It’s in the Mix

In music, a mashup is a song created by blending together two or more previously recorded songs. In photography, you could explain the term using the works of Paul Fuentes. The artist is a master at rearranging the world.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Bild Paul Fuentes

You decorate giraffes with balloons, put lamas in taxi cabs and celebrate doughnuts in the desert. We have to ask: How do you define reality?
(laughs) Well, I think that’s up to everyone to decide for themselves. I really don’t believe that we all live in the same reality. People have different perceptions. People identify with different animals depending on their personality – that’s a huge opportunity for artists.

You didn’t start with animals, but with food. How did you come up with that idea?
It’s hard to say where that came from. I have a certain love for food advertising. Often it isn’t food at all, and that drove me crazy at the time. So I decided to do the same but with a different approach.

Downey. The oldest operating McDonald’s restaurant is a drive-up hamburger stand on Lakewood Boulevard in Downey. For me, happiness is going to have a hamburger in the middle of the night. This is one of the most precious memories I had with my dad.

Would you say that your bizarre combinations are a perfect example of creativity?
To me, creativity is about combining expected ideas in a way that results in something new and interesting. So I agree that in some sense my art distorts reality, which is pretty close to the definition of bizarre.

You once said, “The vibrant shades of pastel I use in my artworks are direct references to Mexico.” Would you describe your art as Mexican pop art?
I don’t think of my art as particularly Mexican. I am definitely inspired by my country’s architecture, food and art because they tend to be fun and colorful. I think of pop art as art that was made for the broad public. So the narrow label of Mexican doesn’t seem appropriate to me.

Your all-time favorite artist is Caravaggio, an early Baroque painter. Why him of all artists?
As a still life photographer, I paint with light. When you look at Caravaggio’s paintings, you see that he had a special gift for using light and shadow in a perfect way. He created a kind of drama with light, which I find very interesting. What is more, not all of his paintings are religious. He went down a different road, which I believe was not easy to do at that time. Back then, artists painted religion or royalty; that was it. I really admire that aspect of his work.

How do you see the role of the artist in today’s increasingly digital world?
To me, there are both upsides and downsides to digitization. There are a lot of artists who are doing wonderful work and taking their feed to a very professional level. In doing so, they are doing the most important thing, which is to naturally evolve with the changing environment. Sadly, I also see a lot of people who want to be artists but who have no message apart from craving social media attention. They are constantly adapting in order to stay trendy. And people tend to forget that you also have to master the techniques. Everyone has a camera on their smartphones today and can easily copy a style and use presets and filters and so on. My career would surely not have taken off so quickly without Instagram. I honestly have to say that Instagram is the biggest door an artist can ask for.

»The comedic element has never so central to art as it is today. It’s a good time to laugh, especially because the world is such a crazy place.«

One last question: You said that you like to make people laugh. Is humor particularly important these days?
I do try to make people laugh but what I am really after is to make them happy. I believe we are living in an age that requires humor. The comedic element has never so central to art as it is today. It’s a good time to laugh, especially because the world is such a crazy place.



To call Paul Fuentes a photographer and graphic designer is far too narrow a description. Fuentes grew up in Mexico City. After completing his studies, he worked as a designer for the Universidad Anáhuac México, traveled to Europe, came back and got started with new ideas on Instagram. His surreal images of food, animals and simple objects made him famous – so famous that he set up his own design agency in London and has landed assignments for Apple and Dior, among others. His aim in life: to make people laugh.


Latest posts

"The richest man in Ireland is the one with the best sense of humor."

If you have a sense of humor, you have to be spontaneous. Right? Not necessarily. The evidence to the contrary is provided by photographer Tony Kelly. With his pictures, but also in an interview. And speaking of evidence: We're happy to show why Ramp and the native-born Irishman have been working together for 10 years. And also the cover of the english edition, which is a true Tony Kelly. Quite spontaneously.

Best Corporate Book: RE/CAP has won GOLD at the BCM Award 2020

With "Crazy About Porsche", we boldly redefined the topic of the Community Platform almost a year ago and from then on brought it to the world in a very lively way. Shortly afterwards, the best stories from "Crazy About Porsche" were available for browsing. As a 448-page coffee table bookazine, an unconventional mix of book and magazine. Now it has won GOLD at the BCM Award 2020 straight away! As the best Corporate Book 2020.

Have Your Cake and Eat It Too

If you see the Porsche 911 Turbo as an indicator to gauge societal progress over the past forty-five years, you get a surprisingly good picture of reality. In other words, here is the story of how a whale-tailed ruffian became a socially acceptable overachiever with 650 hp.

Just a music guy: Lenny Kravitz

A townhouse on a secluded side street in the 16th arrondissement of Paris. It’s been fourteen years since Lenny Kravitz found this villa, and anyone looking around the place will immediately grasp the importance that style, aesthetics and design have for him. Our meeting also is a rare opportunity to meet Lenny Kravitz up close and candid, to discover the person behind the stage persona. And that was exactly what we set out to do.

It’s in the Mix

In der Musik steht der Begriff »Mashup« für Songs, die aus mehreren zusammengemischt wurden. In der Fotografie könnte man den Begriff anhand der Bilder von Paul Fuentes erklären – der die Welt auch ein bisschen anders arrangiert.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Bild Paul Fuentes

Sie schmücken Giraffen mit Luftballons, lassen Lamas Taxi fahren und inszenieren Donuts in der Wüste. Mal vorsichtig gefragt: Was bedeutet Realität für Sie?
(lacht) Ich denke, dass das jeder selbst entscheiden muss, wir leben jedoch sicher nicht alle in derselben Realität. Menschen haben verschiedene Wahrnehmungen. Zudem identifizieren sich Menschen je nach Persönlichkeit mit verschiedenen Tieren, was der Kunst große Möglichkeiten eröffnet.

Sie fingen aber nicht mit Tieren an, sondern mit Lebensmitteln. Wie kamen Sie auf die Idee?
Ich kann nicht genau sagen, woher die kam. Grundsätzlich interessierte ich mich aber schon immer für Lebensmittelwerbung. Meistens ist das beworbene Essen gar kein Essen, und das machte mich damals verrückt. Ich beschloss also, dasselbe aus einem neuen Blickwinkel zu betrachten.

Downey. Das älteste McDonald's-Restaurant ist ein Drive-up-Hamburger-Stand auf dem Lakewood Boulevard in Downey. Für mich ist wahres Glück, mitten in der Nacht einen Hamburger zu essen. Das ist eine der wertvollsten Erinnerungen, die ich mit meinem Vater habe.

Würden Sie sagen, dass Ihre bizarren Kombinationen ein Musterbeispiel für Kreativität sind?
Für mich ist Kreativität die Verbindung erwartbarer Ideen auf eine Weise, die etwas Neues und Interessantes schafft. Ich stimme also zu, dass meine Kunst in gewisser Weise die Realität verzerrt, was der Definition von bizarr durchaus entspricht.

Sie haben einmal gesagt: »Die leuchtenden Pastellfarben in meinen Werken sind eine direkte Referenz zu Mexiko.« Würden Sie Ihre Kunst als mexikanische PopArt bezeichnen?
Ich empfinde meine Kunst nicht als besonders mexikanisch. Ich bin jedoch sicherlich von der Architektur, dem Essen und der Kunst meines Landes inspiriert, weil diese humorvoll und bunt sind. PopArt ist meiner Meinung nach Kunst, die sich an die breite Masse richtet. Die Einschränkung auf »mexikanisch« erscheint mir deshalb unpassend.

Was man jetzt nicht vermutet hätte: Ihr Lieblingskünstler ist Caravaggio. Warum gerade ein Maler des Frühbarocks?
Als Stilllebenfotograf male ich mit Licht. Wenn man Caravaggios Bilder betrachtet, erkennt man sein herausragendes Talent, Licht und Schatten perfekt einzusetzen. Darüber hinaus sind seine Bilder nicht rein religiös. Er ging hier andere Wege, was für Künstler seiner Zeit alles andere als einfach war. Damals malte man Religion oder die Aristokratie. Diesen Aspekt seiner Malerei schätze ich sehr.

Wie sehen Sie die Rolle des Künstlers in der heutigen Zeit, in der die Digitalisierung immer rasanter voranschreitet?
Für mich hat die Digitalisierung positive und negative Seiten. Es gibt viele Künstler, die großartige Werke schaffen und einen sehr professionellen Feed gestalten. Sie erfüllen damit die wichtigste Voraussetzung, nämlich sich mit den auftretenden Veränderungen weiterzuentwickeln. Leider sehe ich auch viele Menschen, die Künstler sein wollen, außer ihrem Streben nach Aufmerksamkeit in den sozialen Medien jedoch keinerlei Botschaft haben. Sie passen sich laufend an, um im Trend zu bleiben. Und es gerät immer mehr in Vergessenheit, dass man die Technik beherrschen muss. Jeder hat heute eine Kamera auf seinem Smartphone und kann einfach einen Stil kopieren, Voreinstellungen und Filter nutzen. Meine Karriere wäre ohne Instagram sicher langsamer verlaufen – und man muss ganz offen sagen, dass Instagram Künstlern unglaubliche Chancen eröffnet.

»Die Kunst war noch nie so voller komischer Elemente wie heute. Es ist eine gute Zeit zu lachen, besonders wenn die Welt so verrückt ist.«

Letzte Frage: Sie sagten, dass Sie Menschen gerne zum Lachen bringen. Halten Sie Humor aktuell für wichtiger denn je?
Ich versuche tatsächlich, Menschen zum Lachen zu bringen, aber eigentlich möchte ich sie glücklich machen. Und ich denke auch, dass wir in einem Zeitalter des Humors leben. Die Kunst war noch nie so voller komischer Elemente wie heute. Es ist eine gute Zeit zu lachen, besonders wenn die Welt so verrückt ist.



Paul Fuentes nur als Fotograf und Grafikdesigner zu bezeichnen, wäre zu kurz gegriffen. Fuentes wuchs in Mexiko-Stadt auf, arbeitete nach seinem Studium als Designer für die Universidad Anáhuac México, reiste nach Europa, kam zurück und startete mit neuen Ideen auf Instagram. Seine surrealen Bilder von Lebensmitteln, Tieren und Objekten machten ihn berühmt – so berühmt, dass er in London eine eigene Designagentur gründete und unter anderem für Apple oder Dior arbeitete. Sein Credo: die Menschen zum Lachen zu bringen


Letzte Beiträge

Streetstyle

Skateboarder sehen die Welt mit anderen Augen: Sie muss sich in erster Linie befahren lassen. Der französische Fotograf Fred Mortagne alias French Fred hat dieses Lebensgefühl eingefangen.

Mehr ist mehr: Mletzko Marrakesch

Der Stoff, aus dem Dirk Lührmanns Porsche-Träume geprägt sind, kommt im Fall des »Marrakesch« in orientalischer Üppigkeit daher. Aber auch sonst sind die puristisch angelegten, von »Mletzko« in Osnabrück gefertigten Elfer-Umbauten alles andere als alltäglich. Und das nicht nur optisch.

»Der reichste Mann in Irland ist der mit dem besten Humor«

Wer Humor hat, muss auch immer spontan sein. Stimmt? Nicht unbedingt. Den Gegenbeweis liefert hier Fotograf Tony Kelly. Mit seinen Bildern, aber auch im Interview. Und wo wir gerade bei Belegen sind: Warum es inzwischen schon ganze 10 Jahre Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ramp und dem gebürtgen Iren sind, zeigen wir natürlich gerne. Und auch das Cover der englischen Ausgabe, das ein echter Tony Kelly ist. Ganz spontan.

Best Corporate Book: RE/CAP gewinnt auf Anhieb Gold

Mit »Crazy About Porsche« haben wir gemeinsam mit Porsche das Thema Community Plattform vor knapp einem Jahr einmal mutig frischer definiert und fortan sehr lebendig in die Welt gebracht. Schon kurz darauf gab es die besten Geschichten von »Crazy About Porsche« auch zum Blättern. Als 448 Seiten starkes Coffeetable-Bookazine. Jetzt hat es beim BCM Award 2020 auf Anhieb GOLD gewonnen! Als das beste Corporate Book 2020.