The Greatest - Muhammad Ali

There was a time when people would set their alarm clocks to watch a live Muhammad Ali fight. And today? The legend would have turned eighty years old. We look back on the extraordinary man and sportsman - also with two extraordinary illustrated books.
Text Marko Knab
Photo George Clerk / iStock.com

He was the man of many names - and is still »The Greatest.« This self-chosen nickname is forever associated with Muhammad Ali. The man born Cassius Marcellus Clay Jr. in Louisville in 1942 shouted out no less than that during his first world championship title against Sonny Liston. Today he would have turned 80. His path to boxing? Led via a stolen bicycle and a desire to beat up the thief, to gold at the 1960 Olympics - and from there straight to the Mount Olympus of boxing.

Shortly after the Olympic gold, Cassius Clay therefore becomes a professional - and is accompanied in 1963 by a certain Steve Schapiro. The young boxer and the photojournalist spent five days on a road trip to New York City. In the process, Schapiro builds a special bond with Cassius Clay - and captures unique moments. The photo book »Ali« shows the personal pictures that were taken along the way: between relaxed snapshots, silly poses and domestic seclusion. Just one year later, he won his first world title - in a fight against the aforementioned Sonny Liston. What followed? The conversion to Islam, the new name, the »Ali Shuffle,« the provocative dancing without cover, the conscientious objection and the withdrawal of the title - in short, the career peak, followed by the first big fall.

Steve Schapiro: ALI.
Text von Jack Olsen.
powerHouse Books. 50 $.



Then, in 1970, the turnaround: Ali comes back - and a year later follows »The Fight of the Century.« Three hundred million people follow the duel with Joe Frazier in front of their TV, tense to tense. 19,000 viewers see the spectacle in 4k, so to speak, they are there live in New York's Madison Square Garden when Frazier puts »The Greatest« in his place for over 15 rounds and in the end becomes the world champion among the undefeated world champions. The end on Ali? Not at all. In 1974, he knocks out George Foreman in the »Rumble in the Jungle« and becomes world champion once again. A year later, he returns the favor to Frazier and triumphs at the »Thrilla in Manila«.



Neil Leifer also dedicates an illustrated book to these epic boxing moments in Ali's life. In sixty years as a photographer, Leifer has succeeded in authentically capturing the dynamic attraction of boxing, the gracefulness as well as the unrestrained brutality in the ring. Promoters also appear in his pictures, and the glamorous entourage cannot be left out either. And, of course, Ali.


ramp shop


Latest articles

Everything in perfect order: the designer Otl Aicher

The holistic design of the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich is still considered Otl Aicher's masterpiece. But the native of Ulm was much more. Namely, he was a convinced democrat, guided by morality and order. Today he would have been 100 years old.

Friday the 13th: The formula for happiness

For the first time this year, we are dealing with Friday the 13th. A good reason to remind ourselves of the formula for happiness on this supposedly unlucky day. And it's actually simpler than you think, even if it doesn't look that way at first glance.

McLaren 765 LT Spider: 24 hours, two shoots - and a mileage limit.

We're not complaining about getting to drive 600 kilometers in a McLaren 765 LT Spider in 24 hours. But rest assured: There are indeed more relaxing activities, too. But that wasn't because of the car, but rather because of the schedule and the mileage limit. On the day of the odometer: the kilometer chronicle of a particularly dynamic production.

Deus Ex Machina: Café Racer Coolness

Faith has always brought forth special places. Ever since the divine spark slipped out of the machine with Deus Ex Machina, it has also worked with coolness. Around the world in five locations from Sydney to L.A.

The Greatest – Muhammad Ali

Es gab eine Zeit, da stellten Menschen sich den Wecker, um einen Kampf mit Muhammad Ali live zu sehen. Und heute? Wäre die Legende achtzig Jahre alt geworden. Wir blicken auf den außergewöhnlichen Mensch und Sportler zurück – mit zwei ebenfalls außergewöhnlichen Bildbänden.
Text Marko Knab
Bild George Clerk / iStock.com

Er war der Mann der vielen Namen – und ist immer noch »The Greatest«: Dieser selbstgewählte Spitzname ist auf ewig mit Muhammad Ali verbunden. Nicht weniger als ihn schrie der 1942 in Louisville als Cassius Marcellus Clay Jr. geborene bei seinem ersten WM-Titel gegen Sonny Liston hinaus. Heute wäre er 80 Jahre alt geworden. Sein Weg zum Boxen? Führt über ein gestohlenes Fahrrad und den Wunsch, den Dieb zu verprügeln, zu Gold bei Olympischen Spielen 1960 – und von dort direkt in den Box-Olymp.

Kurz nach dem olympischen Gold wird Cassius Clay deshalb auch schon Profi – und wird 1963 von einem gewissen Steve Schapiro begleitet. Fünf Tage sind der junge Boxer und der Fotoreporter unterwegs – auf einem Roadtrip nach New York City. Dabei baut Schapiro ein besonderes Band zu Cassius Clay auf – und fängt einzigartige Momente ein. Der Fotoband »Ali« zeigt die persönlichen Bilder, die dabei entstanden: zwischen entspannten Schnappschüssen, albernen Posen und heimischer Zurückgezogenheit. Nur ein Jahr später nach den Aufnahmen folgt der erste Weltmeistertitel – im Kampf gegen besagten Sonny Liston. Was dann folgt? Die Konversion zum Islam, der neue Name, der »Ali Shuffle«, das provokante Tänzeln ohne Deckung, die Wehrdienstverweigerung und der Titelentzug – kurz gesagt der Karrierehöhepunkt, gefolgt vom großen Fall.

Steve Schapiro: ALI.
Text von Jack Olsen.
powerHouse Books. 50 $.



1970 dann die Kehrtwende: Ali kommt zurück – und ein Jahr später folgt »Der Kampf des Jahrhunderts«. Dreihundertmillionen Menschen verfolgen das Duell mit Joe Frazier gespannt bis angespannt vor ihren Flimmerkisten. 19.000 Zuschauer sehen das Spektakel sozusagen in 4K, sie sind live dabei im New Yorker Madison Square Garden, als Frazier »The Greatest« über 15 Runden lang in die Schranken weist und sich so am Ende zum Weltmeister unter den ungeschlagenen Weltmeistern aufschwingt. Das Ende von Ali? Mitnichten: 1974 schlägt er selbst George Foreman im »Rumble in the Jungle« K.O. und wird erneut Weltmeister, ein Jahr später revanchiert er sich bei Frazier und triumphiert beim »Thrilla in Manila«.



Unter anderem diesen epischen Boxsport-Momenten in Alis leben widmet auch Neil Leifer einen Bildband. Leifer ist es dabei in sechzig Jahren als Fotograf gelungen, die dialektische Anziehung des Boxsports authentisch einzufangen, das Anmutige ebenso wie die hemmungslose Brutalität im Ring. Halbseidene Promoter tauchen in seinen Bildern auf, auch die glamouröse Entourage darf nicht fehlen. Und eben auch Ali.


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Alles in Ordnung: der Designer Otl Aicher

Die Olympischen Spiele in München 1972 und deren ganzheitlicher Ansatz in Sachen Design gelten bis heute als Otl Aichers Meisterwerk schlechthin – aber der gebürtig Ulmer war viel mehr – und vor allem von Moral und Ordnung geleitet. Heute wäre er 100 Jahre alt geworden.

Freitag, der 13.: Die Formel zum Glück

Zum ersten Mal dieses Jahr haben wir es mit einem Freitag, dem 13. zu tun. Ein guter Grund, sich am angeblichen Unglückstag die Formel fürs Glück nochmal vor Augen zu führen. Und die ist tatsächlich einfacher als gedacht, auch wenn das auf den ersten Blick nicht so aussieht.

McLaren 765LT Spider: 24 Stunden, zwei Shootings – und ein Kilometerlimit

Wir beklagen uns nicht, in 24 Stunden 600 Kilometer in einem McLaren 765LT Spider fahren zu dürfen. Aber seien Sie versichert: Es gibt tatsächlich auch entspanntere Aktivitäten. Was aber nicht am Auto lag, sondern eher am Zeitplan und der Kilometerbeschränkung. Zum Tag des Odometers: die Kilometer-Chronik einer besonders dynamischen Produktion.

Deus Ex Machina: Café Racer Coolness

Der Glaube brachte schon immer besondere Orte hervor. Seitdem mit Deus Ex Machina der göttliche Funke aus der Maschine geschlüpft ist, klappt das auch mit der Lässigkeit. Weltweit an fünf Orten von Sydney bis L.A.