Hideaways: Summer Slowlife

Where else to go this summer? We're happy to help out. And briefly summarize: to the forest, to the luxury train, to the island and to hot springs.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Photo Presse

Barking Up the Right Tree: Treehotel, Sweden

What’s a stressed city dweller to do when everything becomes too much to handle? You could always go climb a tree. In Harads, a small locality in northern Sweden situated around sixty kilometers south of the Arctic Circle, you’ll find no fewer than seven tree houses for a unique arboreal getaway. The Treehotel was founded by former nurse Britta Jonsson-Lindvall and her husband Kent, who were looking for a way to live and work in their home region. Each tree house is a work of art designed by a different architect. The Bird’s Nest looks like a gigantic nest of twigs and branches that can accommodate a family of four, the UFO floats among the trees like a flying saucer, the Mirrorcube is – as the name suggests – a cube covered in mirrors. Other accommodations include the Cabin, the Dragonfly and the Blue Cone. The hotel’s seventh luxury tree house is called the 7th Room and is perched about ten meters above the ground. The seventy-five-square-meter room sleeps up to five guests, and in the summer the brave of heart can spend the night on the net terrace stretched across the middle. The 7th Room and the Dragonfly even have a bathroom and a shower. Because a little (eco-friendly) luxury never hurts.






Rosy Outlook, Orient Express, Italy

If there’s one thing we know a lot about, it’s the good things in life. With this in mind, we’re pleased to announce the imminent return of the Orient Express to Italy. Starting in 2023, six trains will travel across fourteen Italian regions under the name Orient Express La Dolce Vita. Milan-based design studio Dimorestudio was chosen to craft the interiors of the twelve deluxe cabins, eighteen suites, one honor suite and restaurant carriage, with a design that pays tribute to 1960s Rome and its La Dolce Vita lifestyle. And speaking of Rome: the Orient Express Minerva Hotel is scheduled to open in the Eternal City in 2024. Not in just any building, of course, but in the seventeenth-century Palazzo Fonseca. The hotel with ninety-three rooms and twenty-four suites will be the brand’s first, with further openings planned in London, Paris, Milan and Florence.






Maximally Minimal: Naustet, Norway

“Secluded” and “exclusive” is probably the best way to describe this luxurious accommodation. Naustet, which translates to “boathouse”, is located on the island of Stokkøya in the province of Trøndelag on the west coast of central Norway. The first thing to do when you arrive is to go fishing, because Naustet has its own boat plus fishing equipment. And besides, apart from the spectacular design, food is the main theme here. The house features two kitchens: a gourmet indoor kitchen, where you can be your own chef or have one arranged to cook for you, and a spectacular outdoor kitchen for barbecues. Scallops can be fished from the crystal-clear waters, and after all that exertion, you can relax in the sauna or hot tub overlooking the sea. More less is not possible.






Hot Tip: Ginzan Hot Spring Fujiya Inn, Japan

You may ask yourself why you should spend your next holiday in a tiny village six hours north of Tokyo. We’ll attempt an answer. Ginzan Onsen, which literally means “Silver Mountain Hot Spring”, is a secluded hot spring town nestled in the mountains. Here you’ll find the Ginzan Hot Spring Fujiya Inn, a three-hundred-and-fifty-year-old bathhouse and ryokan. The traditional Japanese inn was completely restored in 2006 by famous Japanese architect Kengo Kuma and today stands as proof of the timeless beauty of minimalist design. Guests can wander from one onsen to the next throughout the day, with each private hot tub featuring a different design. Plan your trip now and go in the winter. That way you can enjoy the hot water as the snowflakes gently land on your face.


ramp shop


Latest articles

To Be Continued: Jaguar Continuation Cars

On World Cat Day, we look to England - where Jaguar recently unveiled the C-Type, the next of its Continuation Cars. Driving it is an adventure of the unforgettable kind. One of the reasons for this is how incredibly uncomfortable it is to sit in a Jaguar C-Type or E-Type Lightweight. But not only that. It's also a lot of fun.

Clear as daylight: Cool products for hot days

The summer is currently in top form - and we want to follow suit. With the best gadgets and must-haves for the most beautiful time of the year. Our guide for all those who still don't have the right swimsuit - or are looking for the perfect pair of sunglasses as well as the ideal entertainment.

Art. Déco. Racer. The Bugatti Type 59/50 BIII

There are rare and legendary cars. And then there is the Bugatti Type 59/50 BIII, also known among connoisseurs as the »Cork Car.« And no, it's not just its elegant bodywork that makes it special. Rather, its entire history is incredible - and incredibly exciting. Also for the Molsheim brand itself.

Brad Pitt: A Hollywood Fairy Tale

In his latest film, "Bullet Train," Brad Pitt plays a hit man who gets involved in a decidedly wild train ride with a happy ending. Which brought us to the question: Is Brad Pitt happy? In an interview with the 58-year-old, it becomes clear which cognitive processes the actor went through - and which principle he followed to find this feeling.

Hideaways: Summer Slowlife

Wo es diesen Sommer noch hingehen könnte? Wir helfen gerne aus. Und fassen kurz zusammen: in den Wald, in den Luxus-Zug, auf die Insel und in heiße Quellen.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Bild Presse

Waldfrieden: Treehotel, Schweden

Wohin zieht man als moderner Städter, wenn man den Überblick verloren hat? Am besten in ein Baumhaus. Gleich sieben davon stehen in Harads in Schweden, sechzig Kilometer südlich des Polarkreises. Gegründet wurde das Treehotel von der ehemaligen Krankenschwester Britta Jonsson-Lindvall und ihrem Mann Kent, die einfach in ihrer Gegend leben und arbeiten wollten. Jedes Baumhaus ist ein Kunstwerk, das von einem anderen Architekten entworfen wurde. Das »Bird’s Nest« sieht aus wie ein überdimensionaler Adlerhorst und bietet Platz für eine vierköpfige Familie, »The Ufo« schwebt wie eine Untertasse zwischen den Baumstämmen, der »Mirror Cube« ist mit Spiegeln verkleidet, dann gibt es noch »The Cabin«, »The Dragonfly« und »The Blue Cone«. Das siebte Luxus-Baumhaus des Hotels trägt den Namen »The 7th Room« und thront ungefähr zehn Meter über dem Boden. Bis zu fünf Gäste finden in der 75 Quadratmeter großen Unterkunft Platz, Mutige übernachten im Sommer auf dem in der Mitte gespannten Netz, eine Art Terrasse. Das Baumhaus hat – wie das »Dragonfly« – auch ein Badezimmer mit Dusche, ein bisschen (umweltfreundlicher) Luxus schadet ja nie.






Rosige Aussichten: Orient-Express, Italien

Wenn wir eine Sache inzwischen richtig gut beherrschen, dann ist es ja wohl die Vorfreude. In diesem Sinne möchten wir an dieser Stelle die bevorstehende Rückkehr des Orient-Express nach Italien vermelden. Ab 2023 sollen sechs Züge unter dem Namen »Orient-Express La Dolce Vita« durch 14 italienische Regionen unterwegs sein. Für das Interieur der zwölf De-luxe-Kabinen, 18 Suiten, der Honor-Suite und des Restaurants ist das Mailänder Designstudio Dimorestudio verantwortlich, das Design ist eine Hommage an das römische »La Dolce Vita« der 1960er-Jahre. Stichwort Rom: Dort soll 2024 das Hotel Orient-Express Minerva eröffnet werden. Natürlich nicht in irgendeinem Gebäude, sondern in dem ehemaligen Palazzo Fonseca aus dem 17. Jahrhundert. Das Hotel mit 93 Zimmern und 24 Suiten wird das Erste der Marke sein, geplant sind weitere Eröffnungen in London, Paris, Mailand und Florenz.






Maximal minimal: Naustet, Norwegen

»Abgeschieden« und »exklusiv« beschreiben diese gediegene Unterkunft wohl am treffendsten. Sie heißt Naustet, was übersetzt »Bootshaus« heißt, und steht auf der Insel Stokkøya. Die findet sich wiederum in der Provinz Trøndelag an der Westküste Mittelnorwegens. Auf der Insel angekommen, sollte man erst mal Angeln gehen, denn das Haus hat ein eigenes Boot plus Angelausrüstung. Sowieso ist die Nahrung– vom spektakulären Design einmal abgesehen – das Hauptthema von Naustet. Das Haus verfügt über zwei Küchen: eine Gourmet-Innenküche, die von dem privaten Koch bedient werden kann, den man bei Bedarf mitbucht, und eine spektakuläre Außenküche für das Barbecue. Aus dem kristallklaren Wasser können Jakobsmuscheln gefischt werden, nach der ganzen Anstrengung geht es dann in den Whirlpool oder in die Sauna. Mehr weniger geht nicht.






Heißer Tipp: Ginzan Hot Spring Fujiya Inn, Japan

Sicherlich kann man sich fragen, warum man in ein klitzekleines Dorf fahren sollte, das etwa sechs Stunden nördlich von Tokio liegt. Die Antwort lautet: Der Name des Ortes ist Ginzan Onsen,was wörtlich »Heiße Quelle in den Silberbergen« bedeutet, es ist also ein recht berühmter Thermalquellort. Und man findet hier ein 350 Jahre altes Badehaus und »Ryokan«, ein Reisegasthaus. 2006 wurde es von dem berühmten Architekten Kengo Kuma vollständig restauriert und beweist heute, wie zeitlos schön minimalistisches Design sein kann. Gäste können den ganzen Tag vom einen zum nächsten Onsen wandern, jeder private Whirlpool ist anders gestaltet. Planen Sie jetzt die Reise und fahren Sie im Winter, dann können Sie im heißen Wasser sitzen und sich die Schneeflocken ins Gesicht wehen lassen.


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Fortsetzung folgt: die Jaguar Continuation Cars

Am Weltkatzentag schauen wir standesgemäß nach England - wo Jaguar mit dem C-Type das nächste seiner Continuation Cars vor kurzem enthüllt hat. Sie zu fahren ist ein Abenteuer der unvergesslichen Art. Was unter anderem daran liegt, wie unfassbar unbequem man in so einem Jaguar C-Type oder E-Type Lightweight sitzt. Aber eben nicht nur. Es ist außerdem ein Riesenspaß.

Sonnenklar: Coole Produkte für heiße Tage

Der Sommer läuft derzeit zur Hochform auf - und wir tun es ihm gleich. Mit den besten Gadgets und Must-haves für die schönste Zeit des Jahres. Unser Guide für alle, denen noch die richtige Badehose fehlt - oder die auf der Suche nach der perfekten Sonnenbrille und dem idealen Transportmittel sind.

Art. Déco. Racer. Der Bugatti Type 59/50 BIII

Es gibt seltene und legendäre Autos. Und dann gibt es den Bugatti Type 59/50 BIII, der unter Kennern auch als »Cork-Rennwagen« bekannt ist. Und nein, nicht nur seine elegante Karosserie macht ihn besonders. Vielmehr seine gesamte Geschichte ist unglaublich – und unglaublich spannend. Auch für die Molsheimer Marke selbst.

Brad Pitt: »Ich trage mein Alter wie ein Ehrenabzeichen.«

In seinem neuesten Film »Bulett Train« spielt Brad Pitt einen Auftragskiller, der in eine ausgesprochen wilde Zugfahrt mit glücklichem Ende verwickelt wird. Was uns zur Frage brachte: Ist Brad Pitt glücklich? Im Gespräch mit dem 58-Jährigen klar, welche Erkenntnisprozesse der Schauspieler durchmachte – und welchem Prinzip er folgte, um zu diesem Gefühl zu finden.