Loads of Dolce Vita: The ramp book charts

The summer holidays are just over, but you still don't want to give up the easy life in Italy? Help is at hand. And in large and weighty book portions. But there are also road trip tips for the USA, as well as screen legends and a motorsport icon.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Photo Presse

E-Type on Waves

Yacht builder Riva is celebrating two anniversaries this year. One: The original boatyard at Lake Iseo was founded by Pietro Riva in 1842. Two: The Riva Aquarama developed by Carlo Riva was launched in 1962. Complicit in the boat’s success was Fiat boss Gianni Agnelli: When Riva was testing the prototype in Monaco, Agnelli asked if he could drive it. He did – and the sleek mahogany speedboat soon became the epitome of La Dolce Vita.

Sean Connery owned one, as did famous playboy Gunter Sachs, the third husband of Brigitte Bardot. About 650 of the 760 boats that were built still exist today. You can imagine the prices. An homage in paper form is a bit more affordable, though you will still have to make an effort to acquire one – the book is very much in demand.


Michael Verdon: Riva Aquarama. Assouline. €920.00




What a Way to Go!

“You know a man finally by what he does, not by what he says or how blue his eyes are,” director Martin Ritt once said. He was speaking about actor Paul Newman. Some facts about Paul Newman that you may not have known: Born in 1925 in Shaker Heights, Ohio, he served as a turret gunner in an Avenger torpedo bomber during World War II and was the sole survivor of his unit. Upon his return from the war, he dutifully continued working at his father’s sporting goods store until the latter’s death in 1950. Newman became a superstar at the age of thirty-eight, was nominated for an Academy Award ten times, but won (apart from an Oscar for his life’s work) only once – for his performance in The Color of Money.

Terry O'Neill / Iconic Images

And then there was his salad dressing, with which he launched his food empire Newman’s Own. Most people do know that he had a somewhat successful racing career. He himself once said that racing was a good way to escape all the garbage in Hollywood. HBO recently aired a six-part documentary about Newman and Joanne Woodward, his wife of fifty years. And then there’s this wonderful book with previously unpublished photographs of the actor. In other words, there are plenty of opportunities to rediscover this truly extraordinary man.

James Clarke: Paul Newman:
Blue-Eyed Cool. ACC Art Books.
€52.25






More about a Legend

You would think there was nothing left to say about the Ford GT40. The car has been put through the pop culture mill countless times and every secret has been revealed. But then there’s this new book of thirty-two stories with new insights into this fascinating car: its design and development, racing tales and rivals, the Scuderia Filipinetti team that entered the car at Le Mans in 1965, the name controversy of 2005, the undocumented engine swap. You never stop learning. That’s a good thing.

John Allen & Colin Endeacott: Ford GT40 Anthology: A Unique Compilation of Stories About these Most Iconic Cars. Veloce. €57.00

East of Eden

“Thus I discovered that I did not know my own country,” John Steinbeck wrote in Travels with Charley: In Search of America. In the fall of 1960, the author, eighty-five years old at the time, started on a road trip through America in a pick-up truck he had named Rocinante, after Don Quixote’s horse, fitted with a custom camper-shell for the journey. We recommend picking up this still very relevant work, which is more social criticism than travel novel, as well as the illustrated book The Great American Road Trip – and then hit the road.

gestalten, Aether & Laura Austin:
The Great American Road Trip: Roam the Roads From Coast to Coast. gestalten.
€45.00


ramp shop


Latest articles

Mission RAL 2005: Lotus Elise Cup 250 Final Edition

Chris Hrabalek is the proud owner of the last Lotus Elise Cup 250 Final Edition ever built – complete with custom paint job and vanity plates. And he’s on a mission...

Massive Talent: Being Nicolas Cage

Ever since Being John Malkovich, we’ve known just how hilarious films can be in which actors play themselves. Now there’s The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent, in which Nicolas Cage plays a fictionalized version of himself as a washed-up actor.

Hot Wheels: Playfulness & Drive

A set of hot wheels like this will immediately get children in the mood to play. And plenty of adults as well. It’s just a matter of scale. Which only leaves the question of how to measure all the fun we’re having.

Homo Ludens: Some thoughts about man and the play element

Life is improvisation and risk. What counts is the art of making the best of everything. You can train the skills to do this. The joy of play is an essential facet here. Some thoughts about man and the play element. By Michael Köckritz.

Kiloweise Dolce Vita: Die ramp Buchcharts

Die Sommerferien sind gerade vorbei, sie wollen aber trotzdem nicht vom leichten Leben in Italien ablassen? Hilfe naht. Und zwar in großen und gewichtigen Buch-Portionen. Roadtrip-Tipps für die USA gibt es aber auch, genauso wie Leinwandlegenden und eine Motorsportikone.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Bild Presse

E-Type auf Wellen

Feiern wir gleich doppelt Geburtstag: 1842 wurde in Sarnico am Iseosee die Bootswerft Riva gegründet, 1962 kam das von Carlo Riva entwickelte Modell Aquarama auf den Markt. Mitschuld am Erfolg war Gianni Agnelli:Als Riva den Prototypen in Monaco testete, fragte der Fiat-Boss, ob er das Boot fahren dürfe, drehte seine Runden – und damit wurde der schlanke Mahagoni-Flitzer zum Inbegriff des Dolce Vita.

Credit: Oliver Pilcher

Sean Connery besaß ein Boot, Gunter Sachs sowieso. Heute existieren noch etwa 650 der 760 gebauten Boote. Die Preise können Sie sich vorstellen. Die Hommage in Papierform ist eine Idee günstiger, trotzdem müssen Sie sich darum bemühen, weil es sehr, sehr gefragt ist.


Michael Verdon: Riva Aquarama. Assouline. 920 Euro




What a Way to Go!

»Am Ende erkennt man einen Mann daran, was er tut. Nicht daran, was er sagt oder wie blau seine Augen sind.« Der Satz stammt vom Regisseur Martin Ritt, der mehrere Filme mit Paul Newman drehte. Ein paar Fakten, die man vielleicht noch nicht kennt: 1925 wurde Newman in Shaker Heights, Ohio, geboren, er kehrte im zweiten Weltkrieg als einziger Überlebender seines Geschwaders wieder zurück und führte pflichtschuldig bis zum Tod des Vaters 1950 dessen Sportgeschäft weiter. Zum Superstar wurde er mit 38 Jahren, zehn Mal war er für den Oscar nominiert, bekam ihn aber erst – abgesehen von dem für sein Lebenswerk – für »Die Farbe des Geldes«.

Terry O'Neill / Iconic Images

Tja, und dann war da noch seine Salatsoße, die er in das Lebensmittel-Imperium Newman’s Own verwandelte. Dass er erfolgreich Rennen fuhr, wissen wiederum die meisten. »Rennfahren ist die beste Art, die ich kenne, all dem Müll in Hollywood zu entkommen«, erklärte er mal. Nun ist nicht nur ein Bildband mit noch unbekannten Fotos von ihm erschienen, gerade lief auch auf HBOMax eine sechsteilige Dokumentation über Newman und Joanne Woodward, mit der er fünfzig Jahre verheiratet war, Regie führte Ethan Hawke. Sprich, es gibt genug Gelegenheiten, diesen außergewöhnlichen Mann noch einmal neu zu entdecken.

James Clarke: Paul Newman:
Blue-Eyed Cool. ACC Art Books.
52,25 Euro






Neues von der Legende

Man meint, es gäbe über den Ford GT40 nichts mehr zu sagen, das Auto wurde popkulturell x-mal durch den Wolf gedreht und jedes Geheimnis gelüftet. Wenn es da nicht dieses neue Buch gäbe, in dem sich 32 Geschichten nochmal jedem Detail widmen: dem Design und der Entwicklung des Wagens, den Renngeschichten und Gegnern, dem Team der Scuderia Filipinetti, welches das Auto 1965 in Le Mans einsetzte, der Namenskontroverse von 2005 oder dem nicht aufgezeichneten Motortausch. Man lernt doch nie aus. Gut so.

John Allen & Colin Endeacott: Ford GT40 Anthology: A Unique Compilation of Stories About these Most Iconic Cars. Veloce. 57 Euro<

Jenseits von Eden

»So entdeckte ich eines Tages, dass ich mein eigenes Land nicht mehr kannte«, schrieb John Steinbeck in »Die Reise mit Charley: Auf der Suche nach Amerika«. Im Herbst 1960 startete der damals 58-jährige Schriftsteller eine Amerika-Rundreise mit einem eigens angefertigten Camper namens Rocinante, benannt nach Don Quijotes Pferd. Unser Rat: Schnappen Sie sich das nach wie vor brandaktuelle Buch, das mehr Gesellschaftskritik denn Reiseroman ist,dazu den Bildband »The Great American Road Trip«, und fahren Sie los.

gestalten, Aether & Laura Austin:
The Great American Road Trip: Roam the Roads From Coast to Coast. gestalten.
45 Euro


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Mission RAL 2005: Lotus Elise Cup 250 Final Edition

Chris Hrabalek hat sich die letzte gebaute Lotus Elise Cup 250 Final Edition gesichert, samt Spezialfarbe und Sonderkennzeichen. Damit ist er jetzt unterwegs – mit einem ganz eigenen Auftrag.

Massive Talent: Nicolas Cage is Nick Cage

Wie komisch es sein kann, wenn Schauspieler sich selbst darstellen, wissen wir seit »Being John Malkovich«, nun gibt es einen neuen Film: In »Massive Talent« spielt Nicolas Cage sich selbst als abgehalfterten Schauspieler. Dieses wunderbar ironische Spiel mit dem eigenen Image hat uns dann neugierig gemacht.

Ferrari Daytona SP3: Spieltrieb & Antrieb

So ein Hot Wheel bringt Kinder sofort in Spiellaune. Nicht selten auch Erwachsene. Alles manchmal nur eine Frage des Maßstabs. Bleibt die Frage, welche Maßstäbe man hier anlegen darf.

Homo Ludens: eine gedankliche Annäherung an den Menschen und das Spiel

Leben heißt Improvisation und Risiko. Es zählt die Kunst, aus allem das Beste zu machen. Die Fähigkeiten dazu kann man trainieren. Die Freude am Spiel ist hier eine wesentliche Facette. Eine gedankliche Annäherung an den Menschen und das Spiel. Von Michael Köckritz.