Berlin calling

Media experiment Corona: From the home office we steer a photographer via telephone with a Bentley Continental GT V8 convertible through Berlin. In the end we send the team to Wladimir Kaminer. He really enjoyed the driving.
Text Tom M. Muir
Bild Kirill Kirsanov · ramp.pictures

With a yellow Bentley Continental GT V8 Cabriolet on the road in Berlin. The top is down. The sun is shining. And that in May. Just the thought of it accelerates the release of happiness hormones. But wait. Let's start at the beginning. In fact, only the Bentley, a photographer and a driver, are in Berlin. We are sitting at home in our home office, almost 700 kilometers from Berlin. At least the sun is shining here, too. But the lusty sputtering V8, the leather-covered steering wheel that clings so perfectly to your hand, the thrust when accelerating that pushes you in the back, we have to imagine all that. Why not be behind the wheel ourselves these days? To be honest, we are tired of explaining and forgo an explanation.

Instead: Media experiment with Bentley: what works from the home office? What does not work? How much influence can we have? Which pictures do we get? And what is our columnist Wladimir Kaminer doing right now? After all, he lives in Berlin.

But first a short phone call with the photographer. What is the mood like? »So far, so good. The streets are clear. It's not that there's nobody on the road, but compared to a normal weekday there's almost nothing going on. Most importantly, there are no tourists and the shops and cafes are all closed.« Sounds promising and a bit incredible as well. »Let's go, boys! The usual boulevards, please. And a bit of sightseeing.« Less than ten minutes later, the photographer gets back to us from directly in front of the Brandenburg Gate. »That was fast.« No traffic. So, straight to the government district. Again, only 5 minutes later. »One or two dark limousines drive past, probably bringing one or two politicians,« says the photographer. »And what about the central station?« - »Nobody …« says the real-time analysis. »Although, a handful of policemen are patrolling.« To prove this, he sends through a few shots on his cell phone.

»Nobody …« says the real-time analysis. »Although, a handful of policemen are patrolling.«

Time to take things a little further. »Put the Bentley in a high-profile spot or two and start taking pictures. We'll see what happens.« First stop, near Lustgarten, just around the corner is Angela Merkel's private residence. Permanent police guard in front of it. An impromptu Bentley shoot doesn't bother anyone here. After 15 minutes the shooting continues. Backside of the Alexanderplatz, a side street. Again two officers are patrolling. The driver parks directly in front of them. We listen in via telephone. The police officers are curious, especially about the Bentley and how much it costs. The fact that we want to take pictures here does not bother them in the least.

In the meantime, we have another spontaneous idea. A quick call to writer and ramp columnist Wladimir Kaminer. »Vladimir, what are you doing right now?« - »Well, I'm at home. Where should I be?« All readings and TV productions have been stopped or even cancelled, he says. Maybe something would happen in Austria, in two weeks. »Would you like to give us an exclusive report from Berlin? With a Bentley convertible?«, we ask straight out. He would. »Sure, come by.« Half an hour later, photographer and driver are standing at Vladimir Kaminer's door.

»We've never put a car in front of the Brandenburg Gate before. Will it work today?«

In numerous ramp-Supersupersupertests we have already driven him through Berlin in various and very expensive sports cars. This is always associated with a lot of attention. From our side for all other road users - especially for the notorious Berlin cyclists - and of course from all others for us. But how is it this time? We send Wladimir Kaminer off in a Bentley convertible as our investigative writer-columnist reporter, so to speak. »Where are we going?« he asks. »Anywhere you want. The roads are clear.« Kaminer ponders for a moment. »We've never put a car in front of the Brandenburg Gate before. Will it work today?«

It worked. I'll give you that much. The whole story written by Wladimir Kaminer, in which suddenly someone puts chairs in front of the Brandenburg Gate and puts up posters on the lawn in front of the Reichstag building, you will read in the upcoming ramp #50.


Bentley Continental GT V8 Cabriolet

Motor: V8-Biturbo
Hubraum: 3.996 ccm
Leistung: 404 kW / 550 PS
Max. Drehmoment: 770 Nm @ 2.000 - 4.000 U/min.
Beschleunigung: 0 bis 100 km/h in 4,0 s
Vmax: 318 km/h


Latest posts

"The richest man in Ireland is the one with the best sense of humor."

If you have a sense of humor, you have to be spontaneous. Right? Not necessarily. The evidence to the contrary is provided by photographer Tony Kelly. With his pictures, but also in an interview. And speaking of evidence: We're happy to show why Ramp and the native-born Irishman have been working together for 10 years. And also the cover of the english edition, which is a true Tony Kelly. Quite spontaneously.

Best Corporate Book: RE/CAP has won GOLD at the BCM Award 2020

With "Crazy About Porsche", we boldly redefined the topic of the Community Platform almost a year ago and from then on brought it to the world in a very lively way. Shortly afterwards, the best stories from "Crazy About Porsche" were available for browsing. As a 448-page coffee table bookazine, an unconventional mix of book and magazine. Now it has won GOLD at the BCM Award 2020 straight away! As the best Corporate Book 2020.

Have Your Cake and Eat It Too

If you see the Porsche 911 Turbo as an indicator to gauge societal progress over the past forty-five years, you get a surprisingly good picture of reality. In other words, here is the story of how a whale-tailed ruffian became a socially acceptable overachiever with 650 hp.

Just a music guy: Lenny Kravitz

A townhouse on a secluded side street in the 16th arrondissement of Paris. It’s been fourteen years since Lenny Kravitz found this villa, and anyone looking around the place will immediately grasp the importance that style, aesthetics and design have for him. Our meeting also is a rare opportunity to meet Lenny Kravitz up close and candid, to discover the person behind the stage persona. And that was exactly what we set out to do.

Berlin calling

Medienexperiment Corona: Wir steuern einen Fotografen via Telefon aus dem Homeoffice heraus mit einem Bentley Continental GT V8 Cabriolet durch Berlin. Am Ende schicken wir das Team noch zu Wladimir Kaminer. Der hatte dann wirklich Fahrfreude.
Text Tom M. Muir
Bild Kirill Kirsanov · ramp.pictures

Mit einem gelben Bentley Continental GT V8 Cabriolet unterwegs in Berlin. Dach auf. Die Sonne scheint. Und das im Mai. Allein der Gedanke beschleunigt schon die Freisetzung von Glückshormonen. Aber Halt. Alles auf Anfang. Tatsächlich ist nur der Bentley, ein Fotograf und ein Fahrer in Berlin. Wir sitzen zuhause im Homeoffice, fast 700 Kilometer entfernt von Berlin. Zumindest die Sonne scheint auch hier. Aber das lustvoll sprotzende V8-Bollern, das Lederumrandete Lenkrad, das sich so perfekt an die Hand anschmiegt, der Schub beim Beschleunigen, der einem in den Rücken drückt, all das müssen wir uns vorstellen. Warum wir nicht selbst am Steuer sitzen in diesen Tagen? Wir sind es ehrlich gesagt Leid zu erklären und schenken uns eine Ausführung darüber.

Stattdessen: Medienexperiment mit Bentley: was geht vom Homeoffice aus? Was geht nicht? Wie viel Einfluss können wir nehmen? Welche Bilder bekommen wir? Und was macht eigentlich unser Kolumnist Wladimir Kaminer gerade so? Schließlich lebt der in Berlin.

Zunächst aber ein kurzes Telefonat mit dem Fotografen. Wie ist die Stimmung? »Bestens soweit. Die Straßen sind frei. Es ist nicht so, dass niemand unterwegs wäre, aber verglichen mit einem gewöhnlichen Wochentag ist so gut wie nichts los. Vor allem sieht man keine Touristen und die Läden und die Cafes sind alle geschlossen.« Klingt schon mal vielversprechend und ein bisschen unglaublich gleichermaßen. »Dann mal los, Jungs! Ein Mal die üblichen Prachtstraßen bitte. Und ein bisschen Sightseeing.« Keine zehn Minuten später meldet sich der Fotograf direkt vor dem Brandenburger Tor wieder. »Das ging flott.« Kein Verkehr eben. Also direkt weiter Richtung Regierungsviertel. Wieder nur fünf Minuten später. »Ein, zwei dunkle Limousinen fahren vorbei, bringen vermutlich den ein oder anderen Politiker«, meint der Fotograf. »Und wie sieht es am Hauptbahnhof aus?« - »Kein Mensch …«, lautet die Echtzeitanalyse. »Wobei, eine Handvoll Polizisten patrouillieren.« Zum Beweis schickt er ein paar Schnapsschüsse mit dem Handy durch.

»Kein Mensch …«, lautet die Echtzeitanalyse. »Wobei, eine Handvoll Polizisten patrouillieren.«

Zeit, die Dinge ein bisschen weiter zu treiben. »Stellt den Bentley mal an ein, zwei prominente Spots und fangt zu fotografieren an. Wir warten mal ab, was passiert.« Erster Stopp, nähe Lustgarten, gleich ums Eck ist die private Wohnadresse von Angela Merkel. Permanente Polizeiwache davor. Ein spontanes Bentley-Shooting stört hier aber niemanden. Nach 15 Minuten geht es weiter. Rückseite Alexanderplatz, eine Nebenstraße. Wieder patrouillieren zwei Beamte. Der Fahrer parkt direkt vor ihnen. Via Telefon hören wir mit. Die Polizeibeamten sind neugierig, vor allem interessiert sie der Bentley und wie viel er kostet. Dass wir hier fotografieren wollen, stört auch sie nicht im Geringsten.

In der Zwischenzeit haben wir noch einen anderen spontanen Einfall. Ein rascher Anruf bei Schriftsteller und ramp-Kolumnist Wladimir Kaminer. »Wladimir, was machst du gerade?« - »Na, ich bin zuhause. Wo soll ich denn sein?« Alle Lesungen und Fernsehproduktionen seien bis auf weiteres gestoppt oder gar abgesagt, erzählt er. Vielleicht ergäbe sich etwas in Österreich, in zwei Wochen. »Hättest du Lust uns einen Exklusiv-Fahrbericht aus Berlin zu liefern? Mit einem Bentley-Cabrio?«, fragen wir gerade heraus. Und ob er Lust hat. »Klar, kommt vorbei.« Eine halbe Stunde später stehen Fotograf und Fahrer bei Wladimir Kaminer vor der Türe.

»Wo wollen wir hinfahren?«, fragt er noch. »Wohin du willst. Du Straßen sind frei.« Kaminer überlegt kurz. »Wir haben noch nie ein Auto vor das Brandenburger Tor gestellt. Ob das heute klappt?«

In zahlreichen ramp-Supersupersupertests sind wir mit ihm schon in diversen und sehr teuren Sportwagen durch Berlin gefahren. Stets ist das mit viel Aufmerksamkeit verbunden. Von unserer Seite für alle anderen Verkehrsteilnehmer – insbesondere für die berüchtigten Berliner Fahrradfahrer – und natürlich auch seitens allen Anderen für uns. Aber wie ist es diesmal? Wir schicken Wladimir Kaminer im Bentley Cabriolet los, als unseren Investigativ-Schriftsteller-Kolumnist-Reporter sozusagen. »Wo wollen wir hinfahren?«, fragt er noch. »Wohin du willst. Die Straßen sind frei.« Kaminer überlegt kurz. »Wir haben noch nie ein Auto vor das Brandenburger Tor gestellt. Ob das heute klappt?«

Es hat geklappt. Soviel sei verraten. Die ganze von Wladimir Kaminer geschriebene Geschichte, in der plötzlich jemand Stühle vor das Brandenburger Tor stellt und Plakate auf dem Rasen vor dem Reichstaggebäude auslegt, lest ihr dann in der kommenden ramp #50 ab dem 09.Juli 2020.


Bentley Continental GT V8 Cabriolet

Motor: V8-Biturbo
Hubraum: 3.996 ccm
Leistung: 404 kW / 550 PS
Max. Drehmoment: 770 Nm @ 2.000 - 4.000 U/min.
Beschleunigung: 0 bis 100 km/h in 4,0 s
Vmax: 318 km/h


Latest posts

»Der reichste Mann in Irland ist der mit dem besten Humor«

Wer Humor hat, muss auch immer spontan sein. Stimmt? Nicht unbedingt. Den Gegenbeweis liefert hier Fotograf Tony Kelly. Mit seinen Bildern, aber auch im Interview. Und wo wir gerade bei Belegen sind: Warum es inzwischen schon ganze 10 Jahre Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ramp und dem gebürtgen Iren sind, zeigen wir natürlich gerne. Und auch das Cover der englischen Ausgabe, das ein echter Tony Kelly ist. Ganz spontan.

Best Corporate Book: RE/CAP gewinnt auf Anhieb Gold

Mit »Crazy About Porsche« haben wir gemeinsam mit Porsche das Thema Community Plattform vor knapp einem Jahr einmal mutig frischer definiert und fortan sehr lebendig in die Welt gebracht. Schon kurz darauf gab es die besten Geschichten von »Crazy About Porsche« auch zum Blättern. Als 448 Seiten starkes Coffeetable-Bookazine. Jetzt hat es beim BCM Award 2020 auf Anhieb GOLD gewonnen! Als das beste Corporate Book 2020.

Have the cake and eat it

Betrachtet man den Porsche 911 Turbo als Gradmesser für gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen in den letzten 45 Jahren, bekommt man ein erstaunlich präzises Bild von Gegenwärtigkeiten. Anders gesagt: Es ist die Geschichte eines hecklastigen Haudraufs zum salonfähigen Überflieger mit 650 PS.

Lenny Kravitz: Just a music guy

Eine abgelegene Straße, ein Stadthaus im 16. Arrondissement in Paris.14 Jahre ist es her, dass Lenny Kravitz diese Villa fand, und wer sich dort umsieht, spürt nicht nur sofort, welche Bedeutung Stil, Ästhetik und Design für ihn haben. Hier begegnet man dem Menschen Lenny Kravitz jenseits der gelernten Kunst- figur so hautnah und offen wie selten. Und genau das war ja auch unsere Absicht.