold. And yet each vehicle is very special - not only because of the equipment, which certainly varies from customer to customer, but also because of its basic characteristics: 1,600 hp, a good eight liters of displacement and air intake manifolds directly behind the passengers' heads. They also function as roll bars and breathe in a good 70,000 liters of air per minute at full power, as Mate Rimac reveals. Combined with the wastegate of the turbos, this should create one of the most monumental soundscapes in the automotive world.

His goal:

To be the fastest, most luxurious - and ultimate - roadster. This is how briefly and aptly Bugatti's self-imposed objective can be formulated. It aims to follow in the footsteps of the Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse, which set a world record for open-top and road-legal vehicles in 2013 with a speed of 408.84 km/h. To achieve this, the W16 Mistral uses the same drive system as the Chiron Super Sport 300+, which achieved a top speed of 490 kilometers per hour. So the omens are good - and the probability of a new record borders on certainty. After all, we are talking, once again as a reminder, about Bugatti.

His design:

Bugatti sees itself as synonymous with top performance and beauty simultaneously. For the last production model in the company's history with an internal combustion engine, the challenges were therefore particularly great, reveals Achim Anscheid, Head of Design: »We were aware that the W16 Mistral will forever have a significance in Bugatti's history - because it is the last time that perhaps the greatest automotive powertrain will be used in a production vehicle. We, as a design team, felt tremendous pressure to develop styling that would immediately convey this significant moment. That's why we took inspiration from some of the most beautiful roadsters in Bugatti's history.«

The result is something to behold: »To reflect the new character of the W16 Mistral, we also completely redesigned the front end, following the vertical lines of our special models such as Divo and La Voiture Noire. The vertically arranged headlights are completely bespoke and the famous horseshoe grille has been made more three-dimensional, deeper and wider. At the rear, we took on the challenge of creating a striking yet more elegant version of the ›Bolide‹ X taillight motif that has forever defined the world of automotive design.«


ramp shop


Latest articles

Mission RAL 2005: Lotus Elise Cup 250 Final Edition

Chris Hrabalek is the proud owner of the last Lotus Elise Cup 250 Final Edition ever built – complete with custom paint job and vanity plates. And he’s on a mission...

Massive Talent: Being Nicolas Cage

Ever since Being John Malkovich, we’ve known just how hilarious films can be in which actors play themselves. Now there’s The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent, in which Nicolas Cage plays a fictionalized version of himself as a washed-up actor.

Hot Wheels: Playfulness & Drive

A set of hot wheels like this will immediately get children in the mood to play. And plenty of adults as well. It’s just a matter of scale. Which only leaves the question of how to measure all the fun we’re having.

Homo Ludens: Some thoughts about man and the play element

Life is improvisation and risk. What counts is the art of making the best of everything. You can train the skills to do this. The joy of play is an essential facet here. Some thoughts about man and the play element. By Michael Köckritz.

Das Meisterstück: Bugatti W16 Mistral

He’s like the wind: Mit dem neu vorgestellten Mistral W16 beendet die legendäre Luxusmarke Bugatti ihre Verbrenner-Ära mehr als standesgemäß – und zeigt uns endlich eine offene Version ihrer Chiron-Architektur. Und bevor Sie zucken: Selbstverständlich sind schon alle 99 geplanten Fahrzeuge verkauft. Natürlich.
Text Marko Knab
Bild Bugatti Automobiles S.A.S.

Bei Bugatti wissen sie, wie man ein kunstvolles und gleichermaßen potentes Automobil baut – ein Auto wie den Mistral W16 eben, der heute im Rahmen der »Monterrey Car Week« vorgestellt wurde. Die neueste Schöpfung aus Molsheim bezieht dabei namentliche, aber auch geistige Inspiration von einem der berühmtesten Winde in Frankreich: kräftig, geradlinig, legendär – und gerne einmal dauerhaft stürmisch. Was an dieser Stelle nur folgerichtig ist, reden wir hier nämlich vom einzigen luftig-offenen Ableger der Chiron-Ära. Und dem allerletzten Fahrzeug, das rund um den ikonischen W16-Motor konstruiert wurde. Man könnte auch sagen: Hier ist das Meisterstück der Elsässer, bevor sie unter Führung von Mate Rimac in elektrische Gefilde aufbrechen. Hier die wichtigsten Fakten und Hintergründe.

Seine Inspiration:

Zentrales Vorbild für den W16 Mistral war der Bugatti Type 57 Grand Raid mit Sonderkarosserie aus dem Hause Gangloff. Im Jahr 1934 gebaut, trug der sportliche Roadster fließende Formen und aerodynamische Linien, die sich auch in den Kopfstützen zeigten. Auch seine elegante Farbkombination ist legendär: Schwarz-Gelb lackiert, nutzte er eine der liebsten Farbkombinationen Ettore Bugattis. In anderen Worten: die perfekte Inspiration für den »W16 Mistral«. Passend auch das Konzept des Roadsters, da ohnehin gut 40 Prozent aller Bugatti als offene Fahrzeuge konzipiert und ausgeliefert wurden.

Seine Einzigartigkeit:

An dieser Stelle muss man zugeben: Es werden 99 Exemplare des 5-Millionen-Euro-Wagens gebaut werden. Hier von »einzigartig« zu sprechen ist also mutig. Und dennoch ist jedes Fahrzeug ganz speziell– nicht nur wegen der sicher nach Kunde variierenden Ausstattung, sondern auch wegen seiner Grundcharakteristik: 1.600 PS, gut acht Liter Hubraum und Luftansaugstutzen direkt hinter den Köpfen der Passagiere. Sie fungieren gleichzeitig als Überrollbügel und atmen bei voller Leistung auch gut 70.000 Liter Luft pro Minute ein, wie Mate Rimac verrät. Kombiniert mit dem Wastegate der Turbos dürfte so eine der monumentalsten Klangkulissen der Automobilwelt entstehen.

Sein Ziel:

Der schnellste, luxuriöseste – und ultimative – Roadster sein. So kurz und treffend lässt sich die selbst auferlegte Zielsetzung bei Bugatti formulieren. Dabei soll er in die großen Fußstapfen des Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport Vitesse treten, der 2013 mit 408,84 km/h einen Weltrekord für offene und straßenzugelassene Fahrzeuge aufstellte. Dafür setzt der W16 Mistral auf denselben Antrieb wie der Chiron Super Sport 300+, der damit gut 490 Kilometer Topspeed erreichte. Die Vorzeichen sind also gut – und die Wahrscheinlichkeit für einen neuen Rekord grenzt an Sicherheit. Wir reden schließlich, nochmal zur Erinnerung, von Bugatti.

Sein Design:

Bugatti versteht sich selbst als synonym mit Höchstleistung und Schönheit. Beim letzten Serienmodell der Firmengeschichte mit Verbrennungsmotor waren deshalb die Herausforderungen besonders groß, verrät Achim Anscheid, Head of Design: »Uns war bewusst, dass der W16 Mistral für immer eine Bedeutung in der Geschichte von Bugatti haben wird – denn es ist das letzte Mal, dass der vielleicht großartigste Automobil-Antriebsstrang in einem Serienfahrzeug zum Einsatz kommt. Wir, als Designteam, fühlten einen enormen Druck, ein Styling zu entwickeln, das diesen bedeutenden Moment sofort vermittelt. Deshalb ließen wir uns von einigen der schönsten Roadster in der Geschichte Bugattis inspirieren.«

Das Ergebnis kann sich sehen lassen: »Um den neuen Charakter des W16 Mistral widerzuspiegeln, haben wir auch die Frontpartie völlig neu gestaltet, in Anlehnung an die vertikale Linienführung unserer Sondermodelle wie Divo und La Voiture Noire. Die vertikal angeordneten Scheinwerfer sind komplett maßgeschneidert und der berühmte Hufeisen-Kühlergrill wurde dreidimensionaler, tiefer und breiter gestaltet. Am Heck haben wir uns der Herausforderung gestellt, eine markante, aber auch elegantere Version des X-Rückleuchten-Motivs des ›Bolide‹ zu entwerfen, das die Welt des Automobildesigns für immer geprägt hat.«


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Mission RAL 2005: Lotus Elise Cup 250 Final Edition

Chris Hrabalek hat sich die letzte gebaute Lotus Elise Cup 250 Final Edition gesichert, samt Spezialfarbe und Sonderkennzeichen. Damit ist er jetzt unterwegs – mit einem ganz eigenen Auftrag.

Massive Talent: Nicolas Cage is Nick Cage

Wie komisch es sein kann, wenn Schauspieler sich selbst darstellen, wissen wir seit »Being John Malkovich«, nun gibt es einen neuen Film: In »Massive Talent« spielt Nicolas Cage sich selbst als abgehalfterten Schauspieler. Dieses wunderbar ironische Spiel mit dem eigenen Image hat uns dann neugierig gemacht.

Ferrari Daytona SP3: Spieltrieb & Antrieb

So ein Hot Wheel bringt Kinder sofort in Spiellaune. Nicht selten auch Erwachsene. Alles manchmal nur eine Frage des Maßstabs. Bleibt die Frage, welche Maßstäbe man hier anlegen darf.

Homo Ludens: eine gedankliche Annäherung an den Menschen und das Spiel

Leben heißt Improvisation und Risiko. Es zählt die Kunst, aus allem das Beste zu machen. Die Fähigkeiten dazu kann man trainieren. Die Freude am Spiel ist hier eine wesentliche Facette. Eine gedankliche Annäherung an den Menschen und das Spiel. Von Michael Köckritz.