ramp #59 – Tomorrow is yesterday

Tomorrow is yesterday. That was the name of the first episode of the series "Starship Enterprise", which was all about time travel and time jumps. And our magazine-turned-road movie, in turn, happily revolves around precisely this theme. Without a past, after all, there is no future. And to get ahead in this world, we move at the wheel through space and, of course, time.
Text Michael Köckritz
Photo Automobilist

“Tomorrow Is Yesterday” was the title of an episode of the television series Star Trek, and although it was the nineteenth episode overall, it was the first to flicker into German living rooms fifty years ago this May. The story revolved around timelines and time travel. It made us think about our own position in the space-time continuum – and in general where we stand in our lives.

On the one hand, we humans tend to define ourselves by how we deal with time. On the other hand, we’re always in a hurry to get somewhere. Because things could be – have just got to be – different there. Better. Road movies thrive on this aspect of hope, as does our joyful enthusiasm for electrifying innovations. In this way, the future becomes an idealized place to be desired.

Innovations, beam us up!

There are just two thoughts you should take away from all this: First, everything could indeed be better tomorrow. But the here and now also offers several good options for happiness. Like an intense, mindfully lived moment. Second, looking at what has shaped us shapes us. The future needs a past, as philosopher Odo Marquard once so ingeniously remarked.

“The past that shapes us is always there whenever we celebrate a present moment or concern ourselves with our future,” he writes. An appreciation for the value of tradition reinforces our ability to embrace the future. To connect with it in the best possible way. Never start at the beginning.

So stop what you’re doing, have a look around, and take a deep breath in.

So you’re ready for what is to come.




Camping Porsche-Style

With Why We Drive, Matthew B. Crawford has written a kind of road movie that celebrates driving as an authentic experience of human identity. So what could be more fitting than going camping in a Porsche 911 with matching roof tent? Exactly.

For Wladimir Kaminer, tomorrow is yesterday

The super super super test where nothing is real, time-use managers and watches play a role, and two very real cars feature prominently as well: a Range Rover Velar D300 and a Jaguar F-Type P450 AWD Convertible.

Credit: David Breun




The Porsche 963 prototype at Daytona

The Porsche 963 inherits the legacy of the legendary Porsche 962 sports-prototype racing car. No reason to get nervous. Not even when a thunderstorm delays testing at the Daytona International Speedway.

Comfortable and Relaxed at Record Speed

Andy Wallace is the fastest driver in the world. We spoke to him about – what else? – speed. In a Bugatti Chiron Super Sport during rush hour in Berlin. Almost perfect.




Car wash with Marc Lichte

The first time Marc Lichte laid eyes on the legendary Audi Sport quattro as a teenager, he was hooked. But the car we washed together with the Audi design chief was the e-tron GT. A main topic of our conversation was the Audi of the future. Though we also talked about streaky windows.

Lotus gets radical. Again.

When Lotus unveiled its Eletre hyper-SUV, fans felt as though their world had been turned upside down. But this is just the beginning! We think Colin Chapman would have approved of this radical new approach.

Credit: Lotus




Racing in the summer of ‘69

By 1969 auto racing had become increasingly professional, fast and glamorous, and the fans worshipped drivers like Jackie Stewart as if they were pop stars. There’s just one thing the races weren’t: safer. Reflections on a golden – and dangerous – era.

Welcome 2 Detroit

Detroit ranked as America’s most dangerous big city for years. Now it’s reinventing itself – once again. A drive from the past into the future of the automobile industry, in a Ford Bronco and an F150 Lightning.




Ready for lift-off: the Porsche 911 GT3 RS

The GT3 RS is a gift to mankind. Now if you think that sounds a bit out of touch and that we should stay grounded, all we can say is: That’s exactly what we tried to do every turn around the track at Silverstone.


+++ Also: really, really nice things to put on. Anziehen. Lesen. Und Fahren. +++


→ ramp #59 - Available now!


ramp shop


Latest articles

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp meets STARTCOLLECTIONS

On Saturday, December 3, 2022, STARTCOLLECTIONS' pop-up gallery will open for one day in Dorotheenquartier - ramp will be a guest and provide some photos. Read all information about the event here.

Future in Motion

A photographer. A designer. A car that connects the future with the past. Sounds like science fiction, but it’s not. A conversation with star fashion photographer Esther Haase and Eduardo Ramírez, Head of Exterior Design at Hyundai Design Center Europe, about sustainability, feeling at home and truly progressive technology.

Lamborghini Huracan Sterrato: the rock star at Art Basel Miami

At the renowned »Art Basel« art and design fair in Miami, Lamborghini unveiled the »Huracán Sterrato« off-road super sports car. With a proven V10 engine and familiar all-wheel drive, but above all more ground clearance - and yes, roof rails too. We take a look at the most important features.

Car Wash: Marc Lichte and Michael Köckritz talk design

The first time Marc Lichte laid eyes on the legendary Audi Sport quattro as a teenager, he was hooked. But the car we’re washing together today is the Audi e-tron GT that he designed himself. A main topic of our conversation is the Audi of the future. And how difficult it is to get the windows as clean as you’d like.

ramp #59 – Morgen ist gestern

Morgen ist gestern. So hieß die erste Episode der Serie »Raumschiff Enterprise«, in der sich alles um Zeitreisen und Zeitsprünge drehte. Und unser Magazin gewordenes Roadmovie wiederum dreht sich fröhlich um genau dieses Thema. Ohne Vergangenheit gibt es schließlich keine Zukunft. Und um in dieser Welt voranzukommen, bewegen wir uns am Steuer durch den Raum und natürlich die Zeit.
Text Michael Köckritz
Bild Automobilist

Morgen ist gestern. So hieß die erste Episode der Serie »Raumschiff Enterprise«, die vor 50 Jahren in den deutschen Wohnzimmern flimmerte. Alles drehte sich um Zeitreisen und Zeitsprünge – unsere aktuelle Position im Zeit-Kontinuum. Und überhaupt in unserem Leben.

Denn einmal definieren wir Menschen uns im Umgang mit der Zeit – und dann wollen wir alle immer irgendwohin. Dort könnte es – muss es ja – anders, einfach besser sein. Roadmovies leben von diesem Hoffnungsaspekt, unsere fröhliche Begeisterung für elektrisierende Innovationen ebenso. So wird die Zukunft zum idealen Sehnsuchtsort.

Innovations, beam us up!

Nur zwei Gedanken sollte man hier mit auf den Weg nehmen: Morgen könnte zwar alles besser werden, das Jetzt bietet aber auch gute Optionen aufs Glück. Der intensive, bewusst gelebte Moment. Der Blick auf das, was uns geprägt hat, prägt. »Zukunft braucht Herkunft« heißt ein geistreiches Essay des Philosophen Odo Marquard.

Er schreibt: »Das uns prägende Vergangene ist immer schon da, wenn wir einen Moment feiern und uns mit unserer Zukunft beschäftigen.« Das Bewusstsein für den Wert der Tradition stärkt unsere Zukunftskompetenz. Wir können wunderbar anknüpfen. Wo wir anfangen, ist niemals der Anfang. Innehalten, Atem anhalten und durchatmen.

Für das, was kommt.



Einfach mal im Elfer zelten

Mit »Philosophie des Fahrens« hat Matthew Crawford eine Art Roadmovie geschrieben, in dem das Fahren als unmittelbare Erfahrung menschlicher Identität gefeiert wird. Was passt da besser, als mit einem Porsche 911 plus passendem Dachzelt campen zu gehen? Eben.

Für Wladimir Kaminer ist morgen gestern

Der Supersupersupertest, in dem nichts real ist, es um Zeitforscher und Uhren geht und in dem zwei sehr echte Autos auftauchen: ein Range Rover Velar D300 und ein Jaguar F-Type P450 AWD Cabrio.

Credit: David Breun




Der Prototyp Porsche 963 in Daytona

Der Porsche 963 tritt das Erbe des legendären Rennwagens Porsche 962 an. Nervös ist deshalb niemand. Auch nicht, als ein Gewitter das Testprogramm auf dem Daytona International Speedway verzögert.

Alles entspannt bis Tempo 450

Andy Wallace ist der schnellste Autofahrer der Welt. Wir sprachen mit dem Briten über – klar – Geschwindigkeit. In einem Chiron Super Sport, mitten in der Rushhour in Berlin. Passte also perfekt.




CarWash mit Marc Lichte

Als Marc Lichte als Teenager den legendären Audi Sport quattro sah, war es um ihn geschehen. Gewaschen haben wir mit dem Chefdesigner von Audi aber den e-tron GT, im Gespräch ging es um den Audi der Zukunft. Und um schmierige Autoscheiben.

Lotus wird radikal. Mal wieder

Mit der Vorstellung des Hyper-SUVs Eletre stellte Lotus die Welt der Fans auf den Kopf, dabei geht’s jetzt erst richtig los. Und diese Radikalität hätte Colin Chapman sicher gefallen.

Credit: Lotus




Racing im Sommer ’69

Der Rennsport im Jahr 1969 wurde professioneller, schneller und glamouröser, Fahrer wie Jackie Stewart wurden wie Popstars verehrt. Nur eines waren die Rennen nicht: sicher. Ein Rückblick auf eine goldene wie gefährliche Ära.

Welcome 2 Detroit

Sie galt als brutalste Großstadt der USA, nun hat sich Detroit (wieder) neu erfunden. Eine Fahrt durch die Vergangenheit in die Zukunft der Automobilindustrie – mit einem Ford Bronco und einem Ford F-150 Lightning.




Der Überflieger: Porsche 911 GT3 RS

Der GT3 RS ist ein Geschenk an die Menschheit. Und wer das jetzt ein bisschen abgehoben findet: Wir haben in Silverstone eigentlich nur versucht, am Boden zu bleiben.


+++ Außerdem: wirklich, also wirklich schöne Sachen zum Hinstellen. Anziehen. Lesen. Und Fahren. +++


→ ramp #59 – jetzt erhältlich!


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp zu Gast bei STARTCOLLECTIONS

Am Samstag, den 3. Dezember 2022 öffnet im Dorotheenquartier für einen Tag die Pop-Up-Galerie von STARTCOLLECTIONS – ramp ist zu Gast und stellt mehrere Bilder zur Verfügung. Alle Infos rund um das Event? Lesen Sie hier.

Future in Motion

Eine Fotografin. Ein Designer. Ein Auto, das die Zukunft mit der Vergangenheit verbindet. Klingt wie Science Fiction, ist es aber nicht. Ein Gespräch mit der Star-Modefotografin Esther Haase und Eduardo Ramírez, Head of Exterior Design im Hyundai Design Center Europe, über Nachhaltigkeit, das Gefühl, zu Hause zu sein und wirklich fortschrittliche Technologie.

Lamborghini Huracán Sterrato: der Rock-Star auf der Art Basel Miami

Im Rahmen der renommierten Kunst- & Designmesse »Art Basel« in Miami hat Lamborghini den Offroad-Supersportler »Huracán Sterrato« vorgestellt. Mit bewährtem V10-Motor und bekanntem Allradantrieb, aber vor allem mehr Bodenfreiheit – und ja, auch einer Dachreling. Wir schauen uns die wichtigsten Features an.

Car Wash: Audi-Chefdesigner Marc Lichte im Gespräch mit Michael Köckritz

Als Marc Lichte im Teenager-Alter den legendären Audi Sport quattro sah, war es um ihn geschehen. Gewaschen wird heute aber der von ihm entworfene Audi e-tron GT, währenddessen es im Gespräch unter anderem um den Audi der Zukunft geht. Und um die Schwierigkeit, Autoscheiben richtig sauber zu bekommen.