Tom Ford: The One and Only

The glamour and coolness of the nineties. The first luxury brand of the twenty-first century. And we have Tom Ford to thank for it all. But that’s how you define new standards of style. An approach.
Text Ulf Lippitz & Wiebke Brauer
Photo Jeff Burton / Trunk Archive

Designer Diane von Fürstenberg once described him as “a cross between a Rolls-Royce and the Marlboro Man”. Which sums it up pretty well, considering that it was this man from Texas who breathed new life into the venerable European fashion houses of Gucci and Yves Saint Laurent. You could also say: Ford turned fashion into pop culture. To illustrate the point, consider three images: First, Gwyneth Paltrow in the red velvet tuxedo he designed for Gucci in 1996. Then the bottle of his first fragrance for men positioned between a woman’s breasts. (The campaign series, shot by photographer Terry Richardson in 2007, was immediately banned in Italy shortly after its release.) And finally, Tom Ford himself. Now sixty years old, impeccably dressed in suit and tie, the man exudes an aura that lies somewhere between grandeur and a mystifying sensuality. What all three pictures have in common: an explicit sense of glamour. Though Ford himself has always rejected the term. “It’s just the way I like things to look,” as he once said.

Tom Ford was born in Texas but spent the better part of his childhood in Santa Fe, New Mexico. His parents, both realtors, bought him his first pair of Gucci loafers when he was twelve years old. He went on to study architecture and design in Paris and at New York’s Parsons School. Early on, he worked as a model and an actor, applied unsuccessfully for a job at Calvin Klein and in 1986 began working for sportswear designer Cathy Hardwick. In 1988 he got a job at the Perry Ellis fashion company, where he was hired by another up-and-coming fashion designer: Marc Jacobs. In 1990 Ford moved to Milan, where he was hired on as a designer for Gucci’s women’s lines. He was promoted to creative director in 1994 – changing the world of fashion forever.

Credit: Tom Ford. Juliet Ingleby and Lucho Jacob, CR Fashion Book.

Ford himself has always rejected the term “glamour”. “It’s just the way I like things to look,” he once said.

For women, he designed plunging necklines (front and back) and minimal tops that looked like strips of fabric wrapped around the torso. For men, velvet pants and unbuttoned shirts, a radically cool look. Not to mention the provocative advertising campaigns with which he shocked the world. But it was all so new and alluring! In the first few seasons, Gucci’s sales reportedly grew by ninety percent annually. Though we should mention: When he was working in Europe, first at Gucci, later also at Yves Saint Laurent, Americans felt he was too European. On the Old Continent, on the other hand, they thought he was too offensive. In 2004, after ten years as creative director at the Italian fashion label, his time at Gucci came to an end.

How does he view this era today? Very laid-back, of course. In an interview, he once said, “What was considered tasteful, not tasteful, too far in one direction, then was different.” And you can just imagine his lips moving into a slightly upturned smile as he says that. Not rude, just slightly amused.

Tom Ford is at once a cowboy wearing a Stetson and an old-school gentleman. He is distinguished, witty, aristocratic without being elitist. He defines himself as a night person and as someone who absolutely hates breakfast meetings. He feels most at ease during cocktail time, as he says. In 2005 he founded his own brand. And he made men’s fashion desirable again, combining the classic elements of tailoring with the hallmarks of value. Precious fabrics, bespoke craftsmanship, waiting times – this no longer has anything to do with the sort of fleeting fashion collections that Gucci had been unleashing on the public at ever shorter intervals. It is a tribute to the masters in Naples and London, to tradition, perfectionism, quality and skill. Which are also main values, when it comes to directing a film. And that's exactly what he did in 2009.

Find out who his great role model is here, how he succeeded with the adaptation of the novel "A Single Man" and why the creative director now lives back in the USA in the current rampstyle #25 "Keep It Simple and Smart"
-
now also available as a limited directors cut with Tom Ford cover!


ramp shop


Latest articles

It's cool, men: Steiner Architecture f/f and the Ice Race Pavilion

The best way to counter the summer heat is like the two creators of Steiner Architecture f/f: with cool ideas that are well implemented. Like the Ice Race Pavilion, for example. But Flo Oberschneider and Ferdi Porsche also leave a lasting and sustainable impression with tother projects.

The last of its kind: Chevrolet Corvette C7

The great freedom? We enjoy it with the American sports car dream par excellence: the Corvette Stingray. A high-frequency road trip for Independence Day. Simply perfect.

Asket: A Lasting Classic

Actually, August Bard Bringéus and Jakob Dworsky were only dreaming of the perfect white T-shirt. Then the two Swedes, who met at Stockholm School of Economics, founded the fashion label Asket and began to radically rethink fashion.

Thank you very mud: Our Carwash with Daniele Calonaci, Head of Jeep Design

A heads-up on International Mud Day: it's going to get dirty. Very dirty. And Daniele Calonaci from Jeep shows what it means when a designer takes the ramp carwash literally.

Tom Ford: The One and Only

Der Glamour und die Coolness der 90er. Die erste Luxusmarke des 21. Jahrhunderts. All das haben wir Tom Ford zu verdanken. Aber so definiert man eben einen neuen Anspruch an Stilsicherheit. Eine Annäherung.
Text Ulf Lippitz & Wiebke Brauer
Bild Jeff Burton / Trunk Archive

Als Mischung zwischen einem »Rolls-Royce und dem Marlboro Man« bezeichnete ihn die Designerin Diane von Furstenberg einmal. Was es ziemlich gut trifft, wenn man bedenkt, dass jemand aus Texas die altehrwürdigen europäischen Marken Gucci und Yves Saint Laurent wiederbelebte. Man könnte auch sagen: Ford verwandelte Mode in Popkultur. Um das zu verdeutlichen, sollte man sich an drei Bilder erinnern. Als Erstes Gwyneth Paltrow im roten Samt-Smoking, den er 1996 für Gucci entwarf. Dann der Flakon seines ersten Männerduftes zwischen den Brüsten einer Frau. Die Kampagne wurde von Terry Richardson 2007 fotografiert und in Italien kurz nach der Veröffentlichung sofort wieder verboten. Und schließlich er selbst. Tom Ford, heute 60 Jahre alt, in Anzug und Krawatte, mit einer Ausstrahlung zwischen Grandezza und Sinnlichkeit. Was allen drei Bildern zu eigen ist: ein expliziter Glamour. Wobei sich Ford selbst gegen den Begriff immer verwehrt hat. Vielmehr sei es »einfach die Art, wie ich die Dinge gerne sehe«, wie er mal sagte.

Aufgewachsen ist Tom Ford in Santa Fe, mit zwölf Jahren wünschte er sich von seinen Eltern – beide waren Immobilienmakler – die ersten Gucci-Loafers. In Paris und an der New Yorker Parsons School studierte er Architektur und Design. Tom Ford arbeitete schon früh als Model und Schauspieler, bewarb sich ohne Erfolg bei Calvin Klein und begann 1986, als Designer bei der Sportmode-Designerin Cathy Hardwick zu arbeiten. 1988 bekam er einen Job bei dem amerikanischen Label Perry Ellis – eingestellt wurde er von einem anderen aufstrebenden Modeschöpfer: Marc Jacobs. 1990 wechselte Ford nach Mailand, als Designer für die Damenlinien bei Gucci. 1994 wurde er dort Creative Director. Und veränderte die Welt der Mode für immer.

Credit: Tom Ford. Juliet Ingleby and Lucho Jacob, CR Fashion Book.

Gegen den Begriff Glamour hat sich Tom Ford immer verwehrt. Vielmehr sei es »einfach die Art, wie ich die Dinge gerne sehe«, wie er mal sagte.

Für die Frauen entwarf er tiefe Ausschnitte – für das Dekolleté wie für den Rücken – und minimale Tops, die wie über den Oberkörper gebundene Streifen aussehen. Für die Männer Samthosen und aufgeknöpfte Hemden, ein radikal lässiger Look. Nicht zu vergessen seine provokanten Werbekampagnen, mit denen er die Welt schockierte. Aber wie groß diese Anziehungskraft des Neuen war! In den ersten Saisons soll der Umsatz von Gucci um neunzig Prozent pro Jahr gestiegen sein. Was man auch erwähnen muss: Als Tom Ford in Europa arbeitete – zuerst bei Gucci, später bei Yves Saint Laurent –, hielten ihn die Amerikaner für zu europäisch. Auf dem alten Kontinent fand man ihn hingegen zu offensiv. 2004 endete die Ära bei Gucci, zehn Jahre stand er dem italienischen Modelabel als Kreativdirektor vor.

Wie er die Ära heute sieht? Natürlich sehr entspannt. In einem Interview sagte er einmal: »Was als geschmackvoll oder nicht geschmackvoll galt, was zu weit in eine Richtung ging, war damals anders.« Man sieht quasi sein leichtes Lächeln bei diesem Satz. Kein unhöfliches Lächeln, nur ein leicht amüsiertes.

Tom Ford ist aber nicht nur der Mann mit dem Stetson, sondern auch ein Gentleman alter Schule. Er ist vornehm, witzig, ein bisschen aristokratisch, ohne elitär zu sein. Und ein Nachtmensch, wie er selbst eingesteht: »Wenn die Cocktail-Zeit gekommen ist, werde ich sozial kompatibel.« Sein Verständnis von Luxus ist dabei auch perketionisitisch: Für seine erste Kollektion unter eigenem Namen veröffentlichte der Designer ein grau eingeschlagenes Buch. Darin beschrieb er detailliert alle Arbeitsschritte, wie die Schuhe in Neapel gefertigt wurden. Über einen drei Wochen langen Prozess bearbeiteten die Schuhmacher das Leder, nähten, polierten und trockneten es. Verschiedene Öle und Wachse geben den Modellen schließlich den unzerstörbar wirkenden Glanz. Tom Ford setzte die Geräte der Schuhmacher, kleine Sicheln, silberne Meißel, scharfe Messer, wie schicke Accessoires in Szene. Was dann auch nur logisch erscheint, denn 2009 wagte er endlich auch den Schritt zum Film - und profilierte sich auch noch als Regisseur.

Wer dabei sein großes Rollenvorbild ist, wie er mit der Romanverfilmung von »A Single Man« überzeugte und warum der Kreativdirektor inzwischen wieder in den USA lebt, erfahren sie in der aktuellen rampstyle #25 »Keep It Simple and Smart«

jetzt auch als limitierter Director's Cut mit Tom-Ford-Cover!


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

It’s cool, men: Steiner Architecture f/f und der Ice Race Pavillon

Der sommerlichen Hitze begegnet man am besten wie die beiden Macher von Steiner Architecture f/f: mit kühl gedachten und gut umgesetzten Ideen. Wie zum Beispiel dem Ice-Race-Pavillon. Aber Flo Oberschneider und Ferdi Porsche hinterlassen mit ihrem gemeinsamen Architekturbüro auch sonst nachhaltig Eindruck.

Corvette Stingray: Abhängigkeitserklärung

Die große Freiheit? Genießt man nicht in vollen Zügen. Sondern im amerikanischen Sportwagentraum schlechthin: der Corvette Stingray. Ein hochfrequenter Roadtrip zum Unabhängigkeitstag. Einfach nur... perfekt!

Asket: Mode radikal neu gedacht

Eigentlich träumten August Bard Bringéus und Jakob Dworsky nur von dem perfekten weißen T-Shirt. Dann gründeten die beiden Schweden, die sich an der Stockholm School of Economics kennenlernten, das Fashionlabel Asket und begannen, das Thema Mode radikal neu zu denken.

Internationaler Matsch-Tag: ein Carwash mit dem Jeep Wrangler und Daniele Calonaci

Eine Vorwarnung am internationalen Matsch-Tag: Es wird schmutzig. Sehr schmutzig. Und Daniele Calonaci von Jeep zeigt, was es bedeutet, wenn ein Designer den ramp Carwash wörtlich nimmt.