Friday the 13th: The formula for happiness

For the first time this year, we are dealing with Friday the 13th. A good reason to remind ourselves of the formula for happiness on this supposedly unlucky day. And it's actually simpler than you think, even if it doesn't look that way at first glance.
Text Tom M. Muir
Photo Volkswagen



With our decisions and the actions derived from them, we always pursue a concrete goal. Namely, to be happy. A team of researchers at University College London has discovered what it takes to achieve this goal. And as researchers do, they have put the factors they have identified into a comprehensible formula. Understandable, at least, for those who have a degree in higher mathematics. For the rest, let's put it that way: happiness means something different for everyone. But it can be positively influenced by things like:

– the company
of happy people


– Activities and adventures


– Money to an extent
that one is doing well

The only question that remains is what optimally combines these three factors. The road trip is the obvious choice here: usually completed on holiday, the mood is decidedly relaxed most of the time - and people are content. Activities and adventures? Are pre-programmed anyway. And traditionally, you don't need much on the road trip anyway, except for a bit of food and the right weather. So there's plenty of money left over anyway. And we already have a suggestion for the perfect road trip vehicle - see above.

→ Read more about our proposed Roadtrip vehicle, the new ID.Buzz, in Michael Köckritz' interview with Jozef Kaban, Head of Design at Volkswagen. Now in the ramp #57 »Really?«

mehr aus dieser ausgabe


ramp shop


Latest articles

The last of its kind: Chevrolet Corvette C7

The great freedom? We enjoy it with the American sports car dream par excellence: the Corvette Stingray. A high-frequency road trip for Independence Day. Simply perfect.

Asket: A Lasting Classic

Actually, August Bard Bringéus and Jakob Dworsky were only dreaming of the perfect white T-shirt. Then the two Swedes, who met at Stockholm School of Economics, founded the fashion label Asket and began to radically rethink fashion.

Thank you very mud: Our Carwash with Daniele Calonaci, Head of Jeep Design

A heads-up on International Mud Day: it's going to get dirty. Very dirty. And Daniele Calonaci from Jeep shows what it means when a designer takes the ramp carwash literally.

Lamborghini Huracán STO: Constructive Dialogue on a Monday

What you are about to read may leave you feeling disturbed. It might shake your view of the world and you may need to seek professional help as a result. Your choice.

Freitag, der 13.: Die Formel zum Glück

Zum ersten Mal dieses Jahr haben wir es mit einem Freitag, dem 13. zu tun. Ein guter Grund, sich am angeblichen Unglückstag die Formel fürs Glück nochmal vor Augen zu führen. Und die ist tatsächlich einfacher als gedacht, auch wenn das auf den ersten Blick nicht so aussieht.
Text Tom M. Muir
Bild Volkswagen



Mit unseren Entscheidungen und den daraus abgeleiteten Handlungen verfolgen wir immer ein konkretes Ziel. Nämlich das, glücklich zu sein. Ein Team von Forschern will am University College London herausgefunden haben, was man dafür alles braucht. Und wie Forscher nun mal so sind, haben sie die ermittelten Faktoren auch gleich auf eine verständliche Formel gebracht. Also verständlich zumindest für diejenigen, die ein Diplom in Höherer Mathematik in der Tasche haben. Für den Rest halten wir einmal sinngemäß in Worten fest, dass Glück zwar für jeden etwas anderes bedeutet, dass es jedoch positiv beeinflusst werden kann durch Dinge wie:

– die Gesellschaft
glücklicher Menschen


– Aktivitäten und Abenteuer


– Geld in einem Maße,
dass es einem gut geht

Bleibt nur noch die Frage, was diese drei Faktoren optimal miteinander verbindet. Naheliegend und fernfahrend ist hier der Roadtrip: Normalerweise im Urlaub absolviert, ist die Stimmung die meiste Zeit ausgesprochen locker – und die Menschen zufrieden. Aktivitäten und Abenteuer? Sind ohnehin vorprogrammiert. Und traditionell braucht es auf dem Roadtrip sowieso nicht viel, außer ein bisschen Essen und das richtige Wetter. Geld bleibt also ohnehin genug übrig. Und einen Vorschlag für das perfekte Roadtrip-Fahrzeug hätten wir dann auch schon – siehe oben.

→ Mehr zu unserem Fahrzeug der Wahl, dem ID.Buzz lesen Sie jetzt in Michael Köckritz‘ Interview mit Jozef Kaban, Leiter Design bei Volkswagen. Jetzt in der ramp #57 »Geht’s noch?«


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

It’s cool, men: Steiner Architecture f/f und der Ice Race Pavillon

Der sommerlichen Hitze begegnet man am besten wie die beiden Macher von Steiner Architecture f/f: mit kühl gedachten und gut umgesetzten Ideen. Wie zum Beispiel dem Ice-Race-Pavillon. Aber Flo Oberschneider und Ferdi Porsche hinterlassen mit ihrem gemeinsamen Architekturbüro auch sonst nachhaltig Eindruck.

Corvette Stingray: Abhängigkeitserklärung

Die große Freiheit? Genießt man nicht in vollen Zügen. Sondern im amerikanischen Sportwagentraum schlechthin: der Corvette Stingray. Ein hochfrequenter Roadtrip zum Unabhängigkeitstag. Einfach nur... perfekt!

Asket: Mode radikal neu gedacht

Eigentlich träumten August Bard Bringéus und Jakob Dworsky nur von dem perfekten weißen T-Shirt. Dann gründeten die beiden Schweden, die sich an der Stockholm School of Economics kennenlernten, das Fashionlabel Asket und begannen, das Thema Mode radikal neu zu denken.

Internationaler Matsch-Tag: ein Carwash mit dem Jeep Wrangler und Daniele Calonaci

Eine Vorwarnung am internationalen Matsch-Tag: Es wird schmutzig. Sehr schmutzig. Und Daniele Calonaci von Jeep zeigt, was es bedeutet, wenn ein Designer den ramp Carwash wörtlich nimmt.