Heart of Glass

By now most of us know the importance of good interior design for our personal happiness. So let’s take a closer look at the apartment of designer Brian Atwood.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Photo Tim Williams

A little tip before we get started: If you have a penchant for hedonism and home decor, check out the biographical miniseries Halston on Netflix based on the life of the fashion designer of the same name. Haven’t got the time or don’t feel like streaming anymore? Then check out this spacious apartment in New York. It’s found in the new Hudson Yards mega-development on the West Side of Midtown Manhattan consisting of fifteen new skyscrapers. “This new apartment just felt like a ‘grownup’ apartment,” says Brian Atwood, who had previously lived in SoHo and Milan with his husband and their two dogs. A “glass box in the sky” is what he calls his 64th-floor abode, filled with a vast collection of fashion photographs, vintage furniture and sculptural art.

The shoe designer readily admits that he likes to hoard beautiful things, describing himself as a “high-class hoarder”. Which is clear to see: The living room features a Karen Pearse sideboard with Tom Dixon tea set and a pair of tentacle candle holders on it that the two found on vacation in Capri. Another keepsake here is a tray of Polaroids the couple has taken of guests over the years.

Brian Atwood was born in Chicago and studied art and architecture at Southern Illinois University and fashion design at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York. After graduating, he first worked as a model before being hired as a designer by Gianni Versace, later becoming chief designer of women’s accessories. Atwood launched his own brand in 2001.

Atwood readily admits that most meals are eaten in the kitchen and not at the vintage dining room table, which is stacked full of books. Though if you look closely, you’ll also discover some vintage plates here from Versace, where Atwood once worked as head of accessories.

The folding chair was commissioned by the artist Sarah Coleman, who combines vintage luxury goods with everyday items in an unusual way, as Atwood explains. The brass lamp, on the other hand, dates back to the 1970s, while the sculpture by Chinese artist Li Hongbo is made from around seven to eight thousand layers of paper – all by hand, of course.

We don’t necessarily want to imagine having to work here, but we could see ourselves standing at the window for an hour watching the sun disappear into the Hudson.

mehr aus dieser ausgabe


ramp shop


Latest articles

Kink Bar & Restaurant

The name is short, but your visit should be long. Because the Kink offers pretty much everything that makes Berlin a special place for culinary connoisseurs and aficionados of good style.

The King of Cool and his tool

How to stay sane during crazy times? Keep cool! To prove our point, a quick fast-paced trip back to the sixties and seventies. We even found the right time machine for the job. Possible risks and side effects? California Dreamin’!

Space Exploration Day: we explore the ramp universe

Fifty-two years ago today, Apollo 11 landed on the moon making Neil Armstrong the first man to set foot on Earth's satellite. That's exactly what »National Space Exploration Day» is all about in the USA. We are excited to join in and celebrate. Exploring our own little universe in a good mood, including ambitious »moonshots«.

Time for Russian Disco: Wladimir Kaminer turns 54!

Wladimir Kaminer discovered the car for himself late in life. More precisely: with ramp. After six stories, the bestselling author had his driver's licence, and after 53 editions, he added his own ramp podcast. And now? Wladimir is 54 years old! On his birthday, we look back at his best ramp moments.

Heart of Glass

Welche Relevanz eine vernünftige Wohnungseinrichtung für das persönliche Glück hat, wissen wir inzwischen sehr genau. Werfen wir also direkt einen Blick in das Appartment von Designer Brian Atwood.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Bild Tim Williams

Ein Tipp gleich zu Beginn: Wenn Sie sich für Hedonismus und Wohnkultur interessieren, sollten Sie sich die Serie »Halston« über den gleichnamigen Modedesigner auf Netflix ansehen. Keine Zeit oder keine Lust mehr auf Streaming? Dann schauen Sie sich doch einfach dieses luftige Appartment in New York an. Das findet sich in dem neuen Viertel Hudson Yards im Westen von Manhattan, der Stadtteil besteht aus insgesamt 15 Wolkenkratzern, die neu hochgezogen wurden. »Das Appartment fühlte sich erwachsen an«, sagt Brian Atwood, der zuvor mit Mann und zwei Hunden in SoHo und Mailand gelebt hatte. Einen »Glaskasten im Himmel« nennt er seine Behausung im 64. Stock, in der man eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Modefotos, Vintage-Möbeln und skulpturaler Kunst entdecken kann.

Dass der Schuh-Designer gern schöne Dinge hortet, gibt er gerne zu. Als »high-class hoarder« bezeichnet er sich selber. Was man sieht: Im Wohnzimmer steht ein Sideboard von Karen Pearse, darauf ein Teeservice von Tom Dixon, die zwei Kerzenleuchter mit Sepia-Beinen haben die beiden im Urlaub auf Capri gefunden. Noch mehr Andenken stapeln sich in dem Tablett: Es sind Polaroids von Gästen, die im Laufe der Jahre gemacht wurden.

Brian Atwood wurde in Chicago geboren und studierte Kunst und Architektur an der Southern Illinois University und Modedesign am Fashion Institute of Technology in New York, NY. Nach seinem Studium arbeitete er als Model, wurde von Gianni Versace entdeckt. Dort war Atwood Chefdesigner für Accessoires, seine eigene Marke gründete er 2001.

Ehrlicherweise gibt Atwood zu, dass meistens in der Küche gegessen wird und nicht an dem Vintage­-Tisch, auf dem sich Bücher stapeln. Wer genau hinsieht, wird aber Teller von Versace entdecken, Atwood arbeitete im dortigen Traditionshaus einmal als Chef der Accessoire-Linie.

Der Klappstuhl wiederum stammt von der gerade schwer angesagten Künstlerin Sarah Coleman, die auf ungewöhnliche Art Vintage-Luxusgüter mit Alltagsgegenständen verbindet, wie Atwood erklärt. Die Messinglampe stammt wiederum aus den 1970er-Jahren, die Skulptur vom chinesischen Künstler Li Hongbo – sie ist übrigens aus etwa 7.000 bis 8.000 Lagen Papier geformt. Per Hand, versteht sich.

Die Arbeit will man sich nicht unbedingt vorstellen, wohl aber, hier mal für eine Stunde am Fenster zu stehen. Denn dann kann man beobachten, wie die Sonne im Hudson versinkt.


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Berlin: Kink Bar & Restaurant

Der Name ist kurz, der Besuch hingegen sollte länger ausfallen. Denn das Kink bietet auf über 600 Quadratmetern so ziemlich alles, was Berlin für Gourmets und Freunde des guten Stils so besonders macht.

Solar Crown: das Tool des King of Cool

Was in eher wilden Zeiten zählt? Coolness! Zur Beweisführung beschleunigen wir kurz mal zurück in die 60er- und 70er-Jahre. Eine muntere Zeitmaschine hatten wir dafür auch rasch ausgemacht. Die Risiken und Nebenwirkungen? California Dreamin’!

Space Exploration Day: Wir erkunden das ramp Universum!

Heute vor 52 landete Apollo 11 auf dem Mond und Neil Armstrong betrat als erster Mensch den Erdtrabanten. Genau das feiert der »National Space Exploration Day« in den USA. Da schließen wir uns gerne an und feiern mit. Und erkunden gut gelaunt unser eigenes kleines Universum, ambitionierte »Moonshots« inklusive.

Zeit für Russendisko: Wladimir Kaminer wird 54!

Das Auto hat Wladimir Kaminer erst spät für sich entdeckt. Genau genommen: mit ramp. Nach sechs Geschichten hatte der Bestseller-Autor dann seinen Führerschein, nach 53 Ausgaben kam der eigene ramp Podcast hinzu. Und jetzt? Wird Wladimir 54 Jahre alt! Zu seinem Geburtstag blicken wir auf seine besten ramp Momente zurück.