Hugh Jackman: Absolutely Real

There are few actors who have a charisma like Hugh Jackman. Regardless of the hustle and bustle around him, the Australian comes across as refreshingly open and reflective. And: today he celebrates his 54th birthday. We congratulate him and remember a very good conversation with the Wolverine actor.
Text Rüdiger Sturm
Photo Trunk Archive

What is one of the first significant experiences that have shaped your life?
When I was younger I had quite a few fears. Among other things, I was scared of heights. And my older brothers all made fun of me, because there was this place near Sydney with a sixty-foot drop-off into the ocean. The first time I went down there, I was terrified for weeks. So I went to the diving boards at my school. They had a one-meter, three-meter, ten-meter board. I went there every day and built up my courage until I could jump off the ten-meter board. And I felt fine. When you’re the youngest, you’ve got to get over your fears quickly or you’ll miss out.

And after that you weren’t afraid of anything anymore?
Oh no, I still had some other fears left over. Singing was one of them. Especially singing in public. One time I had to sing the Australian national anthem at the Bledisloe Cup, Australia vs. New Zealand, in front of a hundred thousand people. People had been booed off before. But I said I’ll sing. The night before, I had the only anxiety attack I’ve ever had in my life. I asked myself why I got myself in that situation. But then I pulled myself together and was one experience richer as a result.

"One time I had to sing the Australian national anthem at the Bledisloe Cup, Australia vs. New Zealand, in front of a hundred thousand people. People had been booed off before. But I said I’ll sing. The night before, I had the only anxiety attack I’ve ever had in my life."

Hugh Jackman

Is this way of dealing with your fears the reason why you radiate such a positive vibe?
I meditate twice a day, because I find that if I don’t, I start to get off track. That to me is like a daily way to keep connecting to my true source of energy and happiness and vitality. I also exercise every day. Because without that I’d feel a little bit flat. And I spend time with my family. When I work, I work hard. But when I am not working, I turn the computer off, I turn the phone off and just spend time with them.

You practice Transcendental Meditation. In what ways has it changed your life?
I used to get overwhelmed at times. My level of happiness, my capacity for embracing people and situations, my understanding and knowledge of the world has increased. My ability to trust myself. I am also more efficient than I used to be. I get twice as much done than I used to. There’s less of this “I gotta, gotta, gotta, shoulda, shoulda, shoulda” racing around. It’s a sense of peace. Above all, it keeps me very grounded, particularly in the world we live in. Doing this twice every day reminds me of what is real, whereas pretty much everything I’m involved in is illusion.

"I spend time with my family. When I work, I work hard. But when I am not working, I turn the computer off, I turn the phone off and just spend time with them."

Hugh Jackman

Do you ever get angry?
Sure I do.

And what does it look like when Hugh Jackman gets angry for a change?
Quieter. I don’t get loud; I get very quiet and more intense. And my kids know immediately. If I ever raise my voice, I realize it doesn’t work with them. My father would never shout either. I was always way more frightened when he would come home and just be silent: What’s up? What’s going on? That works way better.





Hugh Jackman was born on October 12, 1968, in Sydney, Australia. After an initial career in stage musicals, he had his Hollywood breakthrough in 2000 with X-Men. He last played the role of the superhero Wolverine in Logan in 2017. His best-known films also include The Prestige, Les Misérables, which earned him an Oscar nomination, and Greatest Showman. Jackman also performs regularly on Broadway. His most recent film is Reminiscence. He is married and has two children.



Your parents got divorced when you were eight, and your mother moved to England while you stayed with your father in Australia. How did that affect you?
No one is ever completely happy with their upbringing. But I love my parents, and I never doubted that they loved me. Everyone has their issues. As a kid, you’ve just got to know that you are a priority for your parents, even if their marriage doesn’t work out. Then you’ll get through. And when you become an adult and you have one or two relationships that don’t work, then you see that they aren’t superheroes either. None of us doubted that they loved us. That’s all that matters. A friend of mine is a famous child psychiatrist in England, and I asked him, “Am I doing something wrong? Give me some advice.” And he just said: “You guys complicate it way too much. You love them and feed them. That’s it.”

You’ve called your father your hero. Can you elaborate on that?
The man I am today is because of my dad. He’d sacrifice anything for me. And he gave me (…)

→ Read the entire interview with Hugh Jackman in rampstyle #23.

mehr aus dieser ausgabe


ramp shop


Latest articles

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp meets STARTCOLLECTIONS

On Saturday, December 3, 2022, STARTCOLLECTIONS' pop-up gallery will open for one day in Dorotheenquartier - ramp will be a guest and provide some photos. Read all information about the event here.

Future in Motion

A photographer. A designer. A car that connects the future with the past. Sounds like science fiction, but it’s not. A conversation with star fashion photographer Esther Haase and Eduardo Ramírez, Head of Exterior Design at Hyundai Design Center Europe, about sustainability, feeling at home and truly progressive technology.

Lamborghini Huracan Sterrato: the rock star at Art Basel Miami

At the renowned »Art Basel« art and design fair in Miami, Lamborghini unveiled the »Huracán Sterrato« off-road super sports car. With a proven V10 engine and familiar all-wheel drive, but above all more ground clearance - and yes, roof rails too. We take a look at the most important features.

Car Wash: Marc Lichte and Michael Köckritz talk design

The first time Marc Lichte laid eyes on the legendary Audi Sport quattro as a teenager, he was hooked. But the car we’re washing together today is the Audi e-tron GT that he designed himself. A main topic of our conversation is the Audi of the future. And how difficult it is to get the windows as clean as you’d like.

Hugh Jackman: Absolut echt

Es gibt nur wenige Schauspieler, die eine Ausstrahlung haben wie Hugh Jackman. Ungeachtet des Trubels um ihn herum wirkt der Australier auf erfrischende Weise offen und reflektiert. Und: heute feiert er seinen 54. Geburtstag. Wir gratulieren und erinnern uns an ein ausgesprochen gutes Gespräch mit dem Wolverine-Darsteller.
Text Rüdiger Sturm
Bild Trunk Archive

Was ist eine der ersten wichtigen Erfahrungen, die Ihr Leben geprägt hat?
Als ich jünger war, hatte ich ziemlich viele Ängste und fürchtete mich besonders vor Höhen. Und meine älteren Brüder zogen mich deshalb immer auf. Bei Sydney gab es eine Stelle an der Küste, von der man aus einer Höhe von zwanzig Metern ins Meer springen konnte. Als ich die Stelle zum ersten Mal sah, hatte ich wochenlang Bammel. Aber wenn ich gemeinsam mit meinen Brüdern etwas erleben wollte, musste ich damit klarkommen. Also tastete ich mich heran. Im Freibad unserer Schule gab es ein Einmeter-, ein Dreimeter- und ein Zehnmeter-Brett. Jeden Tag bin ich von einer größeren Höhe gesprungen, bis ich endlich so weit war.

Und danach waren Sie völlig angstfrei?
Oh nein, es gab noch einige andere Ängste. Zum Beispiel Singen – speziell in der Öffentlichkeit. Ich musste mich richtig überwinden, um in Musicals auftreten zu können. Einmal sollte ich bei einem großen Rugby-Pokalfinale die australische Nationalhymne singen, vor 100.000 Zuschauern. Es gab Sänger vor mir, die hatte man von der Bühne gebuht. Aber aus unerfindlichem Grund hatte ich mich dazu bereit erklärt. In der Nacht vor dem Auftritt bekam ich die einzige Panikattacke meines Lebens. Ich fragte mich: Warum mache ich das nur? Aber dann fing ich mich wieder und war um eine Erfahrung reicher.

»Ich musste mich früher richtig überwinden, um in Musicals auftreten zu können. Einmal sollte ich bei einem Rugby-Pokalfinale die Nationalhymne singen. Es gab Sänger vor mir, die hatte man von der Bühne gebuht.«

Hugh Jackman

Ist dieser Umgang mit Ihren Ängsten der Grund, weshalb Sie eine derart positive Ausstrahlung haben?
Täuschen Sie sich nicht. Es gibt vieles, was mich runterziehen kann. Letztlich ist meine gute Laune immer davon abhängig, wie gut es meinen Kindern geht. Aber ich versuche schon auch etwas für mein Glücksgefühl zu tun. Zwei Mal am Tag mache ich Transzendentale Meditation. Ohne die würde ich aus der Spur kommen. Aber mit ihr kann ich mich sozusagen mit meinem seelischen Energiezentrum verbinden. Das hat mein Leben verändert. Abgesehen davon treibe ich jeden Tag Sport, ohne den würde ich mich innerlich leer fühlen. Und ich versuche eben, Zeit mit meiner Familie zu verbringen. Und zwar so richtig. Wenn ich nicht arbeite, dann schalte ich meinen Computer und mein Handy aus und widme mich nur ihnen.

Inwieweit hat Meditation Ihr Leben verändert?
Früher war ich gelegentlich überfordert. Ich habe mir selbst nicht genügend vertraut. Und mit dieser Technik kann ich viel besser mit Menschen und Situationen umgehen. Ich fühle mich den Leuten mehr verbunden. Ich sehe die Welt klarer und ich bin auch viel effizienter. Das heißt, ich bekomme doppelt so viel erledigt wie früher. Gleichzeitig spüre ich nicht mehr diesen Druck »Ich muss, muss, muss«, sondern fühle mehr inneren Frieden. Gerade in der hektischen Welt, in der wir leben, musst du mit dir im Einklang sein und wissen, worauf es wirklich ankommt. Und dank der Meditation kann ich das. Ich  weiß, was echt ist – während es in der Branche,»Mein Vater hat mich zu dem Mann gemacht, der ich heute bin. Er hat alles für mich geopfert.« in der ich mich bewege, unzählige ­Illusionen gibt.

»Ich versuche, Zeit mit meiner Familie zu verbringen. Und zwar so richtig. Wenn ich nicht arbeite, dann schalte ich meinen Computer und mein Handy aus und widme mich nur ihnen.«

Hugh Jackman

Aber Sie werden doch sicher auch mal wütend?
Klar.

Wie kann man sich das vorstellen?
Ich werde dann besonders ruhig. Meine Kinder haben begriffen, dass ich es dann ernst meine. Seine Stimme zu erheben bringt nicht viel. Ich habe das letztlich von meinem Vater gelernt. Der schrie nie. Aber wenn er von der Arbeit nach Hause kam und ganz still war, machte ich mir richtig Sorgen: Was ist los? Was hat er?





HUGH JACKMAN wurde am 12. Oktober 1968 im australischen Sydney geboren. Nachdem er sich zunächst vor allem als Musicaldarsteller etablierte, startete er 2000 mit »X-Men« seine Hollywoodkarriere. Die Superheldenrolle des Wolverine spielte er zuletzt 2017 in »Logan«. Zu seinen bekanntesten Filmen zählen außerdem »Prestige – Die Meister der Magie«, »Les Misérables«, der ihm eine Oscar-Nominierung einbrachte, und »Greatest Showman«. Jackman ist auch regelmäßig auf dem Broadway zu sehen. Sein jüngster Film ist »Reminiscence«. Er ist seit 1996 verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder.



Ihre Eltern ließen sich scheiden, als Sie acht waren, und ihre Mutter zog nach England, während Sie bei Ihrem Vater in Australien blieben. Wie hat Sie das beeinträchtigt?
Kein Mensch ist mit seiner Erziehung komplett glücklich. Aber meine Eltern haben mich geliebt und ich sie. Kein Mensch ist perfekt, jeder hat seine Probleme. Als Kind musst du nur wissen, dass du für deine Eltern die oberste Priorität hast, selbst wenn die Ehe scheitert. Dann kommst du mit der Situation klar. Und wenn du dann erwachsen wirst und deine ersten Beziehungen den Bach hinuntergehen, begreifst du endgültig, dass deine Eltern keine Superhelden sind. Wie gesagt, Hauptsache, du wirst geliebt. Ein Freund von mir ist ein bekannter englischer Kinderpsychologe, und ich habe ihn gefragt: »Machen wir in der Erziehung unserer Kinder etwas falsch?« Und er meinte nur: »Ihr verkompliziert das viel zu sehr. Liebt eure Kinder und gebt ihnen genügend zu essen, das reicht.«

Sie nannten Ihren Vater immer wieder ihren »Helden«. Was genau verbinden Sie mit dieser Bezeichnung?
Mein Vater hat mich zu dem Mann gemacht, der ich heute bin. Er opferte alles für mich und vermittelte mir (…)

→ Lesen Sie das gesamte Interview mit Hugh Jackman in der rampstyle #23.


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp zu Gast bei STARTCOLLECTIONS

Am Samstag, den 3. Dezember 2022 öffnet im Dorotheenquartier für einen Tag die Pop-Up-Galerie von STARTCOLLECTIONS – ramp ist zu Gast und stellt mehrere Bilder zur Verfügung. Alle Infos rund um das Event? Lesen Sie hier.

Future in Motion

Eine Fotografin. Ein Designer. Ein Auto, das die Zukunft mit der Vergangenheit verbindet. Klingt wie Science Fiction, ist es aber nicht. Ein Gespräch mit der Star-Modefotografin Esther Haase und Eduardo Ramírez, Head of Exterior Design im Hyundai Design Center Europe, über Nachhaltigkeit, das Gefühl, zu Hause zu sein und wirklich fortschrittliche Technologie.

Lamborghini Huracán Sterrato: der Rock-Star auf der Art Basel Miami

Im Rahmen der renommierten Kunst- & Designmesse »Art Basel« in Miami hat Lamborghini den Offroad-Supersportler »Huracán Sterrato« vorgestellt. Mit bewährtem V10-Motor und bekanntem Allradantrieb, aber vor allem mehr Bodenfreiheit – und ja, auch einer Dachreling. Wir schauen uns die wichtigsten Features an.

Car Wash: Audi-Chefdesigner Marc Lichte im Gespräch mit Michael Köckritz

Als Marc Lichte im Teenager-Alter den legendären Audi Sport quattro sah, war es um ihn geschehen. Gewaschen wird heute aber der von ihm entworfene Audi e-tron GT, währenddessen es im Gespräch unter anderem um den Audi der Zukunft geht. Und um die Schwierigkeit, Autoscheiben richtig sauber zu bekommen.