Streetstyle

The world looks different through the eyes of a skater: the truly gifted can transform even the most mundane urban landscape into a concrete playground. And when this talent is photographed by FRED MORTAGNE, alias French Fred, the results are beautiful.
Text Andreas Wollinger
Photo Fred Mortagne

Black Mirror
This spot at the Arab World Institute in Paris shows off Aussie Sammy Winter’s elegant switch kickflip from multiple angles.

Shadow Art
US skater Brandon Westgate keeps his head down inside an aqueduct in California. “I had to wait three years for the perfect light,” says Mortagne. “You try it again and again and there’s always something that isn’t right. Then suddenly . . . boom, here we are!”

Seeing Double
The Niterói Contemporary Art Museum near Rio de Janeiro was designed by famed architect Oscar Niemeyer, and the UFO-shaped building is the perfect backdrop for some photo trickery with Brazilian skater Hernando “ÑaÑo” Ramirez. Black Mirror
This spot at the Arab World Institute in Paris shows off Aussie Sammy Winter’s elegant switch kickflip from multiple angles.

The complete text with more pictures and many more stories can be found in the current rampstyle #20. The text and pictures are taken from "The Red Bulletin", May 2020


Latest articles

More is more: Mletzko Marrakesh

The material from which Dirk Lührmann's Porsche dreams are shaped comes in oriental opulence in the case of the »Marrakesh«. But in other respects too, the 911 conversions made by »Mletzko« in Osnabrück are rather puristic. And just as important: anything but ordinary.

"The richest man in Ireland is the one with the best sense of humor."

If you have a sense of humor, you have to be spontaneous. Right? Not necessarily. The evidence to the contrary is provided by photographer Tony Kelly. With his pictures, but also in an interview. And speaking of evidence: We're happy to show why Ramp and the native-born Irishman have been working together for 10 years. And also the cover of the english edition, which is a true Tony Kelly. Quite spontaneously.

Best Corporate Book: RE/CAP has won GOLD at the BCM Award 2020

With "Crazy About Porsche", we boldly redefined the topic of the Community Platform almost a year ago and from then on brought it to the world in a very lively way. Shortly afterwards, the best stories from "Crazy About Porsche" were available for browsing. As a 448-page coffee table bookazine, an unconventional mix of book and magazine. Now it has won GOLD at the BCM Award 2020 straight away! As the best Corporate Book 2020.

Have Your Cake and Eat It Too

If you see the Porsche 911 Turbo as an indicator to gauge societal progress over the past forty-five years, you get a surprisingly good picture of reality. In other words, here is the story of how a whale-tailed ruffian became a socially acceptable overachiever with 650 hp.

Streetstyle

Skateboarder sehen die Welt mit anderen Augen: Sie muss sich in erster Linie befahren lassen. Der französische Fotograf Fred Mortagne alias French Fred hat dieses Lebensgefühl eingefangen.
Text Andreas Wollinger
Bild Fred Mortagne

SPIEGELTRICK
Es heißt, das von Star-Architekt Oscar Niemeyer in Niterói bei Rio de Janeiro gebaute Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst ähnele einem Ufo. So gesehen liegt das Arrangement mit Hernando »Naño« Ramirez auf der Hand.

LICHTSPIELE
Ein Aquädukt irgendwo im Nirgendwo von Kalifornien, und US-Skateboarder Brandon Westgate versucht, sich den Kopf nicht anzuhauen. »Ich musstedrei Jahre warten, bis das Licht endlich perfekt war«, erzählt Fred. »Seither waren Licht und Schatten nie wieder so.«

HOHE KUNST
Es heißt, das von Star-Architekt Oscar Niemeyer in Niterói bei Rio de Janeiro gebaute Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst ähnele einem Ufo. So gesehen liegt das Arrangement mit Hernando »Naño« Ramirez auf der Hand.

Den gesamten Text mit weiteren Bildern und zahlreiche weitere Geschichten finden sie in der aktuellen rampstyle #20. Die Bilder und Texte stammen aus »The Red Bulletin«; Mai 2020.


Letzte Beiträge

Mehr ist mehr: Mletzko Marrakesch

Der Stoff, aus dem Dirk Lührmanns Porsche-Träume geprägt sind, kommt im Fall des »Marrakesch« in orientalischer Üppigkeit daher. Aber auch sonst sind die puristisch angelegten, von »Mletzko« in Osnabrück gefertigten Elfer-Umbauten alles andere als alltäglich. Und das nicht nur optisch.

»Der reichste Mann in Irland ist der mit dem besten Humor«

Wer Humor hat, muss auch immer spontan sein. Stimmt? Nicht unbedingt. Den Gegenbeweis liefert hier Fotograf Tony Kelly. Mit seinen Bildern, aber auch im Interview. Und wo wir gerade bei Belegen sind: Warum es inzwischen schon ganze 10 Jahre Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ramp und dem gebürtgen Iren sind, zeigen wir natürlich gerne. Und auch das Cover der englischen Ausgabe, das ein echter Tony Kelly ist. Ganz spontan.

Best Corporate Book: RE/CAP gewinnt auf Anhieb Gold

Mit »Crazy About Porsche« haben wir gemeinsam mit Porsche das Thema Community Plattform vor knapp einem Jahr einmal mutig frischer definiert und fortan sehr lebendig in die Welt gebracht. Schon kurz darauf gab es die besten Geschichten von »Crazy About Porsche« auch zum Blättern. Als 448 Seiten starkes Coffeetable-Bookazine. Jetzt hat es beim BCM Award 2020 auf Anhieb GOLD gewonnen! Als das beste Corporate Book 2020.

Have the cake and eat it

Betrachtet man den Porsche 911 Turbo als Gradmesser für gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen in den letzten 45 Jahren, bekommt man ein erstaunlich präzises Bild von Gegenwärtigkeiten. Anders gesagt: Es ist die Geschichte eines hecklastigen Haudraufs zum salonfähigen Überflieger mit 650 PS.