ramp #57 – Really?

In this issue of our magazine we are simply engaging in a stimulating conversation. We ask the question “Really?” and allow it to unfold in a playful range between indignant outrage and thoughtful reflection. Because not only is everything connected, it also is the relationships between things that make them what they are. Or something like that.
Text Michael Köckritz
Photo David Breun

If you think logical thinking is the perfect epistemological tool, you’d better put this magazine aside right now. Unfortunately, life is not unconditionally logical.

More like merrily untamed. But no matter.

People may think logically – but also always intuitively. The ideal philosophical method: dialectics. Among the ancient Greeks, it was the art of conversation. The main difference to logical thinking, after all, is that dialectical thinking challenges the position from which it starts by making opposing claims for a solution-synthesis of both positions.

For Plato, it was the “theory of ideas”, for Aristotle “mental gymnastics”. Hegel later brought it to the point, calling dialectics “the driving moment of the sensible within the reasonable mind, by which the mind finally cancels itself out”.

In this issue of our magazine, on the other hand, we are simply engaging in a stimulating conversation. We ask the question “Really?” and allow it to unfold in a playful range between indignant outrage and thoughtful reflection. Because not only is everything connected, it also is the relationships between things that make them what they are.

Or something like that.



The Future of Mobility

The University of St. Gallen is the new home of a Future Mobility Lab. We spoke with its director, Jürgen Stackmann and with Dr. Andreas Herrmann, who heads the university’s Institute for Mobility. To get there, we chose an AMG A 45 S 4MATIC+.

Jozef Kabaň, Head of Volkswagen Design,
on the ID. Buzz

Who could resist a car like this? It’s simply irresistible. Completely on purpose, of course. After all, the ID. Buzz just wants to be loved. We spoke with Jozef Kabaň, Head of Volkswagen Design, about his charismatic and appealing new creation.




Wladimir Kaminer drives an M
and gets lost in thought

This super super super test covers such topics as Vladimir Putin, the situation in Ukraine, the importance of the color green in the former Soviet Union – and ends in Munich with two BMWs: an M4 and an M8.

Polestar Head of Design Maximilian Missoni
about the Polestar O₂

Where are sports cars headed in the future? Thanks to electric motors, straight to a renaissance, says Maximilian Missoni – and explains to us the O₂ concept.




A Blue Maserati MC20
and a Chalky White Passenger

For our author Kurt Molzer, getting behind the wheel of a Maserati MC20 and driving it on the streets of Italy was the greatest of joys. For the photographer, it was – to put it mildly – somewhat of a challenge.

Anniversary Chat with Frank van Meel,
Head of BMW M GmbH

To mark the fiftieth anniversary of BMW M, CEO Frank van Meel met with ramp editor-in-chief Michael Köckritz and author Wladimir Kaminer to talk about the brand’s past and its future. And about matchboxes.




The Winged Beast: Cayman GT4 RS

A first drive of the new Porsche Cayman GT4 RS. That’s RS with a heavily rolled R and extra-spicy S. Our author had to fold himself up in an interesting way to get in, but it was worth it.

Chief Designer Mitja Borkert
about the Lamborghini Principle

Extreme impact, high speeds on the way into the future and designer clichés. These are just some of the topics we touched on in our conversation with Chief Designer Mitja Borkert.




Rodsha Mooah’s Coool Caah

We forced our author to go on a road trip in a CV2. He suffered a lot because of it, though in the former East Germany, they immediately recognized the value of this unique car. By the way, the headline translates to “Roger Moore’s cool car”.

Do It Like a Taycan!

The third Taycan variant offers elegant practicality – a delightful blend of Porsche and prestige. But wait! What happens when you press this little button here? Spoiler alert: That’s when things get really interesting!




+++ Außerdem: wirklich, also wirklich schöne Sachen zum Hinstellen. Anziehen. Lesen. Und Fahren. +++

mehr aus dieser ausgabe


ramp shop


Latest articles

Everything in perfect order: the designer Otl Aicher

The holistic design of the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich is still considered Otl Aicher's masterpiece. But the native of Ulm was much more. Namely, he was a convinced democrat, guided by morality and order. Today he would have been 100 years old.

Friday the 13th: The formula for happiness

For the first time this year, we are dealing with Friday the 13th. A good reason to remind ourselves of the formula for happiness on this supposedly unlucky day. And it's actually simpler than you think, even if it doesn't look that way at first glance.

McLaren 765 LT Spider: 24 hours, two shoots - and a mileage limit.

We're not complaining about getting to drive 600 kilometers in a McLaren 765 LT Spider in 24 hours. But rest assured: There are indeed more relaxing activities, too. But that wasn't because of the car, but rather because of the schedule and the mileage limit. On the day of the odometer: the kilometer chronicle of a particularly dynamic production.

Deus Ex Machina: Café Racer Coolness

Faith has always brought forth special places. Ever since the divine spark slipped out of the machine with Deus Ex Machina, it has also worked with coolness. Around the world in five locations from Sydney to L.A.

ramp #57 – Geht's noch?

Wir lassen uns mit dieser Ausgabe einfach auf ein anregendes Gespräch ein. Die Fragestellung »Geht’s noch?« darf sich in einer lustvollen Spurbreite zwischen empörter Aufregung und entspannter Reflexion entwickeln. Es ist eben nicht nur alles miteinander verbunden, sondern es sind die Beziehungen zwischen den Dingen, die sie zu dem machen, was sie sind. Oder so.
Text Michael Köckritz
Bild David Breun

Wer sich für logisches Denken als perfektes Erkenntnisinstrument begeistert, sollte dieses Heft lieber gleich zur Seite legen. Das Leben begegnet uns nämlich leider nicht bedingungslos folgerichtig.

Eher fröhlich wild. Macht aber nichts.

Der Mensch denkt im besten Fall logisch – aber auch immer intuitiv. Die ideale philosophische Methode: Dialektik. Im Altgriechischen ursprünglich die Kunst der Gesprächsführung. Der Hauptunterschied zum logischen Denken besteht darin, dass das dialektische Denken die Position, von der es ausgeht, durch gegensätzliche Behauptungen für eine Lösungssynthese beider Positionen infrage stellt. Für Platon war es »Ideenforschung«, für Aristoteles »geistige Gymnastik«.

Hegel brachte es später mit »das treibende Moment des Vernünftigen innerhalb des Verstandesdenkens, durch das sich der Verstand schließlich selbst aufhebt« auf den Punkt.

Wir wiederum lassen uns mit dieser Ausgabe einfach auf ein anregendes Gespräch ein. Die Fragestellung »Geht’s noch?« darf sich in einer lustvollen Spurbreite zwischen empörter Aufregung und entspannter Reflexion entwickeln. Es ist eben nicht nur alles miteinander verbunden, sondern es sind die Beziehungen zwischen den Dingen, die sie zu dem machen, was sie sind.

Oder so.




Die Zukunft der Mobilität

An der Universität St. Gallen gibt es seit Neuestem das »Future Mobility Lab«, wir sprachen mit dessen Direktor Jürgen Stackmann und mit Prof. Dr. Andreas Herrmann, Direktor des dortigen Instituts für Mobilität. Hingefahren sind wir übrigens mit einem AMG A 45 S 4MATIC+.

Jozef Kabaň, Leiter Volkswagen Design,
über den ID. Buzz

Kann man ihm widerstehen? Kann man nicht. Natürlich alles Absicht, schließlich tritt der ID. Buzz an, um geliebt zu werden. Wir sprachen mit Jozef Kabaň, Leiter Volkswagen Design, über seinen Sympathieträger.




Herr Kaminer fährt M und denkt nach

Dieser Supersupersupertest beschäftigt sich mit Putin, der Ukraine, mit der Bedeutung der Farbe Grün in der ehemaligen Sowjetunion – und endet in München mit zwei BMWs: einem M4 und einem M8.

Polestar Designchef Maximilian Missoni
über den Polestar O₂

Polestar Designchef Maximilian Missoni über den Polestar O₂ Wohin geht die Reise für die Idee des Sportwagens? Mit dem E-Antrieb direkt in Richtung Renaissance, sagt Maximilian Missoni – und erklärt uns das Konzept O₂.




Der blaue Maserati MC20
und der kalkweiße Beifahrer

Für Kurt Molzer war es die größte Freude, in einen Maserati MC20 steigen und ihn in Italien fahren zu dürfen. Für den Fotografen war es eher – vorsichtig formuliert – eine Herausforderung.

Geburtstagsrunde mit Frank van Meel,
Chef der BMW M GmbH

Zum 50. von BMW M traf sich CEO Frank van Meel mit ramp Chefredakteur Michael Köckritz und Wladimir Kaminer. Dabei ging es um die Vergangenheit und die Zukunft der Marke. Und um Streichholzschachteln.




Das Flügelmonster Cayman GT4 RS

Eine erste Fahrt im neuen Porsche Cayman GT4 RS. RS bitte mit mehrfach gerrrolltem R und extrascharfem S. Dafür musste sich unser Autor auf interessante Art zusammenfalten, aber das war es wert.

Chefdesigner Mitja Borkert
über das Prinzip Lamborghini

Extreme Wirkung, eine hohe Geschwindigkeit auf dem Weg in die Zukunft und Designer-Klischees. Darüber sprachen wir mit Chefdesigner Mitja Borkert. Unter anderem.




Rodscha Muuahs guuhle Garre

Wir zwangen unseren Autor, in einer Ente auf Tour zu gehen, er litt sehr darunter, aber im Osten wurde der Wert dieses Autos sofort erkannt. Die Überschrift heißt übrigens übersetzt: »Roger Moores coole Karre«

Do It Like a Taycan!

Die dritte Taycan-Variante erfreut durch elegante Praktikabilität dort, wo man Porsche und Prestige verortet. Aber halt! Was passiert, wenn man die kleine DSC-Taste drückt?
Spoiler-Alert: Dann geht es ab.




+++ Außerdem: wirklich, also wirklich schöne Sachen zum Hinstellen. Anziehen. Lesen. Und Fahren. +++


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Alles in Ordnung: der Designer Otl Aicher

Die Olympischen Spiele in München 1972 und deren ganzheitlicher Ansatz in Sachen Design gelten bis heute als Otl Aichers Meisterwerk schlechthin – aber der gebürtig Ulmer war viel mehr – und vor allem von Moral und Ordnung geleitet. Heute wäre er 100 Jahre alt geworden.

Freitag, der 13.: Die Formel zum Glück

Zum ersten Mal dieses Jahr haben wir es mit einem Freitag, dem 13. zu tun. Ein guter Grund, sich am angeblichen Unglückstag die Formel fürs Glück nochmal vor Augen zu führen. Und die ist tatsächlich einfacher als gedacht, auch wenn das auf den ersten Blick nicht so aussieht.

McLaren 765LT Spider: 24 Stunden, zwei Shootings – und ein Kilometerlimit

Wir beklagen uns nicht, in 24 Stunden 600 Kilometer in einem McLaren 765LT Spider fahren zu dürfen. Aber seien Sie versichert: Es gibt tatsächlich auch entspanntere Aktivitäten. Was aber nicht am Auto lag, sondern eher am Zeitplan und der Kilometerbeschränkung. Zum Tag des Odometers: die Kilometer-Chronik einer besonders dynamischen Produktion.

Deus Ex Machina: Café Racer Coolness

Der Glaube brachte schon immer besondere Orte hervor. Seitdem mit Deus Ex Machina der göttliche Funke aus der Maschine geschlüpft ist, klappt das auch mit der Lässigkeit. Weltweit an fünf Orten von Sydney bis L.A.