Semplicemente buono: Die »Bellini« Ristobar

Let's face it: there is no more sincere love than that of food. And this is especially true for Italian cuisine and pasta. So for World Pasta Day, we're heading to one of our favourite restaurants: the »Bellini«.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Photo Steffen Jahn & Marko Knab • ramp.pictures

This is not just any pasta. Nor is what we’ve ordered here just any pasta alla Norma. Although the number of ingredients, it must be admitted, is quite modest: spaghetti, eggplant, tomatoes and cheese, plus a few herbs. And yet a pasta alla Norma is much more than the sum of its parts. The dish is representative of the entire wealth of Sicily’s culinary heritage, which is famous for its many treasures.

One reason for the renown of Sicilian cuisine are the various cultural influences that have been incorporated over the centuries. The Greeks brought wine, olives and ricotta, the Arabs citrus fruits, sugar and almonds. The Sicilians transformed these ingredients into delicious desserts such as the cannoli siciliani with creamy ricotta filling or the legendary granita al limone or granita alla mandorla, a kind of sorbet eaten with a brioche in the morning.

1/4Sema and Tony Zappalà have been running their Ristobar Bellini in Reutlingen since 2016. The name comes from the address Via Bellini 31, where the Zappalà family used to live in the small Sicilian town of Nicolosi. The street, in turn, is named after the composer Vincenzo Bellini, who was born in nearby Catania. As to the origin of pasta alla Norma, it is unclear whether a Sicilian chef was so impressed by Bellini’s opera Norma that he named the dish in his honor, or whether Sicilians simply held the opera in such high esteem that “una vera Norma” entered the language as a synonym for a masterpiece, including a culinary one. We tend to the latter.
2/4Sema and Tony Zappalà have been running their Ristobar Bellini in Reutlingen since 2016. The name comes from the address Via Bellini 31, where the Zappalà family used to live in the small Sicilian town of Nicolosi. The street, in turn, is named after the composer Vincenzo Bellini, who was born in nearby Catania. As to the origin of pasta alla Norma, it is unclear whether a Sicilian chef was so impressed by Bellini’s opera Norma that he named the dish in his honor, or whether Sicilians simply held the opera in such high esteem that “una vera Norma” entered the language as a synonym for a masterpiece, including a culinary one. We tend to the latter.
3/4Sema and Tony Zappalà have been running their Ristobar Bellini in Reutlingen since 2016. The name comes from the address Via Bellini 31, where the Zappalà family used to live in the small Sicilian town of Nicolosi. The street, in turn, is named after the composer Vincenzo Bellini, who was born in nearby Catania. As to the origin of pasta alla Norma, it is unclear whether a Sicilian chef was so impressed by Bellini’s opera Norma that he named the dish in his honor, or whether Sicilians simply held the opera in such high esteem that “una vera Norma” entered the language as a synonym for a masterpiece, including a culinary one. We tend to the latter.
4/4Sema and Tony Zappalà have been running their Ristobar Bellini in Reutlingen since 2016. The name comes from the address Via Bellini 31, where the Zappalà family used to live in the small Sicilian town of Nicolosi. The street, in turn, is named after the composer Vincenzo Bellini, who was born in nearby Catania. As to the origin of pasta alla Norma, it is unclear whether a Sicilian chef was so impressed by Bellini’s opera Norma that he named the dish in his honor, or whether Sicilians simply held the opera in such high esteem that “una vera Norma” entered the language as a synonym for a masterpiece, including a culinary one. We tend to the latter.

ut getting back to the pasta alla Norma: This dish is the pasta equivalent of bliss, flavored with the smoky aromas of eggplant and ricotta salata, combined with the sweetness of tomatoes that taste like a late summer’s day. All joined by fresh oregano in the sauce and basil as a tart note and a dash of green on top of the red and white. A feast for the eyes. And because you should never be satisfied with a mediocre pasta alla Norma, the only thing missing now is the right restaurant to enjoy it in.

“Bellini’s Norma is considered a masterpiece to this day. And the pasta alla Norma is an absolute must on any menu.”

Tony Zappalà

That, in turn, would be the Ristobar Bellini in Reutlingen, run by Sema and Antonino Zappalà. If anyone invented hospitality, it’s probably them. And then comes the Norma, fragrant and steaming. You sit there oblivious to all else, devouring the spaghetti forkful by forkful, thinking about Fellini’s famous observation that “la vita è una combinazione di magia e pasta” and about the amounts of serotonin that the brain is currently releasing as a result of all the carbohydrates. But then you let it go, because, after all, it’s just pasta. But what a pasta!


ramp shop


Latest articles

What’s popping, Stuttgart: ramp meets STARTCOLLECTIONS

On Saturday, December 3, 2022, STARTCOLLECTIONS' pop-up gallery will open for one day in Dorotheenquartier - ramp will be a guest and provide some photos. Read all information about the event here.

Future in Motion

A photographer. A designer. A car that connects the future with the past. Sounds like science fiction, but it’s not. A conversation with star fashion photographer Esther Haase and Eduardo Ramírez, Head of Exterior Design at Hyundai Design Center Europe, about sustainability, feeling at home and truly progressive technology.

Lamborghini Huracan Sterrato: the rock star at Art Basel Miami

At the renowned »Art Basel« art and design fair in Miami, Lamborghini unveiled the »Huracán Sterrato« off-road super sports car. With a proven V10 engine and familiar all-wheel drive, but above all more ground clearance - and yes, roof rails too. We take a look at the most important features.

Car Wash: Marc Lichte and Michael Köckritz talk design

The first time Marc Lichte laid eyes on the legendary Audi Sport quattro as a teenager, he was hooked. But the car we’re washing together today is the Audi e-tron GT that he designed himself. A main topic of our conversation is the Audi of the future. And how difficult it is to get the windows as clean as you’d like.

Semplicemente buono: Die »Bellini« Ristobar

Seien wir mal ehrlich: Es gibt keine aufrichtigere Liebe als die zum Essen. Und das gilt insbesondere für die italienische Küche. Hat man auch noch das richtige Lokal gefunden, ist das einfach schieres Glück.
Text Wiebke Brauer
Bild Steffen Jahn & Marko Knab • ramp.pictures

Das ist nicht einfach eine Nudel. Das ist auch nicht einfach eine Pasta alla Norma, die man da gerade bestellt hat. Obwohl die Anzahl der Zutaten, das muss man zugeben, recht übersichtlich ist: Spagetti, Auberginen, Tomaten und Käse, dazu ein paar Kräuter. Und doch ist die Pasta alla Norma viel mehr als nur die Summe der einzelnen Teile. Das Gericht steht stellvertretend für den gesamten Wissensschatz der sizilianischen Küche, die für ihre kulinarischen Genüsse berühmt ist.

Grund für ihren Ruhm sind unter anderem die Einflüsse der verschiedenen Kulturen, die über die Jahrhunderte einflossen. So waren es die Griechen, die den Wein, die Oliven und den Ricotta mit auf die Insel im Mittelmeer brachten. Den Arabern wiederum sind die Zitrusfrüchte zu verdanken, der Zucker und die Mandeln. Die Sizilianer verwandelten diese Zutaten in köstliche Süßspeisen wie die Cannoli Siciliani mit cremiger Ricotta-Füllung oder die legendären Granita al limone und Granita alla mandorla. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Art Sorbet, das morgens mit einer Brioche gegessen wird.

1/4Sema und Tony Zappalà führen die Ristobar Bellini seit 2016. Der Name ist der Adresse Via Bellini 31 zu verdanken, dort wohnte die Familie Zappalà in dem kleinen Ort Nicolosi. Der Straßenname wiederum geht auf den in Catania geborenen Komponisten Vincenzo Bellini zurück. Unklar ist, ob ein sizilianischer Koch von dessen Oper »Norma« so begeistert war, dass er die Pasta alla Norma nach ihr benannte oder ob die Sizilianer die Oper so schätzten, dass »una vera Norma« als Superlativ verwendet wurde. Wir tendieren zu Letzterem.
2/4Sema und Tony Zappalà führen die Ristobar Bellini seit 2016. Der Name ist der Adresse Via Bellini 31 zu verdanken, dort wohnte die Familie Zappalà in dem kleinen Ort Nicolosi. Der Straßenname wiederum geht auf den in Catania geborenen Komponisten Vincenzo Bellini zurück. Unklar ist, ob ein sizilianischer Koch von dessen Oper »Norma« so begeistert war, dass er die Pasta alla Norma nach ihr benannte oder ob die Sizilianer die Oper so schätzten, dass »una vera Norma« als Superlativ verwendet wurde. Wir tendieren zu Letzterem.
3/4Sema und Tony Zappalà führen die Ristobar Bellini seit 2016. Der Name ist der Adresse Via Bellini 31 zu verdanken, dort wohnte die Familie Zappalà in dem kleinen Ort Nicolosi. Der Straßenname wiederum geht auf den in Catania geborenen Komponisten Vincenzo Bellini zurück. Unklar ist, ob ein sizilianischer Koch von dessen Oper »Norma« so begeistert war, dass er die Pasta alla Norma nach ihr benannte oder ob die Sizilianer die Oper so schätzten, dass »una vera Norma« als Superlativ verwendet wurde. Wir tendieren zu Letzterem.
4/4Sema und Tony Zappalà führen die Ristobar Bellini seit 2016. Der Name ist der Adresse Via Bellini 31 zu verdanken, dort wohnte die Familie Zappalà in dem kleinen Ort Nicolosi. Der Straßenname wiederum geht auf den in Catania geborenen Komponisten Vincenzo Bellini zurück. Unklar ist, ob ein sizilianischer Koch von dessen Oper »Norma« so begeistert war, dass er die Pasta alla Norma nach ihr benannte oder ob die Sizilianer die Oper so schätzten, dass »una vera Norma« als Superlativ verwendet wurde. Wir tendieren zu Letzterem.

Um aber endlich zurück zur Pasta alla Norma zu kommen: Das ist der Hartweizengrieß der Glückseligkeit, das rauchige Aroma der Aubergine und des Ricotta salata, verbunden mit der Süße von Tomaten, die nach Spätsommertag schmecken. Dazu gesellen sich frischer Oregano in der Sauce und Basilikum, als herbe Note und grüner Tupfer zum Rot und Weiß. Das Auge isst schließlich mit. Und weil man sich niemals mit einer mittelmäßigen Pasta alla Norma zufriedengeben sollte, fehlt nur noch das richtige Lokal. Das wiederum wäre die Ristobar Bellini in Reutlingen.

»Die Oper ›Norma‹ gilt bis heute als Meisterwerk. Und die Pasta alla Norma ist auf der Speisekarte ein absolutes Muss.«

Tony Zappalà

Die wird von Sema und Antonino Zappalà geführt – wenn jemand die herzliche Gastfreundschaft erfunden hat, dann ja wohl die beiden. Nun wird die Norma serviert. Dampft und duftet. Selbstvergessen sitzt man da und gabelt die Spaghetti in sich hinein, könnte über Fellinis Satz »La vita è una combinazione di magia e pasta« nachdenken und über die Mengen von Serotonin, die das Hirn aufgrund der Kohlehydrate ausschüttet. Doch dann lässt man es bleiben, weil es halt doch nur eine Nudel ist. Zum Glück.


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Fortsetzung folgt: die Jaguar Continuation Cars

Am Weltkatzentag schauen wir standesgemäß nach England - wo Jaguar mit dem C-Type das nächste seiner Continuation Cars vor kurzem enthüllt hat. Sie zu fahren ist ein Abenteuer der unvergesslichen Art. Was unter anderem daran liegt, wie unfassbar unbequem man in so einem Jaguar C-Type oder E-Type Lightweight sitzt. Aber eben nicht nur. Es ist außerdem ein Riesenspaß.

Sonnenklar: Coole Produkte für heiße Tage

Der Sommer läuft derzeit zur Hochform auf - und wir tun es ihm gleich. Mit den besten Gadgets und Must-haves für die schönste Zeit des Jahres. Unser Guide für alle, denen noch die richtige Badehose fehlt - oder die auf der Suche nach der perfekten Sonnenbrille und dem idealen Transportmittel sind.

Art. Déco. Racer. Der Bugatti Type 59/50 BIII

Es gibt seltene und legendäre Autos. Und dann gibt es den Bugatti Type 59/50 BIII, der unter Kennern auch als »Cork-Rennwagen« bekannt ist. Und nein, nicht nur seine elegante Karosserie macht ihn besonders. Vielmehr seine gesamte Geschichte ist unglaublich – und unglaublich spannend. Auch für die Molsheimer Marke selbst.

Brad Pitt: »Ich trage mein Alter wie ein Ehrenabzeichen.«

In seinem neuesten Film »Bulett Train« spielt Brad Pitt einen Auftragskiller, der in eine ausgesprochen wilde Zugfahrt mit glücklichem Ende verwickelt wird. Was uns zur Frage brachte: Ist Brad Pitt glücklich? Im Gespräch mit dem 58-Jährigen klar, welche Erkenntnisprozesse der Schauspieler durchmachte – und welchem Prinzip er folgte, um zu diesem Gefühl zu finden.