Lamborghini Huracan Sterrato: the rock star at Art Basel Miami

At the renowned »Art Basel« art and design fair in Miami, Lamborghini unveiled the »Huracán Sterrato« off-road super sports car. With a proven V10 engine and familiar all-wheel drive, but above all more ground clearance - and yes, roof rails too. We take a look at the most important features.
Text Alfred Rzyski
Photo Lamborghini

The powertrain

The »Sterrato« was unveiled at the »Art Basel« in Miami - and its powertrain is still true performance art. For the off-road Huracán, the engineers from Sant'Agata Bolognese relied as before on the naturally aspirated V10 engine, which drives all four wheels. Compared to its asphalt brothers »Evo,« »Tecnica« and »STO,« however, the »Sterrato« loses 30 hp and produces »only« 610 hp and 560 Nm of torque. Which is still more than enough, however - and is likely primarily due to the dust & sand filters that protect the engine.

The off-road capabilities

Lamborghini has set itself high goals for its first off-road supersport coupe - and has also raised the »Huracán Sterrato's« ground clearance accordingly. They added another 44 millimeters to the usual 132 millimeters of the Evo, which in the end makes almost 18 centimeters of ground clearance. The specially developed Bridgestone Dueler tires are mounted on the 19-inch rims; they not only have a special hybrid tread for combined road and off-road use, but also run-flat technology just in case. Driving modes can be switched to »RALLY« for the first time, and underbody protection complements the reinforced sills and wheel arches. And the classic air intake on the rear hood? Serves to supply clean air on dusty tracks, of course. But these can be driven on at speeds of up to 260 kilometers per hour.

The design

»The Sterrato is proof that Lamborghini's design DNA works perfectly even with unexpected proportions,« says Mitja Borkert, Head of Design at Lamborghini. »The design translates the supercar genes of the 'Sterrato' into a new way of being and underlines its intention to offer a truly unique and entertaining driving experience.« Do we have anything to add? Perhaps just this: We would never have thought of roof rails on a Huracán. And that it could also look so good? We would never have thought that either.

The individualization

Lamborghini drivers are individualists - of course. So it's hardly surprising that the »Huracán Sterrato« comes in a good 350 exterior colors and more than 60 shades for the leather and Alcantara in the interior. We think, paint options or not: it looks best dusty and in an always totally unique mud finish.

The Heritage thing

A Lamborghini only belongs on the asphalt? No way: The brand ventured onto dirt roads as early as the mid-1980s with the LM002. Even then, the engineers were already thinking big: In the Hummer competitor, the V12 heart of the Countach raged and provided up to 455 hp. Of course, from today's point of view one would think of the SUV Urus as the successor - but that a bull also feels at home off-road? Only natural - and since today even more exciting than ever before.

Lamborghini Huracán Sterrato
Engine: V10 naturally aspirated with 90-degree bank angle.
Max. Power: 610 hp (449 kW) at 8,000 rpm
Max. Torque: 565 Nm at 6,500 rpm
Vmax: 260 km/h
0-100 km/h: 3.4 seconds


ramp shop


Latest articles

Daytona calling: the 24-hour guide

This weekend, the 24-hour race at Daytona is coming up - and the manufacturers are coming from all over the world. Also starting again: Porsche, with the 963, which aims to build on the successes of the Group C legends 956 and 962. But the Bavarian colleagues from BMW are also back - we summarise the most important details.

Paul Newman: Blue-Eyed Cool

He lived an Oscar-worthy life: today Paul Newman would have turned 98. The story of the man who thrilled women and film critics alike, while also being able to drive a car fast and giving a watch its current nickname.

Porsche Vision 357: Homage to the 356

On 8 June 1948, 75 years ago, the 356 "No. 1" Roadster became the first automobile to be registered under the Porsche name - the birth of the sports car brand. Porsche is starting its anniversary year with the Vision 357, which has now been unveiled. And how.

I am ... Amy Shore

Amy Shore is one of Europe's finest and best-known car photographers. She not only loves classic cars, she lives them. Yet not too many people know the woman behind the camera. To kick off ramp's new interview series "I am ...", we get to know the 31-year-old. Oh and by the way, the British woman has also done a shoot for the upcoming ramp #60.

Lamborghini Huracán Sterrato: der Rock-Star auf der Art Basel Miami

Im Rahmen der renommierten Kunst- & Designmesse »Art Basel« in Miami hat Lamborghini den Offroad-Supersportler »Huracán Sterrato« vorgestellt. Mit bewährtem V10-Motor und bekanntem Allradantrieb, aber vor allem mehr Bodenfreiheit – und ja, auch einer Dachreling. Wir schauen uns die wichtigsten Features an.
Text Alfred Rzyski
Bild Lamborghini

Der Antrieb

Vorgestellt wurde der »Sterrato« auf der »Art Basel« in Miami – und sein Antrieb ist nach wie vor echte Performance-Kunst. Die Ingenieure aus Sant’Agata Bolognese setzten für den Offroad-Huracán nämlich wie gehabt auf den V10-Sauger, der alle vier Räder antreibt. Gegenüber seinen Asphalt-Brüdern »Evo«, »Tecnica« und »STO« büßt der »Sterrato« dabei aber 30 PS ein und kommt auf »nur« 610 PS und 560 Nm Drehmoment. Was aber immer noch mehr als genug ist – und vor allem an den Staub- & Sandfiltern liegen dürfte, die den Motor schützen.

Die Offroad-Fähigkeiten

Für sein erstes Offroad-Supersport-Coupé hat sich Lamborghini hohe Ziele gesetzt – und den »Huracán Sterrato« auch entsprechend in der Bodenfreiheit angehoben. Auf die gewohnten 132 Millimeter des Evo addierten sie weitere 44 Millimeter, was am Ende dann fast 18 Zentimeter Bodenfreiheit macht. Auf den 19-Zoll-Felgen sind dabei die eigens entwickelten Bridgestone-Dueler-Reifen montiert, sie verfügen nicht nur über ein spezielles Hybrid-Profil für den kombinierten Straßen- & Offroad-Einsatz, sondern für den Fall der Fälle auch über Run-Flat-Technologie. Bei den Fahrmodi kann erstmals auf »RALLY« geschaltet werden, ein Unterbodenschutz ergänzt die verstärkten Schweller und Radhäuser. Und der klassische Lufteinlass auf der hinteren Haube? Dient natürlich der Versorgung mit sauberer Luft auf staubigen Pisten. Die können dafür dann aber auch mit bis zu 260 Kilometer pro Stunde befahren werden.

Das Design

»Der Sterrato ist der Beweis dafür, dass die Design-DNA von Lamborghini auch mit unerwarteten Proportionen perfekt funktioniert«, sagt Mitja Borkert, Head of Design von Lamborghini. »Das Design übersetzt die Supersportwagen-Gene des ›Sterrato‹ in eine neue Daseinsform und unterstreicht seine Absicht, ein wahrhaft einzigartiges und unterhaltsames Fahrerlebnis zu bieten.« Haben wir da noch was hinzuzufügen? Vielleicht nur so viel: Auf eine Dachreling an einem Huracán wären wir nie gekommen. Und dass sie dann auch noch so gut aussehen könnte? Hätten wir niemals gedacht.

Die Individualisierung

Lamborghini-Fahrerinnen und Fahrer sind Individualisten – klar. Wenig verwunderlich also, dass beim »Huracán Sterrato« gut 350 Außenfarben und mehr als 60 Farbtönen für das Leder und Alcantara im Innenraum zur Verfügung stehen. Wir finden ja, Lackoptionen hin oder her: am besten sieht er verstaubt und in einer immer vollkommen einzigartigen Schlammlackierung aus.

Die Sache mit dem Heritage

Ein Lamborghini gehört nur auf den Asphalt? Von wegen: Mit dem LM002 wagte sich die Marke schon Mitte der 1980er-Jahre auf unbefestigte Straßen. Auch damals dachten die Ingenieure schon groß: Im Hummer-Konkurrenten wütete das V12-Herz des Countach und sorgte für bis zu 455 PS Leistung. Sicher, aus heutiger Sicht würde man da eher an den SUV Urus als Nachfolger denken – aber dass ein Stier sich auch im Gelände wohlfühlt? Nur selbstverständlich – und seit heute noch aufregender als je zuvor.

Lamborghini Huracán Sterrato
Motor: V10-Sauger mit 90 Grad Bankwinkel
Max. Leistung: 610 PS (449 kW) bei 8.000 U/min
Max. Drehmoment: 565 Nm bei 6.500 U/min
Vmax: 260 km/h
0-100 km/h: 3,4 Sekunden


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Daytona calling: der 24-Stunden-Guide

Dieses Wochenende steht das 24-Stunden-Rennen von Daytona an – und die Hersteller kommen aus aller Welt. Auch wieder am Start: Porsche, mit dem 963, der an die Erfolge der Gruppe-C-Legenden 956 und 962 anknüpfen soll. Aber auch die bayerischen Kollegen von BMW sind wieder dabei – wir fassen das Wichtigste zusammen.

Paul Newman: Blue-Eyed Cool

Er lebte ein Oscar-verdächtiges Leben: heute wäre Paul Newman 98 Jahre alt geworden. Über den, der Frauen und Filmkritiker gleichermaßen begeisterte, dabei auch noch schnell Autofahren konnte und einer Uhr ihren heutigen Spitznamen verpasste.

Porsche Vision 357: Hommage an den 356

Am 8. Juni 1948, vor 75 Jahren erhält der 356 „Nr. 1“ Roadster als erstes Automobil unter dem Namen Porsche seine Zulassung – die Geburtsstunde der Sportwagenmarke. Mit dem jetzt enthüllten Vision 357 startet Porsche in sein Jubiläumsjahr. Und wie.

Im Fokus: ein Gespräch mit Fotografin Amy Shore

Amy Shore ist eine der besten und bekanntesten Autofotografinnen Europas. Sie liebt klassische Automobile nicht nur, sie lebt sie. Die Frau hinter der Kamera kennen dennoch nicht so viele. Zum Auftakt der neuen ramp-Interviewreihe »Ich bin« lernen wir die 31-Jährige kennen. Ach ja – für die kommende ramp #60 hat die Britin übrigens auch eine Strecke produziert.