Genuinely Different: CUPRA and Daniel Abt

Daniel Abt spent twenty years in motorsport, pushing the limits, embracing social media faster than anyone else. Now he has teamed up with CUPRA to show how much the brand is a people brand.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Photo CUPRA

One thing you and CUPRA have in common is high performance. How important do you think the motorsport background is for you and for the brand?
Motorsport has always been a part of my life, and it taught me early on what it means to push your limits. You can only grow beyond your limits if you push yourself to the max. That goes for me as a person as much as it does for CUPRA as a brand. At CUPRA, they also don’t stay in their comfort zone. CUPRA is all about achieving maximum performance and going new ways.

Is performance an attitude? And where do you see similarities between yourself and the CUPRA brand?
Performance is absolutely an attitude. What I really like about CUPRA is that they are constantly thinking outside of the box. I totally identify with this approach, which is why we harmonize so well.

How do you personally define the CUPRA spirit?
My first encounter with CUPRA was at the IAA motor show in Frankfurt. While the representatives from all the other brands were giving formal speeches in stiffened suits, CUPRA threw a party with an internationally renowned DJ and the possibility to get yourself a tattoo. CUPRA doesn’t fit into any standard molds. It goes its own way, and this spirit spills over to the employees and their outlook on life.

"You can only grow beyond your limits if you push yourself to the max."

Daniel Abt

According to CUPRA’s slogan for the DTM, you are your own best opponent. Would you agree?
Absolutely. When I was racing professionally, I learned that it’s a waste of your time and energy to focus on others. You can only work on yourself, question yourself and try to become better. So that tomorrow you’re already fighting against your yesterday’s self.

Sounds like you’ve got personal experience here.
In my case, a few years of motorsport success were followed by two disastrously bad years. I doubted everything and struggled a lot with myself. In the end, however, I understood that I was the only person who could get me out of that situation, and that I had to work on myself. So I fought my way up out of that slump. I learned a lot about myself and was stronger afterwards than I had been before.

What does the word “authenticity” mean to you?
I realized the potential of social media in 2015, when I was still actively racing. I started filming myself at the track and making YouTube videos for the fans. It was important to me to show an authentic, genuine side of the sport. Most of the other drivers laughed it off and didn’t take me seriously. But I believed in it, kept doing it – and today I see pretty much everyone trying to do the same thing.

Do you always do things differently than others?
A lot, I would say. But I think that everybody does things differently than others in his or her own way. And that’s a good thing.

Daniel Abt was born in Kempten, Bavaria, on December 3, 1992. His father Hans-Jürgen Abt is the owner of the Abt Sportsline racing team. Daniel Abt started his career in karting in 2001, entered the GP2 series in 2014 and competed in the FIA Formula E championship from 2014 to 2020. At the end of the 2020 season, he announced his retirement as a driver. This year Daniel Abt will be traveling with the DTM as CUPRA brand ambassador, providing, among other things, background information on all the races.

How important is courage to you? In your daily life as well as on the racetrack?
Setting yourself goals gives you something to strive for. Having courage makes you want to achieve them. That’s why I see courage as an important part of life if you want to get somewhere.

What was the last big challenge you had to face?
My last big undertaking was to reorient my life after ending my active career. When you’ve done pretty much nothing but race for the last twenty years, that’s an enormous challenge.

You’re traveling with the DTM circus as brand ambassador for CUPRA. What can you tell us about the Formentor VZ5 with the ABT Sportsline GmbH upgrade?
The Formentor is a success story, and the VZ5 has one of my favorite engines. Of course, we had to modify the car a bit for the DTM so it would meet the safety car requirements. We put in a two-way radio and lights and gave it a power upgrade as well as a stiffer chassis.

You’ve driven the car yourself. What did you think? What was your impression?
I drove the car several times around the track and was amazed each time how a car of this class and with such daily driver credentials can still deliver that kind of performance.

"People are always looking for a thrill, for that adrenaline rush, and acceleration triggers just that, even more so than pure speed. In most people, that unleashes feelings of joy and bliss."

Daniel Abt

What, for you, is a contemporary definition of driving pleasure and performance?
The automotive industry is undergoing tremendous change right now, in part because of the challenges of our modern times. That’s why we’re seeing all these changes in the powertrain and in the car itself. But that doesn’t change my definition of driving pleasure and performance. For me, these two things are defined by acceleration, cornering speed and braking ability. The type of powertrain plays only a secondary role. Besides, I find it really exciting to explore new possibilities through technology.

Can you remember the first moment in your life that had something to do with auto racing? When you realized: “Oh, yeah! That’s it!”?
That was probably when I was three years old, the first time I was at a racetrack. Though I didn’t realize the significance of that moment until much later. When I was fifteen, I was given the opportunity to drive a Formula 4 car at the Lausitzring, and I was so blown away that I decided then and there that this was what I wanted to for a living.

Why do you think we are so fascinated by speed and acceleration?
People are always looking for a thrill, for that adrenaline rush, and acceleration triggers just that, even more so than pure speed. In most people, that unleashes feelings of joy and bliss.

Are things going to stay that way?
Sure. Who would say no to feeling happy? [laughs]

The Formentor VZ5 is the motorsport-inspired synthesis of SUV and sports coupe, built for the most beautiful of passions. The top model is powered by a sporty inline five-cylinder engine. The design boasts plenty of functional aesthetics such as an enlarged front splitter for increased airflow to the engine when driving in racing conditions. CUPRA Formentor VZ5 2.5 TSI 287 kW (385 hp) DSG (fuel economy, city: 12.3 l/100 km; highway: 7.5 l/100 km; combined: 9.3 l/100 km; CO₂ emissions, combined: 212 g/km; CO₂ efficiency class: F) The DTM Safety Car depicted here, with an upgrade courtesy of ABT Sportsline GmbH, delivers 444 hp (331 kW) and tops out at 270 km/h. The maximum torque has been increased by 50 Nm to 530 Nm. The sprint from zero to 100 km/h can be achieved within 3.9 seconds.

What opportunities and risks do you think the current mobility transformation entails?
The big opportunity is that we can take this topic forward into the future and develop powertrains and forms of mobility that will enable the next generation to live a better life. That’s already happening as we speak. But a lot of challenges still lie ahead if we want to make some real change. The risk is that the car will lose its allure and fascination, and that we will no longer talk about handling, but only about software.

And where do you see the future of motorsport?
Motorsport is like the automotive industry. You have to be prepared to adapt to the changing realities if you want to survive. A lot of the racing series out there have missed the boat, and they will probably fade away. On the other hand, we will also see new forms of the sport emerge. But the most important thing is to convince the younger generation that seeing a race live is more exciting than watching the next TikTok video.

Last question: What are you currently learning that you couldn’t do before?
I’m working on getting my pilot’s license. That literally expands my horizons.






CUPRA Formentor VZ5
Engine: turbocharged inline-five
Displacement: 2,480 cc
Power: 385 hp (287 kW) at 5,700–7,000 rpm
Torque: 480 Nm at 2,250–5,700 rpm
0–100 km/h: approx. 4.2 s
Top speed: 250 km/h


ramp shop


Latest articles

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp meets STARTCOLLECTIONS

On Saturday, December 3, 2022, STARTCOLLECTIONS' pop-up gallery will open for one day in Dorotheenquartier - ramp will be a guest and provide some photos. Read all information about the event here.

Future in Motion

A photographer. A designer. A car that connects the future with the past. Sounds like science fiction, but it’s not. A conversation with star fashion photographer Esther Haase and Eduardo Ramírez, Head of Exterior Design at Hyundai Design Center Europe, about sustainability, feeling at home and truly progressive technology.

Lamborghini Huracan Sterrato: the rock star at Art Basel Miami

At the renowned »Art Basel« art and design fair in Miami, Lamborghini unveiled the »Huracán Sterrato« off-road super sports car. With a proven V10 engine and familiar all-wheel drive, but above all more ground clearance - and yes, roof rails too. We take a look at the most important features.

Car Wash: Marc Lichte and Michael Köckritz talk design

The first time Marc Lichte laid eyes on the legendary Audi Sport quattro as a teenager, he was hooked. But the car we’re washing together today is the Audi e-tron GT that he designed himself. A main topic of our conversation is the Audi of the future. And how difficult it is to get the windows as clean as you’d like.

Echt anders: CUPRA und Daniel Abt

Zwanzig Jahre war Daniel Abt im Motorsport, ging an Grenzen, nutzte Social Media schneller als alle anderen. Heute beweist er mit CUPRA, wie gut Mensch und Marke zusammenpassen können.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Bild CUPRA

Herr Abt, Sie teilen mit CUPRA die Performance-Wurzeln. Wie prägend ist diese Rennsport-Erfahrung Ihrer Meinung nach für Sie und für die Marke?
Der Motorsport war immer schon ein Teil meines Lebens, und er hat mich früh gelehrt, was es bedeutet, an seine Grenzen zu gehen. Nur wer sich am Limit bewegt, kann auch darüber hinauswachsen. Das gilt sowohl für mich als Person, wie natürlich auch für CUPRA als Marke. Auch bei CUPRA bewegt man sich nie in der Komfortzone, es gilt immer das Streben nach maximaler Performance und neuen Wegen.

Ist Performance eine Haltung? Und wo erkennen Sie Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen sich und der Marke CUPRA?
Ja, Performance ist absolut eine Haltung. Was ich an CUPRA schätze, ist das ständige Out-of-the-box-Denken. Mit diesem Ansatz kann ich mich gut identifizieren, deswegen harmonieren wir auch so gut.

Wie definieren Sie persönlich das Lebensgefühl von CUPRA?
Meine erste Begegnung mit CUPRA war auf der IAA in Frankfurt. Während bei allen anderen Marken steife Vorträge im Anzug gehalten wurden, feierte CUPRA mit einem internationalen Star-DJ eine Party, auf der man sich nebenbei tätowieren lassen konnte. CUPRA passt in keine Norm, sondern geht eigene Wege, und dieser Spirit überträgt sich auf die Mitarbeiter und das Lebensgefühl.

»Nur wer sich am Limit bewegt, kann auch darüber hinauswachsen.«

Daniel Abt

»Dein bester Gegner. Bist du selbst.«, diesen Slogan formulierte CUPRA für den Einsatz in der DTM. Können Sie das für sich unterschreiben?
Ja. Schon im Motorsport lernte ich, dass man nur Energie und Zeit verschwendet, wenn man sich auf andere konzentriert. Man kann nur an sich selbst arbeiten, sich selbst hinterfragen und dabei versuchen, besser zu werden. Somit kämpft man schon morgen gegen sein Ich von gestern.

Das klingt so, als würden Sie das Gefühl aus Ihrem eigenen Leben gut kennen.
Bei mir war es ja so, dass nach einigen erfolgreichen Jahren im Motorsport zwei katastrophal schlechte Jahre folgten. Ich zweifelte alles an und hatte stark mit mir zu kämpfen. Am Ende verstand ich jedoch, dass nur ich selbst mich aus dieser Situation befreien kann und an mir arbeiten muss. So schaffte ich es, mich aus diesem Tief hochzukämpfen. Ich habe viel über mich gelernt und war danach stärker als zuvor.

Welche Bedeutung hat für Sie der Begriff Authentizität?
Als ich noch aktiv Rennen fuhr, erkannte ich 2015 die Power von Social Media. Ich fing an, mich am Rennplatz selbst zu filmen und YouTube-­Videos für die Fans zu machen. Mir war wichtig, eine authentische Seite des Sports zu zeigen. Die meisten meiner Mitstreiter lachten darüber und nahmen mich nicht für voll. Ich glaubte aber daran, zog das weiter durch – und heute sehe ich so ziemlich jeden Rennfahrer das Gleiche versuchen.

Machen Sie Dinge grundsätzlich anders als andere?
Sagen wir, viele. Ich denke aber, dass jeder Mensch sich auf seine Art und Weise von anderen unterscheidet. Und das ist auch gut so.

Daniel Abt wurde am 3. Dezember 1992 in Kempten, Allgäu, geboren, sein Vater Hans-Jürgen Abt ist der Besitzer des Rennstalls Abt Sportsline. Daniel Abts Karriere begann 2001 im Kartsport, 2014 trat er in der GP2-Serie an, von 2014 bis 2020 in der FIA-Formel-E-Meisterschaft. Mit dem Ablauf der Rennsaison 2020 gab er seinen Rücktritt als Fahrer bekannt. In diesem Jahr begleitet Daniel Abt die DTM als CUPRA Markenbotschafter und liefert unter anderem Hintergrundinfos zu allen Rennen.

Wie wichtig ist Ihnen Mut? Im Leben wie auf der Rennstrecke?
Ziele treiben einen an. Mut bringt einen dazu, sie zu verwirklichen. Daher gehört Mut für mich zum Leben dazu, wenn man etwas erreichen will.

Was war die letzte große Herausforderung, der Sie sich stellen mussten?
Meine letzte große Aufgabe war es, nach dem Beenden meiner aktiven Rennfahrerkarriere mein Leben neu auszurichten. Wenn man zwanzig Jahre Motorsport betrieben hat, ist das eine enorme Herausforderung.

Sie begleiten die DTM als Markenbotschafter für CUPRA. Was können Sie uns über den Formentor VZ5 mit dem Upgrade der ABT Sportsline GmbH erzählen?
Der Formentor ist eine Erfolgsgeschichte und hat im VZ5 auch noch einen meiner Lieblingsmotoren bekommen. Für die DTM mussten wir das Auto natürlich noch etwas modifizieren, um auch der Aufgabe als Safety Car gerecht zu werden. Darum wurden ein Funksystem, Lichter, ein Power-Upgrade und ein steiferes Fahrwerk installiert.

Sie selbst sind das Auto ja auch schon gefahren, wie war Ihr Eindruck?
Ich fuhr das Auto schon mehrfach auf der Rennstrecke und war jedes Mal wieder erstaunt, wie ein Auto dieser Klasse und mit einem solch großen Alltagsnutzen trotzdem eine derartige Performance abliefern kann.

»Menschen suchen immer nach einem Adrenalinkick, und der wird durch Beschleunigung ausgelöst, mehr noch als durch pure Geschwindigkeit. Und dieser Kick löst in den meisten Glücksgefühle aus.«

Daniel Abt

Was ist für Sie eine zeitgemäße Definition von Fahrspaß und Performance?
Die Automobilbranche befindet sich in einem großen Wandel, auch wegen der Aufgaben unserer heutigen Zeit. Darum verändern sich gerade Antriebsformen und das Auto an sich. Meine Definition ändert sich dadurch aber nicht. Für mich definieren sich Fahrspaß und Performance über Beschleunigung, Kurvengeschwindigkeit und Bremsvermögen. Die Antriebsart spielt da eine zweitrangige Rolle, und ich finde es sehr spannend, neue Möglichkeiten in der Technologie zu entdecken.

Können Sie sich an den ersten Moment in Ihrem Leben erinnern, der etwas mit Autorennen zu tun hatte? Wann war Ihnen klar: Das ist es?
Der erste Moment war wahrscheinlich mit drei Jahren, als ich das erste Mal mit auf dem Rennplatz war. Die Bedeutung für mich habe ich aber erst deutlich später erkannt. Als ich mit 15 ein Formel 4-Fahrzeug auf dem Lausitzring bewegen durfte, war ich so geflasht, dass ich damit unbedingt Karriere machen wollte.

Warum ist der Mensch fasziniert von Geschwindigkeit und Beschleunigung, was meinen Sie?
Menschen suchen immer nach einem Adrenalinkick, und der wird durch Beschleunigung ausgelöst, mehr noch als durch pure Geschwindigkeit. Und dieser Kick löst in den meisten Glücksgefühle aus.

Wird das so bleiben?
Ja. Wer sagt denn Nein zu Glücksgefühlen? (lacht)

Der Formentor VZ5 ist die rennsportlich inspirierte Synthese aus SUV und Sportcoupé, gebaut für die schönste aller Leidenschaften. Angetrieben wird das Topmodell von einem sportlichen Reihenfünfzylinder. Das Design überzeugt durch funktionale Ästhetik, zum Beispiel mit vergrößertem Frontsplitter, der bei sportlicher Fahrweise mehr Kühlung erlaubt. CUPRA Formentor VZ5 2.5 TSI 287 kW (390 PS) DSG (Kraftstoffverbrauch Benzin, innerorts 12,3 l/100 km; außerorts 7,5 l/100 km; kombiniert: 9,3 l/100 km; CO₂-Emissionen, kombiniert: 212 g/km; CO₂-Effizienzklasse: F) Das auf den Bildern gezeigte DTM Safety Car mit Upgrade der ABT Sportsline GmbH verfügt über 450 PS (331 kW) und fährt 270 km/h Topspeed. Das maximale Drehmoment stieg um 50 auf 530 Nm. Für den Sprint auf 100 km/h braucht das Fahrzeug 3,9 Sekunden.

Welche Chancen und Risiken bringt der aktuelle Wandel der Mobilität Ihrer Meinung nach mit sich?
Die große Chance ist, das Thema Mobilität in die Zukunft zu führen und Antriebe und Mobilitätsformen zu entwickeln, die der nächsten Generation ein besseres Leben ermöglichen. Das geschieht ja bereits, aber es gibt noch viele Herausforderungen, um einen wirklichen Wandel zu vollziehen. Das Risiko besteht darin, dass das Auto den Glanz und die Faszination verliert und wir in Zukunft nicht mehr über Fahrverhalten, sondern nur noch über Software sprechen.

Und wo sehen Sie die Zukunft des Rennsports?
Der Motorsport ist wie die Automobilbranche. Nur wer bereit ist, sich auf wandelnde Gegebenheiten einzustellen, kann bestehen. Es gibt viele Rennserien, die das verschlafen haben und die verschwinden werden. Aber genauso werden neue Formen des Sports entstehen. Die wichtigste Aufgabe aber ist, die junge Generation davon zu überzeugen, dass es spannender ist, ein Rennen zu sehen als sich das nächste TikTok-Video anzuschauen.

Letzte Frage: Was lernen Sie zurzeit, was Sie vorher noch nicht konnten?
Ich mache gerade einen Flugschein. Das erweitert im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes meinen Horizont.






CUPRA Formentor VZ5
Motor: Reihenfünfzylinder-Turbomotor
Hubraum: 2.480 ccm
Leistung: 390 PS (287 kW) bei 5.700–7.000  U/min
Drehmoment: 480 Nm bei 2.250–5.700 U/min
0–100 km/h: ca. 4,2 s
Vmax: 250 km/h


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp zu Gast bei STARTCOLLECTIONS

Am Samstag, den 3. Dezember 2022 öffnet im Dorotheenquartier für einen Tag die Pop-Up-Galerie von STARTCOLLECTIONS – ramp ist zu Gast und stellt mehrere Bilder zur Verfügung. Alle Infos rund um das Event? Lesen Sie hier.

Future in Motion

Eine Fotografin. Ein Designer. Ein Auto, das die Zukunft mit der Vergangenheit verbindet. Klingt wie Science Fiction, ist es aber nicht. Ein Gespräch mit der Star-Modefotografin Esther Haase und Eduardo Ramírez, Head of Exterior Design im Hyundai Design Center Europe, über Nachhaltigkeit, das Gefühl, zu Hause zu sein und wirklich fortschrittliche Technologie.

Lamborghini Huracán Sterrato: der Rock-Star auf der Art Basel Miami

Im Rahmen der renommierten Kunst- & Designmesse »Art Basel« in Miami hat Lamborghini den Offroad-Supersportler »Huracán Sterrato« vorgestellt. Mit bewährtem V10-Motor und bekanntem Allradantrieb, aber vor allem mehr Bodenfreiheit – und ja, auch einer Dachreling. Wir schauen uns die wichtigsten Features an.

Car Wash: Audi-Chefdesigner Marc Lichte im Gespräch mit Michael Köckritz

Als Marc Lichte im Teenager-Alter den legendären Audi Sport quattro sah, war es um ihn geschehen. Gewaschen wird heute aber der von ihm entworfene Audi e-tron GT, währenddessen es im Gespräch unter anderem um den Audi der Zukunft geht. Und um die Schwierigkeit, Autoscheiben richtig sauber zu bekommen.