Leaving Las Vegas

No, they're not really dangerous. They're rather damn good. And they'll be back soon. Because on May 29th, »The Killers« release their sixth studio album »Imploding the Mirage«. And if all works out, they'll even be back on tour this summer as well.
Text Jack Weil
Photo Universal Music


Las Vegas band »The Killers« have a penchant for sequins, hymn-like refrains and lyrics that only barely escape being labeled as kitsch. Yet despite all that (or perhaps because of it?) they’ve confirmed their place as one of today’s great rock bands. With their sixth album, »Imploding the Mirage«, the boys from Nevada enter the political fray. In the new song »Land of the Free«, they denounce Donald Trump’s asylum policy and address the issue of gun violence, enlisting director Spike Lee to shoot the music video. But no worries, when (or rather: if) »The Killers« go on tour this summer, all will be sparkles on stage again. Until then, we all can listen to their new single »Caution« - which is a good watchword these days. But in the summer it'll all be sequins and hymn-like refrains again. Because how does the saying go? You can take the boy out of the hood, but you can’t take the hood out of the boy.

The Killers: Imploding the Mirage, Virgin EMI, Publishing: May 29th 2020

Latest articles

Kawasaki Z H2 and Corvette C7 ZR1: Why we love the supercharger

Let's forget all the hype about alternative drives for a moment and remember a technology that is now almost a hundred years old and once embodied reliability, freedom and masculinity: the supercharger. A Kawasaki Z H2 and a Corvette C7 ZR1 are good examples.

It’s in the Mix

In music, a mashup is a song created by blending together two or more previously recorded songs. In photography, you could explain the term using the works of Paul Fuentes. The artist is a master at rearranging the world.

Roadtrip with Niki

Niki Lauda is one of the most formative figures in motorsport. Three Formula 1 world championships, an incredible comeback and the special relationship with James Hunt shape his legacy. We remember a special visit to Vienna, in the middle of autumn 2008. We talk about life wisdom and other nonsense. And about women, in a way. A Mercedes SL 600 gives wings to the story.

15 ½ Rules for the future – and one ramp.special

"The future is really about self-transformation," says German trend researcher Matthias Horx. But the future can also be a new horizon, we say. And, matching the 15 and a half future tips from Horx, we transform the new ramp.special into an issue all about the "New Horizon" art car.

Leaving Las Vegas

Nein, sie sind nicht gefährlich. Sondern verdammt gut. Und vor allem bald zurück. Denn am 29. Mai veröffentlichen »The Killers« ihr sechstes Studioalbum »Imploding the Mirage«. Und gehen, wenn es denn klappt, diesen Sommer auch wieder auf Tour.
Text Jack Weil
Bild Universal Music


The Killers aus Las Vegas haben keine Angst vor Pailletten, hymnischen Refrains oder Texten, die knapp am Kitsch vorbeischrammen. Und trotzdem (oder gerade deshalb?) sind sie eine großartige Rockband. Mit dem sechsten Album »Imploding the Mirage« zeigen sich die Jungs politischer denn je: Im Song »Land of the Free« prangern sie Trumps Asyl- und Waffenpolitik an, Regisseur Spike Lee inszenierte das Video dazu. Aber keine Bange, wenn (ja, wenn!) die Killers im Sommer auf Tour kommen, wird es auf der Bühne wieder funkeln. Bis es soweit ist, kann man Zuhause auch die fast schon programmatische Single »Caution« anhören. Im Sommer gibt's dann aber Pailletten und hymnische Refrains. Wie heißt es doch so schön? Du kriegst mich aus der Hood, doch die Hood nicht aus mir.

The Killers: Imploding the Mirage, Universal, VÖ: 29. Mai 2020

Letzte Beiträge

Kawasaki Z H2 und Corvette C7 ZR1: Warum wir den Kompressor lieben

Vergessen wir mal kurz den ganzen Hype um alternative Antriebe und erinnern uns an eine inzwischen fast hundert Jahre alte Technologie, die einst Zuverlässigkeit, Freiheit und Männlichkeit verkörperte: den Kompressor. Schön anschaulich am Beispiel einer Kawasaki Z H2 und einer Corvette C7 ZR1.

It’s in the Mix

In der Musik steht der Begriff »Mashup« für Songs, die aus mehreren zusammengemischt wurden. In der Fotografie könnte man den Begriff anhand der Bilder von Paul Fuentes erklären – der die Welt auch ein bisschen anders arrangiert.

Ausflug mit Niki

Niki Lauda gehört zu den prägendsten Figuren des Motorsports. Drei Formel-1-Weltmeisterschaften, ein unglaubliches Comeback und die besondere Beziehung zu James Hunt prägen seine Erbe. Wir erinnern uns an einen besonderen Besuch in Wien, mitten im Herbst 2008. Es geht um Lebensweisheiten und anderen Unfug. Und um Frauen, irgendwie. Ein Mercedes SL 600 beflügelt die Story.

15 ½ Regeln für die Zukunft – und ein ramp.special

»Zukunft ist in Wahrheit Selbstverwandlung«, sagt der deutsche Trendforscher Matthias Horx. Die Zukunft kann aber auch ein neuer Horizont sein, sagen wir. Und verwandeln passend zu den 15 ½ Zukunfts-Tipps von Horx das neue ramp.special in eine Ausgabe rund um das »New Horizon«-Artcar.