Omega Speedmaster Professional Missions Gemini XII

Fly me to the moon and back! In collaboration with Chronext we've come up with something very special for you: You get the unique chance to buy the original Omega Speedmaster Professional Missions Gemini XII from 1998 from our rampstyle watch-shoot. The best thing about it: With the Promotion Code CXT-RAMP you get an exclusive 250 Euro discount.
Text Sascha Glistau
Photo Omega

Save 250€ exclusively with our promo code CXT-RAMP.


The OMEGA Speedmaster Professional is a legend. Astronauts relied on their Speedmasters for every manned NASA space mission, and the moon landing, while a special highlight, was not the first time the watch had been used in space. In 1962, astronaut Walter Schirra took his private Speedmaster into space and completed six orbits of the Earth on the Mercury-Atlas 8 mission. After extensive testing, the Speedmaster became official NASA equipment in 1965 and was henceforth approved for all manned space missions. During the Gemini 4 mission, Ed White performed the first American spacewalk, accompanied, of course, by a Speedmaster. In 1966, OMEGA added the designation "Professional" and, after the moon landing in 1969, the words "First Watch worn on the Moon", underscoring the Speedmaster's unique status and exceptional accomplishment. However, the watch passed its actual "baptism of fire" only two missions later. In April 1970, part of Apollo 13's service module exploded, and the power, electrical and life support systems were severely damaged and partially destroyed.

The crew had to first orbit the moon with the damaged spacecraft and then make their way back to Earth. All power circuits except radio were shut down to conserve energy for life support systems. The crew was forced to use their Omega Speedmaster watches to time the rocket ignition for re-entry into the Earth's atmosphere. Jim Lovell and Fred Haise manually piloted the space shuttle, while Jack Swigert used his Speedmaster to time the burns correctly. As we know, this more than delicate situation ultimately turned out well and the capsule landed in the Pacific Ocean unharmed. This achievement by the Speedmaster Professional earned OMEGA the Snoopy Award, which is the highest honor awarded by NASA astronauts to external partner companies and suppliers. And this achievement ultimately gave the Speedmaster Professional its legendary status.

Save 250€ exclusively with our promo code CXT-RAMP.



ramp shop


Latest articles

ramp #55 - Say Watt?

Moin! We find joy. In the North Germans. They are generally regarded as cold and unapproachable. Exuberance is a foreign word to them. The greeting behavior contributes to the consolidation of the first impression, for the North Germans an implied nod is sufficient. Particularly good-humored specimens let themselves be carried away to a »Moin».

Express Yourself: Grason Ratowsky

Grason Ratowsky has worked as creative director for several agencies in New York and spent many years in product design. Today the thirty-six-year-old artist lives on Mallorca for most of the year. And paints. We wanted to know what role the subconscious plays in his work and whether an artist has to be unhappy in order to be successful. Although Ratowsky himself makes a very satisfied impression.

Time for luxury: Bulgari opens the Autostyle live Workshops

Following last week's kick-off, Autostyle 2021's first workshop is set for today: Fabrizio Buonamassa will guide visitors through the development of Bulgari's in-house luxury watches and the fusion of Italian design culture with Swiss watchmaking skills

Really Fast

This is a story full of ups and downs, starting with our author almost not being allowed into Italy to drive the Ferrari SF90 Stradale Assetto Fiorano. Which would have made for a lot of frustration and certainly a lot of noise on what is now an international day of screams of frustration. All went well, of course.

Omega Speedmaster Professional Missions Gemini XII

Gemeinsam mit Chronext haben wir uns für Sie etwas ganz Besonderes ausgedacht: Nur jetzt erhalten Sie die einmalige Chance, die original Omega Speedmaster Professional Missions Gemini XII von 1998 aus unserem rampstyle Uhren-Shooting zu erwerben. Das Beste daran: Mit unserem Promo-Code CXT-RAMP sparen Sie exklusiv 250 Euro.
Text Sascha Glistau
Bild Omega

Mit unserem Promo-Code CXT-RAMP sparen Sie exklusiv 250 Euro.


Die OMEGA Speedmaster Professional ist eine Legende. Bei jeder bemannten NASA-Weltraummission vertrauten die Astronauten auf ihre Speedmaster und die Mondlandung war zwar ein besonderes Highlight, aber nicht der erste Einsatz im Weltall. Der Astronaut Walter Schirra nahm seine private Speedmaster 1962 mit ins All und absolvierte bei der Mission Mercury-Atlas 8 sechs Erdumrundungen. Nach intensiven Tests wurde die Speedmaster 1965 offizieller Ausrüstungsgegenstand der NASA und war nun für alle bemannten Weltraummissionen zugelassen. Ed White wagte bei der Gemini 4 Mission den ersten amerikanischen Weltrauspaziergang, natürlich begleitet von einer Speedmaster. 1966 fügte OMEGA die Bezeichnung "Professional" hinzu und nach der Mondlandung 1969 den Zusatz „First Watch worn on the Moon“ und unterstrich damit die besondere Leistung und den einzigartigen Status der Speedmaster. Ihre eigentliche "Feuertaufe" bestand die Uhr zwei Missionen später. Im April 1970 explodierte ein Teil des Servicemoduls von Apollo 13, die Energie-, Elektrizitäts- und Lebenserhaltungssysteme wurden schwer beschädigt und teilweise zerstört.

Die Besatzung musste mit dem havarierten Raumschiff erst den Mond umkreisen und sich dann auf den Rückflug zur Erde machen. Sämtliche Stromkreise mit Ausnahme des Funks wurden abgeschaltet, um Energie für die Lebenserhaltungssysteme zu sparen. Die Besatzung war gezwungen, mit ihren Omega Speedmaster-Uhren die Zeit der Raketenzündung für den Wiedereintritt in die Erdatmosphäre zu bestimmen. Jim Lovell und Fred Haise steuerten die Raumfähre manuell, während Jack Swigert die Dauer der korrekten Zündung mit seiner Speedmaster stoppte. Wie wir wissen, ging diese mehr als heikle Situation letztlich gut aus und die Kapsel landete unversehrt im Pazifischen Ozean. Diese Leistung der Speedmaster Professional brachte OMEGA den Snoopy Award ein, die höchste von den NASA-Astronauten verliehene Auszeichnung für externe Partner-Firmen und Zulieferer. Und die Speedmaster Professional bescherte diese Leistung endgültig Legendenstatus.

Mit unserem Promo-Code CXT-RAMP sparen Sie exklusiv 250 Euro.



ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

ramp #55 - Watt? Nun.

Moin! Wir haben Freude. An den Norddeutschen. Die gelten gemeinhin als kühl und unnahbar. Überschwang ein Fremdwort. Zur Verfestigung des ersten Eindrucks trägt das Grußverhalten bei, den Norddeutschen genügt ein angedeutetes Nicken. Besonders gut gelaunte Exemplare lassen sich zu einem »Moin« hinreißen.

Express Yourself: Grason Ratowsky

Grason Ratowsky war Creative Director in Agenturen in New York und arbeitete lange als Produkt-Designer. Heute lebt der 36-Jährige die meiste Zeit auf Mallorca. Und malt. Wir wollten wissen, welche Rolle das Unterbewusstsein bei seiner Arbeit spielt und ob ein Künstler unglücklich sein muss. Wobei Ratowsky einen sehr zufriedenen Eindruck macht.

Zeit für Luxus: Bulgari eröffnet die Autostyle Live-Workshops

Nach dem Auftakt vergangene Woche steht jetzt der erste Workshop im Rahmen der Autostyle 2021 an: Fabrizio Buonamassa führt für Bulgari durch die Entwicklung der hauseigenen Luxusuhren und die Verbindung der italienischen Designkultur mit dem schweizerischen Uhrmacherhandwerk

Really Fast

Dies ist eine Geschichte voller Höhen und Tiefen, die damit beginnt, dass unser Autor fast nicht nach Italien gelassen wurde, um den Ferrari SF90 Stradale Assetto Fiorano zu fahren. Was für viel Frust und sicher viel Lärm am heutigen, internationalen Tag der Frustrationsschreie gesorgt hätte. Es ging natürlich alles gut.