Sound of Fire

There are not many brands in this world whose products are immediately recognizable by their sound. There's the engine sound of a Ducati, which immediately draws the attention of connoisseurs, the unmistakable chugging of an old BMW’s boxer engine, the rattle of a Beetle and the famous bubbling of a Porsche when it's being started.
Text Jana Doe
Photo Zippo

And then there are the lighters from Zippo. And the unmistakable metallic creak it makes when opening and the bright sound when closing it. Everyone can identify these sounds. Because you once had a Zippo yourself. Or because the sound has appeared in countless films and has thus imprinted itself on our pop-cultural memory. And because it's getting Christmassy, we would like to take this opportunity to point out the famous storm lighter, which can be used to light a candle or two on the Advent wreath or a nice fire in the fireplace. And not only that: You could even use the lighter as a Christmas bell to ring in the presents. On that note, we wish you a happy holiday season!


ramp shop


Latest articles

Frankfurt Fashion Week: Fashion meets automotive and sustainability

Five days, fashion & Frankfurt: This year's »Frankfurt Fashion Week« will focus on sustainability. At various hotspots in the Main metropolis, you can experience the latest fashion between vehicles, photographs, exhibitions and at webinars.

The Greatest - Muhammad Ali

There was a time when people would set their alarm clocks to watch a live Muhammad Ali fight. And today? The legend would have turned eighty years old. We look back on the extraordinary man and sportsman - also with two extraordinary illustrated books.

ramp #56 – All in Good Time

Control-freak decision-makers are going to need nerves of steel. Because the culture of senseless activism is here to stay. “Change” is the mantra of constant transformation, “innovation” the refrain that defines the prevailing imperative.

The coolness tool

Whether in the Bible, in Newton's garden, or in your pocket: Few things have shaped and changed us as much as the apple. A brief case study - including the fall of man, the discovery of gravity, Apple's new iPhone14 - and something with Tom Cruise and Michael Fassbender.

Sound of Fire: Zippo Feuerzeuge

Es gibt nicht sehr viele Marken auf dieser Welt, deren Produkte man sofort am Klang erkennt. Da wäre der Motorsound einer Ducati, der Kenner sofort aufhorchen lässt, das unverkennbare Tuckern des Boxers einer alten BMW, das Knattern eines Käfers und das berühmte Blubbern bei einem Porsche beim Anlassen.
Text Jana Doe
Bild Zippo

Tja, und dann wären da noch die Feuerzeuge von Zippo. Und mit ihnen untrennbar verbunden das metallische Schnarren beim Aufklappen und den hellen Ton beim Schließen. Diesen Zweiklang kann wirklich jeder identifizieren. Weil man selbst einmal ein Zippo hatte. Oder weil das Geräusch in unzähligen Filmen auftauchte und sich so in unser popkulturelles Gedächtnis eingeprägt hat. Und weil es gerade schwer weihnachtet, wollen wir an dieser Stelle gern auf das berühmte Sturmfeuerzeug hinweisen, mit dem man die eine oder andere Kerze auf dem Adventskranz oder ein Kaminfeuer anzünden kann. Und eben nicht nur das: Man könnte das Feuerzeug sogar als Weihnachtsglocke benutzen, um die Bescherung einzuläuten. In diesem Sinne wünschen wir jetzt schon ein frohes Fest!


ramp shop


Letzte Beiträge

Frankfurt Fashion Week: Mode trifft Auto und Nachhaltigkeit

Fünf Tage, Fashion & Frankfurt: Bei der »Frankfurt Fashion Week« geht es dieses Jahr schwerpunktmäßig um Nachhaltigkeit. An verschiedenen Hotspots der Main-Metropole kann man dabei die aktuellste Mode zwischen Fahrzeugen, Fotografien, Ausstellungen und bei Webinaren erleben.

The Greatest – Muhammad Ali

Es gab eine Zeit, da stellten Menschen sich den Wecker, um einen Kampf mit Muhammad Ali live zu sehen. Und heute? Wäre die Legende achtzig Jahre alt geworden. Wir blicken auf den außergewöhnlichen Mensch und Sportler zurück – mit zwei ebenfalls außergewöhnlichen Bildbänden.

ramp #56 – Alles zu seiner Zeit

Alle Entscheidungshysteriker müssen jetzt tapfer sein, die Bewohner der Führungsetagen der Wirtschaftswelt sowieso. Denn nirgends ist die Kultur eines besinnungslosen Aktionismus so endemisch wie hier. »Change« lautet das Mantra stetigen Wandels, »Innovation« der Refrain des Ohrwurms.

Das Coolness-Tool

Egal ob in der Bibel, in Newtons Garten oder in der Hosentasche: Wenig hat uns so geprägt und verändert wie der Apfel. Eine kurze Fall-Besprechung – inklusive Sündenfall, Entdeckung der Gravitation, dem neuen iPhone14 von Apple – und irgendwas mit Tom Cruise und Michael Fassbender.