New Era of Lotus

Tempus mutantur, says the Latin, and we say: you can be particularly relaxed about change if you not only go along with it, but also shape it yourself. See Lotus: The legendary racing brand says goodbye to the combustion engine and starts into a new electric era, and both in the way it should be - completely unafraid.
Text Patricia Jell
Photo Lotus

There are clubs that you would like to be a member of. The "two-second club" is definitely such a society, and Lotus has a brand-new entry ticket for us: the Lotus Eletre. The all-electric SUV not only gets from a standstill to one hundred in under three seconds, it is also a powerhouse in other respects, so much so that Lotus chooses the term "hyper-SUV" to describe its latest model. However, the car signals more than just a new model for Lotus: the brand's first SUV also marks a milestone in its history, according to Matt Windle, Lotus' CEO.

With the Eletre, Lotus is fully embarking on a new era that will be all-electric - from their 80th birthday in 2028, the British want to build only e-cars, and with the appropriate attitude, as the dramatic design of the SUV alone makes clear. What will not change, however, are the core principles and the Lotus DNA, which is fed by more than 70 years of sports car design and technology.

After all, you can't even think of Lotus without racing and racing without Lotus. Le Mans legend, 74 Grand Prix victories, extremely successful innovation machine in Formula 1, countless victories and championship titles - and always the guarantor of technical innovations.

You don't strip away a history like that, you use it for your own transformation. The British sports car manufacturer is to become a global performance brand, the combustion engine is to be replaced by fully electric models. The Emira, Lotus' last combustion engine, was recently launched on the market, and the SUV Eletre and the electric hyper-sports car Evija clearly show where the journey is heading - and we like to take a closer look.

Read more about the all-electric vision, the new design language and Lotus' model offensive in the interview with Niels de Gruijter, Executive Director Lotus Cars Europe, in ramp #59.


ramp shop


Latest articles

A Rainy Day Out: Kurt Molzer meets the McLaren 765LT Spider

When the skies open their floodgates, the Formula 1 season is over again, the McLaren 765LT is wearing semislicks and the weather forecaster really has no idea about life, the only thing that helps is to take courage from the performances of the Formula 1 rain masters. A dry spare shirt and a raw potato don't hurt either.

AirCar: Above the Clouds

People have been dreaming of flying cars for what feels like an eternity, but nothing has ever really come of it. Countless companies are experimenting with all kinds of aerial vehicles these days, but none of them look very much like cars. With one exception: the AirCar by Štefan Klein.

You Are What You Drive

Repeated research has shown that merely thinking you’ve got athletic prowess can improve your health. So just imagine what could happen behind the wheel of a Range Rover Sport.

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp meets STARTCOLLECTIONS

On Saturday, December 3, 2022, STARTCOLLECTIONS' pop-up gallery will open for one day in Dorotheenquartier - ramp will be a guest and provide some photos. Read all information about the event here.

New Era of Lotus

Tempus mutantur, sagt der Lateiner, und wir sagen: Besonders entspannt kann man Veränderung entgegensehen, wenn man sie nicht nur mitgeht, sondern gleich selbst gestaltet. Siehe Lotus: Die legendäre Rennsportmarke verabschiedet sich vom Verbrenner und startet in eine neue Elekro-Ära, und beides so, wie es sich gehört – ganz und gar unerschrocken.
Text Patricia Jell
Bild Lotus

Es gibt Clubs, in denen möchte man dann doch gerne Mitglied sein. Der „Zwei-Sekunden-Club“ ist definitiv so eine Gesellschaft, und Lotus hätte da auch eine brandaktuelle Eintrittskarte für uns: den Lotus Eletre. Der vollelektrische SUV schafft es nicht nur unter drei Sekunden aus dem Stand auf hundert, er ist auch ansonst ein Kraftpaket, so dass Lotus den Begriff „Hyper-SUV“ wählt, um sein jüngstes Modell zu beschreiben. Der Wagen signalisiert für Lotus allerdings noch mehr als lediglich ein neues Modell: Der erste SUV der Marke markiert auch einen Meilenstein in deren Geschichte, wie Matt Windle sagt, Vorstandsvorsitzender von Lotus.

Mit dem Eletre bricht Lotus vollends auf in eine neue Ära, die vollelektrisch sein wird – ab ihrem 80. Geburtstag in 2028 wollen die Briten dann nur noch E-Autos bauen, und das mit entsprechender Haltung, wie allein schon das dramatische Design des SUV klar macht. Was sich dabei aber nicht ändern soll: die Kernprinzien und die Lotus-DNA, die sich aus mehr als 70 Jahren Sportwagendesign und -technik speist.

Schließlich lässt sich Lotus ohne Rennsport und Rennsport ohne Lotus nicht mal denken. Le-Mans-Legende, 74 Grand-Prix-Siege, extrem erfolgreiche Innovationsmaschine in der Formel 1, unzählige Siege und Meistertitel – und dabei immer wieder Garant für technische Neuerungen.

So eine Geschichte streift man nicht ab, man nutzt sie für die eigene Transformation. Aus der britischen Sportwagenschmiede soll eine globale Performance-Marke werden, der Verbrenner abgelöst von vollelektrischen Modellen. Mit dem Emira ist jüngst der letzte Verbrenner von Lotus auf den Markt gekommen, und der SUV Eletre und der Elektro-Hypersportler Evija zeigen deutlich, wo die Reise hingehen soll – und da schauen wir gerne genauer hin.

Mehr zur vollelektrischen Vision,
der neuen Designsprache und der Modelloffensive von Lotus gibt es im Interview mit Niels de Gruijter, Executive Director Lotus Cars Europe, in ramp #59 zu lesen.


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Kuschelwetter: Kurt Molzer meets McLaren 765LT Spider

Wenn der Himmel seine Schleusen öffnet, die Formel-1-Saison schon wieder vorbei ist, der McLaren 765LT Semislicks trägt und die Wetterfee echt keine Ahnung vom Leben hat, hilft es nur, aus den Darbietungen der Formel 1-Regengötter Mut zu schöpfen. Ein trockenes Ersatz-Shirt und eine rohe Kartoffel schaden aber auch nicht.

AirCar: Über den Wolken

Seit einer gefühlten Ewigkeit träumt der Mensch vom fliegenden Auto, nur wurde nie so richtig etwas daraus. Heute tüfteln unzählige Firmen an schwebenden Vehikeln, die allerdings wenig nach Auto aussehen. Die Ausnahme: das AirCar von Stefan Klein.

Wir sind Sportskanone

Immer wieder belegen Studien, dass man allein dadurch gesünder lebt, wenn man sich für einen aktiven Menschen hält. Was passiert dann erst, wenn man in einen Range Rover Sport steigt?

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp zu Gast bei STARTCOLLECTIONS

Am Samstag, den 3. Dezember 2022 öffnet im Dorotheenquartier für einen Tag die Pop-Up-Galerie von STARTCOLLECTIONS – ramp ist zu Gast und stellt mehrere Bilder zur Verfügung. Alle Infos rund um das Event? Lesen Sie hier.